Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 48 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 72 reviews
on January 22, 2015
I found Antonia Fraser’s book insightful, well-written, and witty. Although by no means a comprehensive study, it does provide an excellent introduction to the women and loves of Louis XIV’s life. I admit, I smirked and laughed on more than one occasion as Fraser described the hypocrisy of court life, the biting and sarcastic insights of the Duchesse d’Orleans (Liselotte), and the antics and schemes of the Marquise de Montespan as she attempted to snare and keep Louis XIV. I also enjoyed reading about Adelaide of Savoy (there seems to be very little written about her in general) and Louis XIV’s devotion to her in his twilight years. Overall, the book adds to the history of Louis XIV and shows the importance of the women in his life.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2014
As a lover of history I very much enjoyed this well crafted book. So few realize this period of insanity existed during the magnificence of Louis XIV reign and how many among the nobility were involved. I learned a lot.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 7, 2007
Love and Louis XIV is a superbly researched book about the many loves of Louis XIV, perhaps the most interesting monarch to have ever lived, and certainly to have ever ruled la belle France.

WHO IS THIS BOOK FOR? Readers who would like to learn more about Louis XIV's love life and the psychology behind what made him so randy! This is the perfect book for readers who find themselves asking these questions: Did Louis XIV marry? Did he love his wife? If so, why did he have so many mistresses? Why did he sometimes appear so cold, so cruel to those nearest to him? What happened to the young Louis that made him unable to remain interested/faithful to one woman?

****Note, if you are looking for a comprehensive biography about the Sun King, one that covers his life, not just his love life, I would highly recommend LOUIS XIV by Olivier Bernier (an expert on French culture and history)****

Antonia Fraser is a supremely talented author, deftly weaving pertinent facts, interesting tidbits, and riveting story-telling. Her books are my beach-reads. Forget chick-lit, murder mysteries, or romance novels, there's more romance and intrigue in one of Antonia Fraser's books and what makes it more thrilling to read is that it all really happened!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2016
The history related this book is interesting. However the telling of the story took a while before I can actually become interested in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
Bit long winded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
This book has a compelling narrative style. It is geared towards the casual reader who enjoys stories about people. While it is non-fiction, it felt much more like a novel, as it dealt primarily with characterization. While the book does occasionally mention wars or economic issues, these are merely backdrops for the characters. I think the book succeeds at its mission, as a very readable biography. However, I would have preferred more of a meaty, academic style. I was left a bit with "yes, and", at the end, as there was no overarching point the author was making, but merely retelling lives. Therefore, I would highly recommend this book to people who enjoy biographies, particularly those who enjoy love stories (although this book covers far more than love stories). For those who want something with more breadth and depth, I would skip it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2016
Excellent, well researched book. Highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
Lady Fraser is a meticulous biographer who is able to take heavily researched material and make it both accessible and interesting. In Louis XIV-and his women-she's found a topic that could easily support one volume per lady, in some cases, two. Her interest in the topic makes reading what shes written that much more interesting. The detail is not only about the King and his women but of a time and place that only existed once, it was the height of Versailles which Louis had built to stay away from the mob in Paris. If you've ever wondered about the expression, "The Woman Behind The Man", this book will leave you with no doubts as to the exact meaning of that phrase. Lady Fraser presents book that will be an informal text for many, many years and is to be enjoyed as much as studied. These were randy times at court and the author was, apparently either under the bed or knew people who were. Few biographers have had such a rich selection of characters from which to chose but she has chosen wisely and with great intelligence and wit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2017
Extensive notes on many pages and on back blank page not mentioned in description
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
It was hard following all of the characters in this book. So many insights written in French and I don't know French.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse