Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 195 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 349 reviews
on August 5, 2014
I don't know why there is always so much criticism of this movie. By no means would I expect it to rival the earlier 1960s adaptation, because it is not intended to be a replacement. It is a reimagining of Golding's novel, and one that I think accomplishes that goal very well. Not all screenplays need to serve as Cliff's Notes. Some of us find enjoyment in films that are different from the books in which they are inspired by (not to mention, many stories don't translate perfectly to screen and deserve an artistic interpretation that better fits the medium). If someone is that much a fan of Golding's novel that they really bought this movie expecting it to be word-for-word transcription with no deviation whatsoever, then my advice would be to go back and read the book and stay away from watching movies.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2017
I bought this for my 10th-grade class to watch after we read the novel. You will need to preview it and mark where the F-words are yelled. This version loses a lot of the wonderful language and symbolism that Golding's book is known for, and to my disappointment the setting and time period changed to American kids and (possibly) the Vietnam war? The rescue comes in via helicopter. Not impressed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
After reading the novel, the girl whom I tutor and I decided to watch the movie to compare/contrast the two. I was a little disappointed. The movie seemed to move very fast, and it didn't develop the characters very well.

*SPOILER ALERT!*

When Piggy was killed, I didn't have the connection to him that I did in the book, and his death was very non-monumental. Also, the gradual shift from civilized to savage was not portrayed very well. It was interesting that this interpretation changed the characters so that they were American cadets (military school), not English choirboys. It a way, the uniforms took away from the innocence that the boys possessed, and lost, in the novel.

In all, it was okay. There's a lot of language, which is what I suppose would happen if there were no adults around! Additionally, there IS an adult in the story. He becomes and integral part of "the beast," which I thought was an interesting twist. Since it was modern-day Americans, they couldn't have a parachutist be the beast....

A decent movie if you've read the novel, but wouldn't highly recommend. There is a black and white version that was done in the 60's that looks to be more accurate...I'm curious as to how that one is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2015
This version is every bit as good as the b & w version, if not better. Neither is perfect. The only thing the older version has over the newer, is "Sucks to your asthmar". Other than that, the newer version is a better production. The book is better than both films put together. If you want the best version, read the book. If you're not smart enough to know the movie is never as good as the book, I can't help you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
It's refreshing to see back in the 90's people were not so stereo typical and actually allowed a bunch of boys to run around 3/4 naked on an island, without all the fundies getting there panties in a bunch. It's to bad in todays society we can't all relax and chill on thing's government is trying to stop porn have you looked at you tube lately there's plenty of it to go about. But I stray from the movie. After having to be forced to read the book like so many other english lit students. I find the director strayed way to far from what the movie should be and turned it into more of a Peter Pan and the lost boys, minus Wendy, though I guess you could say Ralph makes a good Wendy. I read another reveiw about the sunrise and sunset scene in the movie, at the same tree, on the same cliff. It could have been much better if I could give it no stars I would. I doubt a group of boys getting stranded on and island would be swimming within the first couple days, as to the trauma of their plight. I also don't think it covers any form of reality book or movie wise. But it's mostly just a fun movie to watch. I also see a lot of things like survival taking a back seat to the reality of what real survival is considering I am a trained survivalist by the S.A.S. as well as S.F. If you are looking for the real lord of the flies get the 1963 version it's closer to the book, but read the book since neither movie captures the book's spirit. And even on a tropical island nobody would be running around in their underwear especially at night when temps can drop and vary greatly. So all in all a bit over kill.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
This was really poorly done. We could not even get through half of it. Read the book. This was horrible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2017
Classic movie brought to life right out of a book. A childhood favorite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2015
Poorly acted by a bunch of pre-pubescent boys in their tighty-whities...waste of time, unless you like that kinda thing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
Time waster
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
Great movie but almost unwatchable due to low quality streaming.... Disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here