Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
24
Lost Daughter
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$24.02+ $3.99 shipping


on October 17, 2016
This work is well written. The plot is intricate and complex, and the characters are well developed.

"The Lost Daughter" moves from 1978 to the present where the protagonist Angela Vari figures importantly in both settings. In the 1978 time span, we're told of the Aldo Moro kidnapping and the political machinations of the Red Brigade, and Angela's part in it with her lover, Antonio. In the present day narrative, Angela is now Anna and married to a renowned doctor whose daughter is studying in Florence. His daughter, Kristen Carson, is kidnapped, and Anna/Angela also goes missing.

The book then focuses on a police investigation with Enzo Saenz working the case and reporting to his supervisor Alessandro Palliotti.
Palliotti was the lead investigator who appeared in "Villa Triste.." "The Lost Daughter" moves from Rome to Florence to Ferrara as Enzo is in pursuit of Anna whom he eventually finds, and he unravels the truth. I highly recommend this book. Amazon Verified Purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 16, 2013
If there were ten stars she would get them. The writing in this " apparently just a police procedural" set in Florence, is so fine that you can barely believe it. I quote "...the old port where the Po used to run before it changed its mind and meandered away like a senile relative." In the reviews I have read the readers mention the plot and how they like the characters but I mention the writing because plot and character are vital but oh how important is the writing. This artist is a dream and I hope there will be piles of her books in the future.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 31, 2014
The book is a police procedural organized around the later actions of two participants in the kidnap and killing of Aldo Moro. Anna's step-daughter disappears and appears to have been kidnapped while Anna disappears soon after. The story of the search for the two women, which is otherwise well done, relies on a series of flashbacks to the period around Moro's killing which add to the mystery of her disappearance but interrupt the contemporary narrative. The novel, in effect, runs together two stories, each of which interrupts the other
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2018
The detective. Same one in Villa Trieste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 23, 2015
sorry to say it was not one of my favorite the language was much to be desired in the beginning very slow to low and thought it would never end. I will think before ordering one of Lucretia Grindle books again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2013
I followed a most enjoyable Villa Triste with Lost Daughter. Grindle has a lovely writing style and develops her characters well. I was a bit put off after the start until I realised that the murders were incidental to the characters and then settled back for a really good read. I was disappointed at the end to get the strong feeling that this was the last in the Paliotti 'series' as the detective seemed disillusioned by the powers that be. But grab both books if you can and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 7, 2015
It was a well written novel, but I didn't like it as well as Villa Triste. Both novels involve a mystery crime in the present with links to the past. Excellent characterization. Lost Daughter revolves around the Red Brigade and its blood thirsty methods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 6, 2016
As with the other two books,the story,the history is exciting. Can't hardly put down-especially close to the end. Recommend strongly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 23, 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 6, 2014
A good read. I chose it because we will be going to Italy in the fall, and I was looking for local color. The inspector is appealing and the plot sufficiently interesting to keep a reader engaged for the long haul.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Villa Triste
$10.99

Need customer service? Click here