Customer Reviews: L A Lost & Found: An Architectural History of Los Angeles (California Architecture & Architects)
Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Halloween Candy Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon pbskids pbskids pbskids  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 All-New Kindle for Kids Edition Elvis Presley Shop Cycling on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 12, 2002
Sam Hall Kaplan does a great job of telling us about the city we live in but know very little about. The book is very informative, and it is surprising to find out about the history of this great city of ours. As a resident of the city of Los Angeles, I find this book encouraging me to go out and discover a place that I have live in for my whole love and know very little about. All time periods are covered, and it is very educational to find out about our local museums and historical sites. This book is inciteful and I recommend it to anyone who has time to read it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2000
This is an extraordinary collection of images and information that effectively chronicles Los Angeles' ongoing architectural legacy.
The title refers to the achievements already lost (in a physical sense), such as the famous Dodge House, to those that should be or must be recognized as landmarks, including Frank Lloyd Wright's Hollyhock House and Ennis-Brown House, as well as the Beverly Hills Hotel, the Greenacres mansion, to The Crystal Cathedral and Union Station. Structures encompassed by a liberal extension of Los Angeles' metro area throughout southern California are also included.
Hopefully, future editions of this book will include larger photographs, more color photographs, and a full index for easier reference to the specific contents.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2002
In LA Lost and Found, Sam Kaplan not only provides a cover to cover pictorial history of Los Angeles, but also tells the story of how Los Angeles came to become a unique city. Kaplan starts his narrative in the early 1800's when Los Angeles' population was beginning to grow and continues into the late 1990's when there were not enough buildings to hold its population. Kaplan describes how Los Angeles developed architecturally over the years. Starting as a coastal desert, Los Angeles began as a mission and slowly expanded with adobe houses, and did not even resemble a town until the first church was built. Today, Los Angeles can be considered nothing short of a large, sprawling city. Buildings may be made of brick or wood or glass, and have arches or stilts or windmills. They may be built at the ocean side, on a mountainside or along a lake, or next to stores, museums, or parks, and still be located in the city of Los Angeles. Los Angeles began as small adobe houses and grew into a "gazpacho" of architectural styles. Kaplan shows how Los Angeles' vast array of architectural styles provides visible evidence of the history and development of the city.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2002
This book is a great chronological review of Los Angeles shown from an architectual point of view. This book is written by Sam Hall Kaplan, a well known Los Angeles writer, who is most popular for his 20+ years of writing for the Los Angeles Times. The book goes into greater detail providing some history behind each picture taken.
The book starts off with the basic history of Los Angeles and the progressively moves toward the metropolis that Los Angeles has grown to be. Without any doubt this book is a great tool for finding both the history behind Los Angeles and for seeing the amazing archiological structes that make L.A.
If your looking for a fun and amazing book, this is a book you must get your hands on.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2002
I had to read Kaplan's LA Lost & Found for my english 102 class at Cal State Univ. of L.A. At first it seems like yet another boring architectual photograph book, but after you browse through a few of its pages you get a different feeling from the book. The feeling that you've actually been given the chance to see the City of Los Angeles the way it was before all the hoopla and constant rebuilding. Kaplan covers the aesthetic change of Los Angeles over a span of many decades. By using high quality photographs he presents us with the past of Los Angeles, such as the trolley cars, old hollywood, and inventive new style of architectual design. Even though we only read three chapters of the book for my class, this book is still and interesting piece of work to have in your home or office so people get flip through it and view the many brilliant photographs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2002
Not being a native to a City of Angels, it was and is hard at times to know what those around me are talking about. At times, I feel uncomfortable asking those native Angelians to explain to me what or where they are talking about. There are certain places in Los Angeles, where most Angelians grew up attending or just know the locations of. Places such as: the historical Olvera Street, infamous City Hall, breathtaking Bonaventure Hotel, or magical Watts Towers. Growing up in suburbia San Diego and not knowing much about the grand city life, let alone the history of Los Angeles, it was interesting to read and learn all about LA. From the beginning when the Spanish settlers arrived at the quaint Indian village of Yangna to the hopping and star crazed city it has become today. Kaplan visits every historical landmark in LA and gives you a brief yet detailed description of why Angelians love this city. A city with endless treasures and unforgettable events, Kaplan allowed me to see LA as a whole; through the eyes of an Angelian, as I would have never seen it. It will be a year this month that I have been living in Los Angeles and I thought I knew LA but after reading this book, I realized that I have so much more to see, so many more places to explore, and so many more things to learn about in the City of Angels.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2002
Kaplan's lost and found is a great representation of the history of Los Angeles. It shows both pictorally and textally how Los Angeles developed using the medium of architecture. This lends itself really well towards a general history and putting together a timeline of events. The book is separated into chapters of general era in our history. I found that the picture helped me get a mental image of what the city looked like in the different time periods. Overall, the book was a great read and I would recommend it to anyone who is researching, or just wanting to see our history in a pictured fashion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2016
Just ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2007
L A Lost & Found was a very good resource for the "history" of how the City of Angels developed into what it is now. However, if you are looking for a book which shows the awesome beauty of LA's prominent architectural sites - which can take your breath away - this is not the book you want to buy. I found the book akward. The format seems clumsy and lacking. There is no index. The content didn't seem to follow any patterns that were discernable to me. Despite the photos by the revered and excellent Julius Shulman - I just thought this book came up short. It seems to me to be an average sort of book. You might very well have a different take on this book. But I would not recommend it unless you have a full library on LA architecture before buying this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
I am more interested in the older period, which was covered here but not focused on, but all in all not bad. It is NOT a droning academic text, nor a mindless picture book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here