Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 622 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,332 reviews
on June 14, 2017
Great choice if you want to listen to the full book as you do something else instead of being anchored to the book. Whether you will like it depends on how you feel about the narrator's voice Jeremy Irons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
Reading this book for a Book Club. Very well written. Subject matter was definitely "light reading". The author was an incredible writer and handled a delicate subject very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2017
I bought this book for the reference that Lana del Rey has made on some of her songs about Lolita. I saw the movie by director Adrian Lyne and got captivated by the story. If you're here for the same reason as I was, definitely buy the book, more detailed and better insights on the psychology of people.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
Product review:
This is indeed the Nabokov classic. I enjoyed the book; however there were portions in French with no English translation, which is why this product got 4 instead of 5 stars. I needed to use web resources to translate some portions of the book. It would be nice if the translations were put in as footnotes, or at the end of the book.

Book review: I was inspired to read this book from the lyrics in the Police song Don't Stand So Close to Me that read:
"It's no use he sees her
He starts to shake and cough
Just like the old man in
That book by Nabokov"
The book is a tale about
I'll try to be general as not to spoil the book. The book gives a peak into the depths of a man's mind and self-justifications for hebephilia. It also gives a victim's perspective and details her role in her own victimization. I can imagine this book being emotionally very difficult to read, especially for victims of sexual abuse. The book is done as tastefully as someone could have made it approaching this subject and is not pornographic in nature, but some parts will undoubtably make people uncomfortable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
As close as we dare come into walking in the shoes of a degenerate creep. An amazing feat for the Nabokov to get inside the head of a true monster. Very different from the Kubrick film by the way. A must read/see combo to compare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2016
I had to read this for school, so I chose to listen to the audiobook, and I'll review that over on Audible when I can. This is an absolutely wonderful epic that MADE MY SKIN CRAWL. Ew. Um, I'd recommend it if you can stand the subject matter, about an old perverted schoolteacher who falls for a 13-year-old girl and marries her Mom so he can be close to her. But there is so much detail on the world that Nabokov builds, it's frustrating that we have to view it through the eyes of Humbert H. Humbert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
This book probably couldn't be written or published today, but it's one of the greatest novels of the 20th - or any other - century. By now everyone knows the basic story: Humbert Humbert, a romantic European obsessed with "nymphets" (girls from 9-13 years old), loses his first love, comes to America, & falls hopelessly in love/lust with Dolores (Dolly, Lo, Lolita) Haze; marries her widowed mother, who conveniently dies within a year; & takes off across the countryside on an odyssey of passion, madness, & ultimately grief. Beauty is truth, truth beauty - but that isn't all we can even begin to know. And I can't even begin to describe how Nabokov does it: creates a perfectly ordinary, normal adolescent American girl who is nonetheless extraordinarily perfect; a travelogue told by a traveler who is forever trapped; a monstrous first-person narrator who nevertheless appeals to our pity & even makes us feel sorry for him, even while his victim ("every night, every night") sobs herself to sleep. Beauty & the Beast. You'll want a French-English translation dictionary - Amazon's Kindle dictionary will take you only so far - & a copy of the OED might be helpful too. Nabokov, like Lewis Carroll (whose Alice has much in common with Lolita), enjoys wordplay & demands that the reader at least try to meet him halfway, but the trip is well worth it. As frightening & gorgeous & heartbreaking as any of the Grimm brothers' original fairytales.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
It's a classic and certainly well written and provocative. It's basically about a child molester, told from his own self-justifying point of view. It does not glamorize the narrator at all and it is easy to see through his self-justification, but it's a pretty intense topic and not everyone's cup of tea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2017
Nabokov is one of the greatest writers in history. He deals with sex in a frank way without resorting to titillation. His diction is unmatched, without being obnoxious; each word is precisely what he means and would require twenty words to replace it. He somehow can make a pedophile engaging without pandering to your pity, or attempting revulsion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2017
This classic looks amazing on my shelf. I can't speak much for the actual literature because I haven't read it yet! I ordered too many books at once!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here