Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 126 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 197 reviews
on January 23, 2017
Heiress Jordan Rhodes practically has the world at her feet and she’s invited to all the exclusive parties. That’s why the FBI wants to use her to get into a specific party. They’re looking to gather evidence against a famous restaurant owner they know is laundering money. If Jordan helps the FBI, they’ll do something big for her. She just has to pretend that Agent Nick McCall is her boyfriend for awhile.

So rich girl meets blue collar boy and circumstances force them together and guess what? They fall for each other. I loved Jordan and Nick, on the outside they were complete opposites but as the plot developed they actually found some things they had in common. Julie James made Jordan more relatable than the usual rich girl. She was warm, friendly, loyal, and funny. Nick was more intense but he had such charm that I could see why Jordan was attracted to him. He was confident enough to handle Jordan’s life as an heiress and he never once made her ashamed of her fortune. I liked both characters for different reasons and to me they were a balanced couple. With the light suspense element, the romance was front and center just how I like it.

A Lot Like Love had a lot going for it in the supporting cast department too. Aside from catching up with Cameron and Jack, it also introduced Jordan’s brother Kyle. He had a quirky sense of humor even when his circumstances were difficult.

Final Verdict: The second book in the FBI/Attorney series is just as good as the first. Jordan and Nick kept each other on their toes and the plot was fun, sexy, and just a good time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2014
This is the second book in Julie James’ FBI/U.S. Attorneys series and follows Special Agent Nick McCall as he works to expose a money laundering scheme involving a notorious Chicago crime boss, Roberto Martino, and famous restaurateur, Xander Eckhart. Nick, originally from Brooklyn, comes from a family of cops and is one of the top agents Chicago’s field office. He’s just finished a six month deep undercover operation that resulted in the exposure and arrest of over two dozen dirty cops and all he wants is a few days to visit his mother on her sixtieth birthday.

Nick’s career means he’s knows that plans sometimes change, and he takes it in stride when his boss pulls him in to help a younger agent, Seth Huxley, with his first solo op. Huxley needs to plant some listening devices in Xander’s office in order to connect him to Martino, and the ticket inside is wine store owner and billionaire heiress Jordan Rhodes. Although Jordan’s father is a highly successful, self-made CEO to a company that made its name selling anti-virus software Jordan and her twin brother grew up modestly, and were expected to make their own way as adults. Jordan has done very well for herself but Kyle, the “Twitter Terrorist” has recently landed himself in prison after drunkenly taking down the site in a two day denial of service attack.

Eckhart hosts a yearly wine tasting for charity and as an heiress and wine store owner Jordan is invited every year. Nick and Huxley approach Jordan - who isn’t too fond of the FBI after its overly-harsh treatment of her brother at the moment - to bring Huxley as her date so he can slip away and plant listening devices in Eckhart’s office. Jordan begrudgingly agrees to their plan, the only highlights being that Kyle will be released to house arrest and Nick - who seriously rubs her the wrong way - won’t be the one posing as her date. Unfortunately, like in Nick’s case, plans change for Jordan, too, and she finds herself spending a lot more quality time with Mr. Tall, Dark and Smoldering - and Nosy.

This was a light read, yet very smart, quippy and entertaining. Nick and Jordan are smart, hardworking people, and I enjoyed seeing them navigate their feelings for one another. While A Lot Like Love is a romance the investigation of Eckhart and Martino played a huge role in the plot, and it was very interesting and felt authentic. I know this author is a former lawyer and whatever homework she needed to do for this novel she did very well. Everything was extremely realistic and believable, and her descriptions of Chicago made it feel more like a character than simply a setting.

While there could have been more romance I was still very satisfied with this book. Also, Nick and Jordan did have good chemistry but I think it needed to be a little more explosive, especially since they started off not liking each other. However, I felt most of the details and pacing was spot-on. There were no plot holes, tragic misunderstandings or conflicts resolved too quickly/with too much ease. The supporting characters were also fantastic - I particularly enjoyed Kyle. I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read contemporary romance, books with characters who work in law enforcement or books with smart, successful female leads. A Lot Like Love may not be my favorite book of all time but I think it would be very difficult for any reader to dislike it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2016
A solid romance filled with fun and sarcastic banter and hint of suspense.

The Good: The interactions between the characters made this book fun to read. Jordan and Nick (Mr Tall-Dark-and-Smoldering) work well together as a couple. The banter between them was well done and humorous and whoooweeeee did their chemistry sizzle! The secondary characters were just as fun to read about even if there was limited interaction and not a whole lot of character development for them. Jack and Cameron make appearances in this book although they had very limited page time which was a bit unfortunate since I really like them as a couple too(their book, Something About You, was the first in the series by the way.) Jordan's brother Kyle, the cyber-terrorist ("It was only Twitter!!!!) is really intriguing and as a newly released ex-con, not exactly boyfriend material so it will be interesting to see what Ms. James does with him.

The Bad: These are the things that I found to be slight negatives about this book. They are rather minor but when adding them all up together it is the reason I didn't give this book a higher rating than a 4. The plot was a bit simplistic in it's execution and not quite original, way too much wine talk (I'm not a fan of wine...someone who enjoys wine might feel otherwise), I wish there had been more suspense, and I'd have preferred if the FBI really worked the investigation rather than make the case more of a situation so the characters could be in closer proximity.

In a Nutshell: Despite some minor negatives the building of the relationship between Jordan and Nick really shines and the climactic ending pushed this book into a winner of a read. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2012
Julie James certainly can write a likable heroine who can kick ass and a strong sexy hero who is 100% believable. I've now read all three in the US Attorney/FBI series and I adore them all. I think Kyle's book might be my favorite, but this one was pretty darn close. I kind of want to meet the Rhodes family!

This book introduces Jordan Rhodes, who is a wine store owner, and her brother, Kyle, who is in prison. The FBI needs Jordan's help to assist in an investigation, and she agrees only if they will shorten Kyle's sentence. Enter Agent Nick McCall. Nick and Jordan have to work together, but they butt heads constantly and Julie James has done an amazing job making their banter witty and funny and sarcastic without being over the top and silly.

While I appreciate Ms. James attention to detail concerning the wine research, I did get a little annoyed at all the wine talk. That might be because I don't enjoy drinking wine. Maybe.

Despite that, I loved this book. I'm really looking forward to book 4 in this series and I'm hoping there will be a book 5 with Agent Wilkins - I think he might be one of my favorite characters in the series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"If he was one of those sensitive, introspective types, he would say that the feelings he had for Jordan sure seemed a lot like love and he, Nick McCall, didn't do love."

THE STORY: FBI Special Agent Nick McCall approaches Jordan Rhodes, the owner of a wine store, with a deal: help the FBI get access to a client's private office and her brother's federal prison sentence will be reduced. The two end up having to pretend to be dating. Soon, however, the pretense begins to be replaced by reality.

OPINION: I really liked this story. A lighthearted book, this story seems like it could be serious and filled with angst, but the story never leaves the witty lighthearted realm. At the same time, the characters are interesting and their romance satisfying and fun. There is drama regarding the plot of uncovering evidence against a criminal and there is some danger, yet the story never takes the potential danger so seriously as to distract from the romance. This is a story that is quick to finish and engaging such that the reader wants to get to the conclusion of both the romance and the plot. Fun and flirty, this is a winner.

WORTH MENTIONING: There are appearances by some of the characters from the first book in the series, SOMETHING ABOUT YOU and this novel takes place soon after the conclusion of the events of that book.

FINAL DECISION: Fun and lighthearted, A LOT LIKE LOVE, is a romance that makes a reader smile. It is about truly nice people who meet and fall in love. The complications are small and the romance leaves the reader happy.

CONNECTED BOOKS: A LOT LIKE LOVE is the second book in the FBI/US Attorney Series. The book is only loosely connected, however, and can be read as a standalone. Characters from the first book do make small appearances.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4.25 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
As with all of Ms. James' FBI stories "A Lot Like Love" was a fun filled romance with a strong independent woman who knows her own mind and isn't afraid to use it! And can any other author write the "Tall, Dark and Smoldering" hero the way Ms. James does...(sigh)! The storyline is fresh out of today's newspapers and the characters resonate with true life so that it makes reading these novels an A plus experience and the hot lovemaking curls my toes! Once again an unbeatable and enjoyable novel. Don't miss it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
Took a chance on this book when I saw it on one of my discount email lists and glad I did. The book had me intrigued from the beginning, laughing at some of the sarcastic remarks throughout while emotionally involved with the characters and their fate by the end. If you are looking for a book that will keep you interested, has great chemistry between the main characters and a some very steamy but tasteful scenes, read this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2014
Intelligently written, great, strong characters. I don't normally do any romances with a "crime/law enforcement" slant in any way, but I love Julie's writing and this looked great. It did not disappoint. FBI Agent Nick McCall poses as a date to billionaire heiress Jordan Rhodes at an upscale restaurant's private event; she's cooperating with the Feds to facilitate a deal to get her computer-hacker twin brother an early release from prison. The bigger fish to fry for the Feds is a Chicago crime boss, to which the restaurant owner has ties. That story is the background, but the main thread is Nick and Jordan's interaction. Also, if you are a wine aficionado, this is also a great story component - she has a well-known wine shop/tasting bar and her job figures heavily. Very rich family and work relationships as well as good strong friendships. And some perfectly written sex scenes as well, and the hookups made sense for the story -they were not at all gratuitous. This is just a great NOVEL, period-rich detail and nicely balanced. Loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2015
Romance, slow, sensual, hot and steamy and a lot of sarcasm and fire. The first 70% of the book is one long foreplay session with the suspense simmering on the back burner. Then the action really takes off on both levels. The buildup may be long but the ride was a lot of fun. Watching Nick and Jordan dance around each other was a joy to read. Julie James is the best at taking two characters and making the mating ritual fun to watch.

Nick is undercover FBI and has approached billionaire heiress and wine shop owner, Jordan, with a deal to get her hot headed twin out of prison. All he needs is for her to get an agent inside an exclusive party to plant bugs. Sparks fly from the time these two lay eyes on each other. Since Nick is not the agent who would be her date, Jordan agrees. Drat, Agent Huxley gets the flu and Nick ends up as her date. Not one knows that Xander, the FBI target, has the hots for Jordan. When she turns up with Nick, things get personal and nasty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
A Lot Like Love is another fantastic entry into this series. I LOVED both Nick and Jordan. You felt their chemistry straight away and I loved the banter between them.

Nick enlists the help of Jordan who has an invite to a party the FBI need access to. When a mishap occurs, the one night being undercover together becomes longer, and the longer these two have to pretend to be dating, the further the line blurs.

This was fun, sexy and these characters felt real. I loved their interactions not just with each other, but also their friends and family. I thought they both handled their relationship in what felt like a very adult way which was refreshing and I was cheering these guys on the entire time. I loved Jordan’s banter with her twin brother too and I’m beyond pleased that the next book is about him. This had so many laugh-out-loud moments but also a story that kept me intrigued and desperate to keep turning the page. Well done Julie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse