Kindle Price: $12.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Long Black Veil: A Novel by [Boylan, Jennifer Finney]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Long Black Veil: A Novel Kindle Edition

3.6 out of 5 stars 60 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 306 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Never miss a new release from Robert Dugoni
Follow Robert Dugoni for new book notifications, email exclusives and more. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Long Black Veil:

"An existential whodunit about living with all your selves...To the author, the prison is more than a powerful setting, it's also a powerful symbol for the closeted life she once led."
 Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review

"Jennifer FinneyBoylan’s atmospheric thriller Long Black Veil follows a travel writer tangled up in a cold case that has come back to haunt her decades later."
—Time magazine, Pick of the Month

“Long Black Veil is … character-driven like literary fiction; it deals with somber themes like murder and shifting identity, but it's suffused with comic moments; it features an ensemble cast yet extends Boylan's exploration of the deepest recesses of trans experience.”
— Vice
 
“Boylan’s Long Black Veil is more than just an engrossing whodunit. It is a highly charged work of imagination, and a thriller with fully formed characters, grappling with truth and identity.”
— National Book Review

“Absolutely fantastic... A virtuosic mix of family drama, mystery and thriller… Long Black Veil is simply magnificent; it is masterfully written and thrilling, and full of complex characters…a pure literary delight.” 
— Bookreporter

“Boylan’s gifts are all on full display, much to our benefit. Relationships are dynamic and rich; the portrayal of Judith’s journey is particularly powerful for a multitude of reasons.  The narrative is laden with twists and a kinetic pacing. The words are funny and poignant and borderline addictive. And there’s a thoughtfulness throughout…. that lingers in a most effective manner…. Boylan’s latest is fast-paced and concise and exquisitely-written—a beautiful and captivating stampede.”
— Maine Edge

“[A] madcap thriller full of hidden identities…And embedded in the whodunit is a heartwarming midlife love story, in which hard-won candor, tenacity, and a generous sense of humor are the most saving of graces.”
— Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Boylan, who has reaped praise in recent years with memoirs exploring her transgender experience, doesn’t miss a storytelling beat in her first novel as she blends atmospheric elements of a Shirley Jackson–like haunting, a secret-laden murder tale featuring an ensemble cast, and an eye-opening glimpse of the complex choices transgender people face. This crime debut is certain to attract a genre-blurring following, but recommendations to fans of Erin Kelly’s The Poison Tree and Donna Tartt’s The Secret History are sure bets.”
Booklist, starred review

“Boylan’s twisty and entertaining thriller takes a hard look at questions of identity, love, and trust. Recommended for fans of Megan Abbott and Donna Tartt.”
Library Journal

“This is a nifty little setup for a thriller, and Boylan uses the murder mystery as a frame for interrogating our ideas about identity in ways that are both thoughtful and darkly comic. A trans woman, Boylan is best known as a memoirist and an activist, and the trans character in this novel adds a layer of intrigue and complexity…. Boylan is skilled at creating intriguing, three-dimensional characters; even those characters who prove to be inconsequential emerge as real, unique individuals…. It’s hard to stop reading as these well-crafted characters confront middle age while confronting the defining event of their youth.”
Kirkus


"This is Jennifer Finney Boylan's best book.  It's one of the most eloquent pleas for empathy and moral imagination I've ever encountered.”  
— RICHARD RUSSO, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Nobody’s Fool 

"In the tradition of Donna Tartt, Jennifer Finney Boylan has crafted a thriller that's intellectual, existential, and compulsively readable.  If change is the only constant in life, how much can a person reinvent himself and still be the same?  Long after the last page is turned, you will be thinking about the nature of identity, the pull of the past, and whether you can ever outrun the person you used to be.”
– JODI PICOULT, New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and Leaving Time
 
“Jennifer Finney Boylan rewards her fans with a riveting whodunit. The plot shapeshifts along with the unforgettable characters--including a woman whose family could be dismantled by her long-buried secrets. All this is rendered in Jenny's signature hilarious, wise and wise-assed prose. Bravo, Boylan, bring us another one!”
– MARY KARR, New York Times bestselling author of Liar’s Club, Lit and Cherry



About the Author

JENNIFER FINNEY BOYLAN, author of fourteen books, is the inaugural Anna Quindlen Writer in Residence at Barnard College of Columbia University in the City of New York and is Special Advisor to the president of Colby College in Maine. She has been a contributor to the Op-Ed page of the New York Times since 2007; in 2013 she became Contributing Opinion Writer for the page. Jenny also serves on the Board of Trustees of the Kinsey Institute for Research on Sex, Gender, and Reproduction. She is the national co-chair of the Board of Directors of GLAAD, the media advocacy group for LGBT people worldwide, and serves as a consultant to several television series. A novelist, memoirist, and short-story writer, she is also a nationally known advocate for civil rights. Jenny has appeared on the Oprah Winfrey Show on four occasions; Live with Larry King twice; the Today show; the Barbara Walters Special; and NPR's Marketplace and Talk of the Nation. She has also been the subject of documentaries on CBS News' 48 Hours and The History Channel. She lives in New York City and in Belgrade Lakes, Maine, with her wife, Deedie, and her two sons, Zach and Sean.

Product details

  • File Size: 1138 KB
  • Print Length: 306 pages
  • Publisher: Broadway Books; Reprint edition (April 11, 2017)
  • Publication Date: April 11, 2017
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01ILZPRWG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #386,566 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
LGBTQ Books
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
Literary Fiction
3.6 out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 stars
Children's Books
3.6 out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

July 14, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
June 5, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
May 7, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
April 24, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
April 29, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
April 11, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
May 17, 2017
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
March 20, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Long Black Veil: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Long Black Veil: A Novel