Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Lomography Smartphone Film Photo Scanner
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Price:$49.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 5, 2014
I am a professional photographer who is used to using pro scanners that cost thousands of dollars. I received this as a gift to scan personal old vacation photos.

I was incredibly disappointed when I tried using this product with the Lomo Scanning App. Low quality, hard to control the app, awful pixelation, no focus, I could go on and on. I was tempted to blame the device. But once I read other reviews, it occurred to me to search for a different iPhone app. 4 apps later I found...

FPS (Film Photo Scanner) for FREE!

Compared to the Lomo app, this app is fast, simple, effective, and most importantly, my photos were not pixelated and they were also in focus. I could care less about color correction because that is something you can always fix with another app (I recommend Pic Tap Go) or in Photoshop, but this app's ability to fix color was also impressive.

So while this review may seem less about the Lomo product than the FPS app, all this is really to say that it's a neat little gadget if you just want simple scans for a backup or posterity or to share on Instagram easily!

But definitely only use the FPS app with it on iPhone (also used all three spacers with the iPhone 5).
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
This could be a good idea, but keep in mind that you can't just scan color film, then reverse into a positive. The colors come out very washed out and blue/cyan. Color labs have special software to color invert/correct images. This device is fine for black and white, but for color it's horrible.
44 comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
Forget the free Lomokino app that is supposed to make this a good product (it's terrible). It is set up so that you are taking a portrait-layout photo of a negative with tons of black space around it, and once you crop out all the extraenous stuff, you're left with a pixely piece of crud. It seemed like a way to make archiving my father's photos really fun for the both of us, but really it was just a stinker of a gift. Trying to return it now. It would make more sense to put your negatives in a real scanner, for all the work it takes to get them cropped and color corrected. You may think this would be a great gift for your parents, but it isn't. It looks like it, though!
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2014
I bought this product as a cheap way out to digitize my 30 year old slides, but did not work. The product is a basic black box with a light that illuminates the slides onto your iPhone using the app to help filter the slides to clarity. The photos came out either too bright or not focused, i did use all the settings from the app but not successful, might be user or product error. Either way i should have had one slide come out properly. The price is expensive; it is made from a slim plastic with a simple phone locking mechanism, the light is a standard small light bulb with not enough power wot light up the slides for the right photo.
My recommendation is do not buy this product and save your money for a professional to convert your slides, as i eventually did.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2014
This scanner is awesome, but the iPhone app is just a disaster. I found a great app for android though, and now I use my mom's phone to scan. If you have a phone with android, it will work perfect for you. (the app is called helmut). The quality of photos is really really good! But I give this scanner 3 (only because of the app, sorryyyy) because how am I supposed to use it with my iphone?? I really hope that they make HELMUT available for iphone users, too.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2014
The service from the vendor was excellent in all respects. Having said that I have to state the overall quality of the item is poor and not likely to stand up to anything but light, occasional use. The results were adequate for prints up to 4x6, (scrapbook sized prints). Instructions are poor, but with some perseverance you can figure it out. If you only have a few slides to scan, and you do not need more than scrapbook quality, this is ok.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2016
More convenient than taping negs to the window and shooting with a digital camera. The lomo app 2.0 still sucks. Use Lightroom Mobile to both scan and edit. Yes, after cropping the results are still too low res to seriously print, but they have just enough resolution to share on the social networks. If you shoot wide exclusively forget about it. Scans of negs shot wider than 50mm don't look as good as shots 50mm and above.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
Was pretty happy when I scanned my first couple of rolls. But for the subsequent ones I noticed a deterioration in the product. The lighting panel doesn't light the film evenly which really affects the scanned image.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2014
The product is OK. The issue is the software just doesn't produce quality pictures and has little options.
It would be OK if someone would develope some enhanced software to use with it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2016
It is a nifty idea for basic captures of film scans. Your phone is pretty limited in picture quality since it is jpeg. The adjustment heights are limited. And the film size is limited. But it does a decent job on the hardware. The software it is pairs with is not good at all. Just take a regular picture and use a photo editor to fix it. The app is low quality and cropped. Use the native camera app for full image and highest res or use another app to use enhanced features for shutter speed/iso/aperture that might also enhance the photo. It uses regular batteries so you don't have to worry about it eventually dying. You can just replace them with regular rechargeable batteries. It would be nice if the light was a tad brighter or adjustable. I will eventually use this to scan the pile of old film negative I have. Not as high a resolution as the traditional film scanner, but this is fast and very inexpensive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here