Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon toystl17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,294 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,090 reviews
on December 10, 2016
Every time Love Actually comes on TV, I sit down and watch. Finally, I bought the video and will probably purchase the DVD because there are extras I'd like to see.
I find all the characters interesting but my favorites are Jamie (Colin Firth) and Aurelia (Lucia Moniz) though I'm not sure why, I just do.
Rowan Atkinson, as usual does his small bits, but they are very funny scene stealers.
Emma Thompson has an incredibly revealing and heart breaking scene in the bedroom. Alan Rickman as usual is wonderful.
Laura Linney plays a woman who gives too much and doesn't take what she wants and needs so desperately.
Andrew Lincoln is very gorgeous as a man living with a painful unrequited love. Keira Knightly and Chiwetelu Ejiofor are a newly wed couple. Hugh Grant underplays the PM of Great Britain with one of my favorite silly dance scenes. Liam Neeson is a bereaved step father tending to his young step son in a crisis called being in love. There are other stories and they all mesh and the movie flows well together.
Love in many different forms with many different outcomes and still worth watching 13 years later.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One of my all time favorite movies! You can't ask for a better cast! I'm a huge Alan Rickman fan so that is what drew me to this movie in the first place, but it really is an all star cast. Emma Thompson is brilliant. I love her. Her and Alan have such chemistry when together.

The beginning can be a little hard to follow at first. It seems like they keep going from one person/couple to the next very quickly. It does all tie in together though. It does have a Christmas theme, but this is a movie you can watch anytime of the year. The more you watch it, the more things you uncover about the couples.

Funny. Sad. Heartbreaking. Feel-Good. There are some many adjectives that could describe this movie. It's a must see for any Alan Rickman fan. It's really a must see for everyone.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2015
My brother-in-law insists this isn't a chick flick. My husband wants to schedule a time to watch it. My view is it's a perfect bow on Christmas -- part sappy, part sad, part funny, part ridiculous...etc. It's a yearly watch for us...and we're doing it tonight...and we still can't figure out which thread we like best. I think I'm partial to prime minister thread...but then Portugal thread starts...and really, watching Watson's porn stand-in role...this is such a fun combination.... Is it a chick flick -- I think it is. But the anti chick-flick men I know say it's not. So give it a try...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
I seldom give feedback on movies or books because I think it is a personal thing, but this time I HAVE to. IF you ever feel like the world has gone to hell in a handbasket and any negative things or worries overwhelm you, WATCH THIS MOVIE! It is soooo much more than any Christmas movie, or love story, it is about all the love around us every day of the year that we overlook, take for granted, start questioning, mess up, start over, saying goodbye to some you have given your life to that passes away but holding tight to the love, parents loving their kids, kids loving their parents, it was a no holds bar movie that is a gift. Lots of BIG names and people that will surprise the heck out of you, good acting, maybe sickenly sweet and some big questions about relationships but basically and completely dedicated to love in all its many forms. It always felt like a combo gift from the UK, US & other countries after 9/11, but tonight I freely give you the suggestion to watch it, live it and see all the love that is still around us! As to it's rating, it just shows that sex isn't love and love isn't sex? It will go over the head of young kids, probably not bother any good kid watching it with a family (and with a teen, or young adult a little hit over the head it they focus too hard on 2 scene's). Granted, it isn't exactly realistic, but it is sooooo beautiful and nothing is beyond anyone when love (and GOD) are combined (again, not leaving out any other religion). It is LOVE ACTUALLY! If that isn't enough, go watch Mama Mia a week later and quit complaining about ABBA! I just shocked myself!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
Love Actually is, by far, my favorite romantic comedy of all time.

The power of the previous statement is limited by both the qualifying term "romantic comedy" and the fact that I'm not typically a fan of the genre. So, a skeptical reader might (correctly) surmise that "Love Actually is, by far, my favorite romantic comedy of all time" isn't quite the proclamation of towering praise it initially seems to be. Okay, fair enough.

Love Actually is in my top 10 favorite films of all time; I've watched it at least twice a year since it was released; it is my VERY favorite holiday film, and I've purchased 17 copies of the DVD over the years.

Better?

The movie is just plain good. Sappy in places? Sure. But there's enough variety here that just about any viewer is going to find something to like. There is a pretty absurd amount of star power here, and most of them deliver really solid performances. There is no shortage of laugh-out-loud scenes, and while the movie offers more than a few moments that will tug at your heartstrings, this film is (thank God) not a tear-jerker.

Love Actually is a true ensemble film. It doesn't really follow a single plot. Instead, it follows more than a dozen different people through individual storylines that turn out to be (loosely in most cases) intertwined. They range from the completely silly to the more-sad-than-funny, and all of them are played out against a Holiday Season backdrop in London.

I've watched this movie with lots of different people over the years, and I can't think of a more ringing endorsement than the number of copies of the DVD I've given as gifts to those same people (after their reaction to the first viewing).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2016
Cute little romantic comedy that shows all sides of going through relationships in order to find love. It is not something I would recommend for people who like fairytale endings, but rather, it is for people who have a realistic approach to dating with some tongue-and-cheek comedy sprinkled in. It also commands a mature audience, which means prudes won't be into it either. It probably is most inclusive of all types of relationships one can have; even though there is not a specific couple shown that reflects the LGBT community, the community can certainly relate to the types of emotions and complications depicted in this film.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
This movie has become a regular, holiday favorite (for the adults, of course)! Love Actually has everything one would want in a "Christmas movie": comedy, romance, drama, music... What's not to love? There are several, true-to-life moments in this film that'll make your heart smile, make you cry, make you laugh until you cry and some that will make you shake your head because the character reminds you of someone you know. Clearly, I love this film and cannot write an objective review, but I can tell you that, of all the people I've discussed this movie with, I've yet to meet someone who truly disliked it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2016
Have watched this movie several times through the years.
Always cheers me up. The acting all around is terrific - the well known stars and the rather unknown actors bring depth to their characters.
The story uplifting. The interaction between Liam Neeson and 'his son' who is in love touches the heart.Yes, there is a hint of 'mental infidelity' but there is a lot of love to go around.
First rate and recommend it to all in need of an uplifting, charming 'fairy tale' of a movie.
It's modern and old fashioned at the same time; perhaps will be timeless.
I'll probably watch it through the holidays this year.
Enjoy!

c
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
LOVE this movie.. originally saw it in the theater. There are a few corny plotlines, but overall the story lines intermingle and are touching. Great original music, romantic, excellent casting. It's at the top of my list every Christmas, heartwarming.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2016
This is my favorite holiday movie hands down. I adore British rom-coms and the many interwoven stories of love in all it's forms warm the heart. It is a delightfully colorful journey with unique twists and turns without feeling overbearing or unfinished. The characters are developed enough that you can relate to almost every one. Incredible cast.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse