Digital List Price: $16.99
Kindle Price: $8.45

Save $0.54 (6%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy by [Jaskulka, Marie]
Kindle App Ad

The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$8.45

Length: 272 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Age Level: 12 - 17 Grade Level: 6 - 12

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up—Two unnamed teenagers find each other on a street corner and realize that they share a love of the written word. Forgotten Girl's parents have just split up and her mother has started drinking. Forgotten Girl copes by journaling about her life, feelings, hopes, and dreams. She meets a very cute boy on the corner one day, and their flirting really takes off when she discovers he is more than just a dude smoking and hanging out on the street; he, too, works through his feelings with a poetry journal. Their romance is chronicled in their verses—they grow close, meet each other's families (with little success), and eventually wind up sleeping together. When Forgotten Girl begins feeling smothered by Random Boy and befriends a boy from her school, things take a scary, violent turn. The book is intense, much like the young couple's relationship. Poetry perfectly captures the heightened emotions of first love. The novel's conceit (that it is Forgotten Girl's notebook and that Random Boy writes in it from time to time) does not always hold up—does he still get to read her journal after they break up? At times, the sophisticated phrasing and vocabulary hint at the adult author rather than reflect the authentic voices of two teens. Nevertheless, the story is realistic, gripping, worrisome yet hopeful. VERDICT Give this to fans of Sonya Sones and Ellen Hopkins.—Geri Diorio, Ridgefield Library, CT

Review

"Told with such complete believability . . . Jaskulka's narrative explores the hows and whys of an abusive teenage relationship with heartbreaking honesty, and her delicate touch renders the dark story even more powerful. Graceful. Searing. Haunting." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Realistic, gripping, worrisome yet hopeful. VERDICT: Give this to fans of Sonya Sones and Ellen Hopkins." —School Library Journal

"Forgotten Girl is a sophomore whose parents argue, scream, and slam doors. Looking out her bedroom window for salvation and fresh air, she sees Random Boy passing by—and soon her life enters a new downward spiral. In this twinned novel in verse, Jaskulka distinguishes the narratives by italicizing Random Boy’s notebook entries. The author’s terse poetic style suits their stilted emotions as girl and boy trudge through hardships in their homes and their own twisted bond. Don’t judge this book by its seemingly lighthearted title or appealing cover; this story plumbs the dark depths of domestic violence." —Booklist

"This debut novel-in-verse is both beautiful and rough around the edges. Jaskulka handles her subject matter well, blending the poetry around the gritty details of the story. Each poet has his/her own distinct voice, making the transition between one and the other effortless. Both of these voices are real—real teenagers dealing with some major hardships. This is not an easy read; however, Jaskulka’s characters pepper their story with cynicism and wit. Readers will laugh, cry, and find themselves nodding their heads. Fans of Sonya Sones and Ellen Hopkins will want to get their hands on this novel."—VOYA

"An original love story, arresting and beautiful. Heartbreakingly honest. At moments frightening, but ultimately hopeful." —Laura Whitcomb, author of A Certain Slant of Light

"Eloquent, lyrical, combustible, Marie Jaskulka’s debut verse novel will draw you into the world of two teens whose thoughts and words resonate with raw beauty, love, and obsession. Jaskulka reminds us that, deep down, we know when love is real, and when we find it—we find our power." —Bridget Birdsall, author of Double Exposure

"This is one of those books I wish I could travel back in time to give to fifteen-year-old me. It’s a lyrical, raw, and honest account of love, losing yourself, and finding your voice, and with it, your inner strength." —Stephanie Kuehnert, author of I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone

Product details

  • File Size: 1922 KB
  • Print Length: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Sky Pony Press (April 7, 2015)
  • Publication Date: April 7, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00V8SS0MI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #733,089 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on April 7, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2015
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2015
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2015
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2015
Format: Hardcover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl & Random Boy