Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
17
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 17 reviews
on June 13, 2014
The Magnetic Fields created a monster with their epic and masterful three-disc "69 Love Songs" and though they have had their moments since, the concept-strapped albums which followed- "i", "Distortion", Realism"- never quite captured that spark again. Stephin Merritt, the mastermind behind not only the Fields but Future Bible Heroes (my favorite of his incarnations), the 6ths and the Gothic Archies, as well as his varied solo works, is at his songwriting best when it is kept simple and fun. His turn of phrases and humor, both witty and dark, are second to none in the indie world. "Love at the Bottom of the Sea" isn't tied to any concept (which makes it sound more like a bouncy Future Bible Heroes release) and is the better for it. It recaptures the easy joy of the pre-69LS albums and sounds fresh and reborn. Stand-out cuts are "God Wants Us To Wait", The Horrible Party", "Andrew in Drag" and "Quick!", though every song has its razor-sharp hook and punch line. If you're a fan but have not been tickled by the Fields' output since "69 Love Songs", I promise you this is a solid return to form and fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
Smart and catchy in true Magnetic Fields fashion...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2012
Love At The Bottom Of The Sea is a fun, witty, well-written record like one would expect from The Magnetic Fields, I'd say it's well worth adding to your music collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2012
From the start this album was exactly what I hopes it would be. I have loved the magnetic fields for years and this album brought on the same feeling I got from when I first heard them. My only complaint is the last track "All she cares about is mariachi" doesn't seem to fit in with any of the other songs. It's not bad it's like you made steak and put ice cream topping on it. It's good it just doesn't go with the rest of the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2012
You'd think Merrit would be out of ideas for love songs after making an album with 69 of them, but he can still work his magic. Andrew in Drag seems to be everyone's favorite track on the album, and it's mine as well. It's a darkly funny tale of unrequited love and is one of Merrit's best. The rest of the album is pretty good but there is a good deal of filler. Overall it is a good album, get it while it's only 5 dollars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2012
Is this the best Magnetic Fields album ever? No. Is it the "Best MF album since..."? That's nearly impossible to judge since virtually every album in the group's catalogue is so wildly divergent from the one before it. That being said, the sound of "Love at the Bottom of the Sea" is very much in line with 1995's "Get Lost," which happens to be my favorite album from the Magnetic Fields. (I guess, then, that you can take this review with a grain of salt for that very reason.)

So, what's left to do? I guess we should judge the album as its own work and the songs on their own merits.

1.) "God Wants Us to Wait" is a very funny take-down of the current environment of sexual politics and religion. In the same vein as "We Are Having a Hootenanny" from "Realism," this track has a memorable, thumping backbeat that makes it a very strong opener for the album.

2.) "Andrew in Drag" is Mr. Merritt in prime lyrical form. The sound is vintage Magnetic Fields - in a very good way.

3.) "Your Girlfriend's Face" is, admittedly, my favorite track. A hilarious contemplation of hiring an assassin for an ex and his present girlfriend, the entire lyrical line is so focused in being unhinged that you need to listen again to make sure you did hear it right. You did.

I'm going to stop because I'm telling you what I think is good, which is rather against the point of my review. I find "Infatuation (With Your Gyration)," "Goin' Back to the Country," "My Husband's Pied-a-Terre," and "Quick!" are all very good tracks - better than the accusation of being nothing more than B-Sides, such as other reviewers have written.

Is this album made of five-star, solid-gold songs? No, but it's much better than people are making it out to be. There are, in my opinion, quite a few songs that will enter the standard MF repertoire. Give it a listen for yourself if you happen to be a Magnetic Fields fan - especially of their earlier work. You might just be surprised.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2012
I always love Stephin Merritt's lyrics, and as always many of these songs are very catchy (My husband's Pied a Terre, The Machine in your hand, and Infatuation). I have found that their albums are MUST HAVES, listening to them over and over.
Seeing them in concert is not always necessary. I think Stephin is a studio technician as much as he is anything else. You can tell this by listening to the albums. You will never get the exact qualities you get from the albums in person. It will be lost in translation especially when they resort to the 'unplugged' format they've been using recently.
Therefore, if you love the MFs, BUY THIS album, enjoy it and tell your friends. It's well worth the price
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2012
Skip it, this is ridiculous. Honestly the first MF album I've listened to that wasn't composed of 60% solid songs. There are some decent tracks but you're better off just downloading the choicer cuts of Amazon or something. D
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$28.68
$12.70
$13.99
$9.99

Need customer service? Click here