Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 88 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 179 reviews
on September 8, 2017
A very engaging bit of fiction. it held my interest right to the end. the story is based on the idea tha in a very remote part of the Amazon there was a very highly elevated jungle that was almost impossible to get to. in London one scientist claimed to have achieved the apparently impossible feat of getting there and discovering dinosaurs, petrodactls, etc., but when he left with photos a rver accident destroyed them. his fellow scientists called him a fake. the guts of the book relates both he and one of hi accusers, along with a news reporter and a known spotsman with rifles and ammo, returning[ and then all hell breaks loose.

this was written in the 19th century before we learned the fate of dinosaurs 65 million yrs ago. the story is well wriiten anf wiill keep intrerested to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
An enjoyable read - hypothesizing alternative lifelines from the prehistoric until the present.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2017
This truly is a classic. Hard to believe it's over 100 years old
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
With an outdated and somewhat pedantic style the reader has to persevere to get to what is actually a good, imaginative and thoughtful storyline. The author has a few pokes at Edwardian morality and pomposity, in a somewhat tongue in cheek fashion. Despite the popular misconception of a dinosaur theme, it is human interactions, race and struggle that form the subtext.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2017
some great twists to it. You can tell it was written in the late 1800. Political correctness didn't occur yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2017
I loved this book, didn't want to put it down. I havent read anything by this author before but I plan to again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2017
I learned about this book as it was reference in the book, The Lost City of Z, as Conan used the story behind "Z" to write this. I thought it was fantastic, especially knowing how this book came about!! Totally fun read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2016
I have read all of Doyle's Sherlock Holmes stories but I didn't know he had written in this genre. When I saw this book on Kindle, I knew I had to read it. I was not disappointed.

Doyle's vivid description style carries over from his other writings. His humor does, too. I frequently found myself breaking into laughter during the story.

I would heartedly recommend this book to sci-fi fans who also enjoy writing from times past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
This review is for "The Lost World: A Silent-Photoplay Edition" and should not be confused with the many other reviews for this title that pertain to Arthur Conan Doyle or Michael Chricton's "The Lost World". This publisher used the original Doyle version and added pictures from the original silent-film version of the book. Very interesting concept and well put together. The publisher has another book completed titled "The Lodger" and is also available on Amazon. Both highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
While Doyle will be always be best known for Sherlock Holmes, this creation was just as influential. It has the great fluid prose of the day, detailed and fast-paced. Not as action-packed and full of creatures as the books Burroughs would write (such as The Land that Time Forgot: The Land that Time Forgot, The People that Time Forgot, Out of Time's Abyss ), nevertheless a great read for fans of high adventure, lost worlds and classics. Too bad no lost lands of dinosaurs and apemen ever materialized. The early excitement over evolution has given way to science (Evolution: A Theory In Crisis,Origins of Life,Icons of Evolution, etc.), but such fantasy worlds still excite and entertain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse