Oil month Automotive HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on November 9, 2016
I'd read the first Dirk Gently novel quite a few years ago, and I'm not sure why it's taken me until just now to pick up the second one. But now that I have, I'm glad I did.

In a weird way, this novel is American Gods done right. That was a novel in which I loved the premise, but felt very let down by how the story eventually developed and concluded. But in The Long Dark Tea-time of the Soul, I think it took a similar premise, but crafted a more grounded, but better executed story from it.

Plus the writing style of Douglas Adams has always delivered. Even in his lesser quality works, his style shines through, and does elevate material to a higher quality. Here, everything comes together in a very entertaining package.

Pacing is fairly quick, and the story keeps moving. What this means is that it's a pretty mean and lean read without any real filler in it. But it also gets all the information that it needs to to the reader. Some of the detail or scene descriptors might go a little long in spots, but that's entirely a Douglas Adams stylistic choice, and it's to the benefit of the novel, rather than a detriment.

On a personal note, this also marks the last bit of writing material available for me to read out of Douglas Adams back catalogue, which is a shame. And I do wish he had done more with the Dirk Gently series. Aside from this and the first book, there's a fractured and half completed third novel, which he was in the process of retrofitting into another Hitchhiker's Guide book before he died. But I will just have to appreciate what's there.

But yeah, a definite recommend from me. Especially if you are a fan, and somehow have managed to avoid reading this. It's a fun read from start to finish, with some quite clever parts to it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 24, 2017
I am not sure where to start!!! Profound, whacky, utterly insensible but absolutely meaningful at the same time...

Douglas Adams was an astute observer of human behaviour which is manifest in the way his characters behave. The fact that they are a part of the most improbable settings highlights that behaviour further.

Saying that this book is not as profound or entertaining as the 1st one or THHGTTG is not an affront but a massive compliment to the other volumes.

This book made me a bit melancholic which the other two volumes mentioned did not (I have read reviews of Mostly Harmless and have decided not to read it for the sake of compromising my interpretation of how things end with Arthur Dent and others). I am not sure what the real takeaway was supposed to be - that Gods too eventually fall or that the fallen were once magnificent, but I believe it is a bit of both.

I really wish we would have had more of this genius to enjoy!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 22, 2015
There's only one Douglas Adams. I'd give a lot to have more of his writing to read, but, with this book, I've read them all. Other authors try to be Douglas Adams, but he had an incredible ability with wit, dry humor, irony, cultural yet timeless references, and more that just can't be duplicated. If you're used to Douglas Adams writing, this will probably fit right into your expectations. If you're not, you're probably in for a ride. Somewhere between fantasy, sci-fi, and Monty Python, I found this book tremendous fun.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 11, 2014
As much a stark raving lunatic fan as I am about all his works, this one is my absolute favorite. Every little detail in this wonderful, clever story is neatly wrapped back into itself, this book must be read multiple times to discover all its nuances, and they are so very worth discovering! Few authors make me laugh out loud while reading, Douglas Adams definitely was one (God rest his gloriously funny soul), and this book is a jewel.
The best and the worst of human nature is all in here-- greed, brutal corruption, unthinkable consequences, depression, confusion, compassion, loyalty, and problems with the kids. There are also monsters, gods, divine powers, interdimensional travel, beheadings, and exploding airport check-in desks. And a mysterious eagle that circles above it all.
If you're looking for wonderful quotes to tuck in your pocket, this book is loaded with them.
I bought this copy because I wore out my first copy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2014
The most important thing to note about this book is that it was written by Douglas Adams. For those who aren't familiar with his other works, you should know that his style is quirky and unlike anything you've ever read. It's as if he has some backwards way of thinking that gets him to the same conclusions others do in a completely different way. This style lends itself both to the writing and the plot; it seems that every page has a line that made me chuckle in its novelty, and the whole structure of the book in retrospect (when it could finally be understood) was strangely marvelous.

As for the story itself, it is an entertaining mystery concerning the lives of gods who have ceased to matter to the people who dreamed them up in the first place, an interesting premise that lends itself well to many hilarious encounters. The characters are likeable, and while a little one-dimensional they seem entirely human and relatable.

In the end, though, this book is all about the author. The whole purpose of reading it would be to enjoy Adams' style- and that is something I highly recommend doing. Adams can capture the realities of everyday life in a way no one else can; his situations are ridiculous and absurd in a completely understandable way, and he is always ready with another unusual turn-of-phrase to catch your attention.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 11, 2014
Like most, if not all, Adams' books it's about the journey and not the final arrival. I love D.A.'s facility with the language. One sentence or one section of the book flows so effortlessly to the next that it makes for very pleasurable reading. If you try to skim the book, you'll miss the best, typically understated, gags. And the gags abound. I found myself laughing out loud on more than one occasion.

Please do yourself a favor and don't hurry to the ending, because the book ends rather abruptly. You get a mental picture of Adams' editor standing on the desk shouting at him about how overdue the final copy is.

Still, if you enjoyed Hitchhikers Guide and the follow on books, you will find this a good read. It is certainly much better than the first Dirk Gently novel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 24, 2014
*Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul* leads off with these lines: "It can hardly be a coincidence that no language on earth has ever produced the expression 'As pretty as an airport.' Airports are ugly. Some are very ugly. Some attain a degree of ugliness that can only be the result of a special effort."

And away we go!

Another wonderful story by Douglas Adams - full of wit, great metaphors and similes, and wonderful observations about life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 14, 2016
To anyone who is familiar and enjoyed the Hitch Hiker's Guide series, either from reading the books or watching any of several versions in video form, this author needs neither introduction or further praise. Suffice to say that the two books that, sadly, constitute the whole of this series are yet another tour de force and provide a highly entertaining glimpse into a new fantasy concept with vast potential. Prepare to laugh and ponder, often at the intricacies of human relations, societal foibles and the usual blatant governmental corruption.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
The saddest day was when Mr. Adams left us. However the writings he left behind are a gem in world where a little bit of silliness and good story telling is soothing to the soul. If you liked the movie Hitchhiker's guide and you liked the TV show in the BBC about Dirk, then this is something you should think about buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2017
This book is weird. The characters are weird, the writing is weird, the story is weird, even the cars are weird.

If you like weird you'll like this. If you don't like weird read this anyhow.

I liked it. Is that weird?
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse