Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Locusts on the Horizon
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Benjamin Leftwich Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 3, 2013
I've been reading survival writing since Mel Tappan had a column in Guns and Ammo, so I expected this inexpensive e-book to be 40 pages and maybe have a new idea or two. I was pleasantly surprised to find great amount of actionable information. The writers make a strong case that the US government will not go away with an economic collapse -- they are the most prepared group out there. Law and order will remain, perhaps even in excess. However, some areas of the country will do better than others, just as the economy's in North Dakota and Texas are doing well now. The authors posit that the best, and most affordable, way to survive an economic collapse is to be able to travel and live a mobile lifestyle, moving to opportunity or to safety as needed. Most of the book covers how to live the mobile lifestyle while providing food, lodging, communications, and security. Even if you don't buy the mobile concept, this book has a lot of useful information.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2013
When I ordered this book, I was under the impression that it was like Carla Emery's "Encyclopedia of Country Living", a text that had all the detailed steps listed to do darn near anything needed for country living. I was looking for a corresponding prepper's SAS Survival Encyclopedia. But "Locusts on the Horizon" is closer to being a list-of-lists type book with some history thrown in. Rather than giving step by step details on various topics related to TEOTWAWKI or just plain survival, readers are most often referred to websites,etc. where the actual information can be found. That's OK for the time when the internet is still up, but what I was looking for was a book like Emery's, only with a survival theme; all the info you need on a survival topic in one place that could be carried along in a Kindle. (I have a solar array to charge the kindle.)
While there are some topics that go into detail, most refer you to a website for the down and dirty actual methods. It's a good book for beginners in that it gives a list of all the topics they need to research to be prepared plus a bit of into on each, and as long as that's all you expect it to excel at, it does the job.
77 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2013
Let's face it, no matter how you cut it we are living in a time of great social and economic uncertainty. Many state and local governments are on the brink of default and our federal government is borrowing and spending like there is no tomorrow. At some point it's going to lead to financial train wreck. What sets book apart from all of the others writing on the subject of prepardness is that this team of researchers and authors have specifically focused on things that the average blue collar citizen can do to prepare for the rough times ahead.

The authors use hard facts to make their case and then they proceed to take the reader step by step through a practical process of preparing for the uncertain future that we all face. All of their efforts are focused with a careful eye toward the realistic budget constraints of the average citizen. You will not find a recommendation to buy a bunch of firearms and go hide in the hills. That isn't practical for anyone. Instead you will find a fact filled book with tons of practical advice. The sheer depth and breadth of the subjects that this writing team has managed to cram in one book is simply amazing. On this point alone purchasing this book is a no brainer. Plus, if you are history buff like me, you are going learn a lot of scary and fascinating facts that you didn't read about in school. Get the book, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
I enjoyed the multiple references to historical events that parallel today's economic realities. The authors have done a good job of gathering specific information to assist individuals who want to know what can be done to meet future possibilities that may be faced by everyone. The inclusion of the historical information helps in discussions with family members who are not convinced that future difficulties may be closer than they realize. Anyone who is concerned with what is happening in our economy will want to know of this valuable resource to help themselves and other family members get ready to weather the storms on the horizon.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2013
Very practical guide, many books are quite theoretical, but not "Locusts". Gives you something to think about on topics not covered, or not covered well by others; the sections on airguns and the nomadic lifestyle are just two of many well written sections not always covered adequately elsewhere. Anyone interested in preparedness must read this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
There are many 'apocalyptic' books, this one builds not only knowledge but also awareness and develops critical thinking on key critical economic and civilization issues. I've studied these pivotal points in history and economics as a graduate student in international relations, but this book addresses these pivotal points in a way that allows the reader to understand how these apply and are meaningful to America at this critical juncture in history.

One always wonders how Russians, Chinese and Germans allowed Bolshevism/Communism/Maoism and Nazism to mercilessly overtake their country - as if imposed from outside, but now this book 'Locust on the Horizon' allows us to understand this process very well. America underwent its 1st Depression (7 million deaths due, in large part, to starvation), how do we prepare ourselves for the soon coming 2nd Depression? Rules and laws are being passed to ensure maximum starvation, e.g., law/rules/regulations real and improvised regarding the movement/transportation, storage of food, housing, and 'security.' This Kindle e-book provides prototype basic logic for food project management during hazardous times.

We daily live in an illusion until such a book awakens us and shows how vulnerable we are.

The reader will certainly awake after reading this book, and think critically before going back to 'sleep'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2014
excellent book, not a "scare tactic" but just full of great info on preparedness. Unlike the "go build a bunker" books..this one looks at the challenges folks endured in the Depression, and what we can do to prepare for a similar situation. Only a small part is food storage, the rest is all the other areas to plan for. If you (like me) are hesitant to buy a book you can't read first, then do the "send a sample" option on your kindle or computer first....that is what I did and after reading the long section it sends, I promptly ordered it. This is the best book I have read on the topic (and I have read a LOT) and I wish it came in print. As for the "lists" it contains, it is some great websites (to read other books free) or to dig further on different topics. I have bookmarked more pages on my kindle in this book alone, than all my other books combined! The reason I am giving it 4 instead of 5 stars...is that for over 2 years they have been "claiming" that a printed version is in the works....but it never happens. Realistically I either need to keep rereading it, or take a zillion notes or make a ton of bookmarks..to go back to the key points (there are SO MANY)....I WANT a hard copy so I can highlight things to find later. If you are confident you will have a way to access this book (if the grid was down) then by all means buy it...it is excellent...but I guarantee that you will then want a hard copy and be as frustrated as I am
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2013
This is not a novel. This book is an outstanding textbook for anyone who wants to prepare in the event of an emergency where they might have to be mobile. Worth every penny.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2013
I am still in the process of finishing the book. It is very informative. Some of the material is
a re-hash of info in other books. But there are a quite a few 'pearls of wisdom" to be had.
And even the re-hash is good to go over again and again
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
This book was extremely knowledgeable and helps you with whatever you need to know for basic survival. Best book I have yet to read on the subject and will definitely be getting this book in text if they print it.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse