Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Love Story

4.5 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, February 25, 2003

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

This is the debut of Matt Munisteri's New York-based vintage music band, Brock Mumford. A fine jazz guitarist, Munisteri has more or less rejected the jazz scene and cultivated an identity as a kind of old-timey singer/songwriter. His voice is polished and fairly conservative, his lyrics witty and unpredictable; his guitar playing reveals an impressive mastery of traditional styles, and he also doubles on banjo and mandolin. His instrumentation is doggedly offbeat - joining him are Will Holshouser on accordion/piano, Jon-Erik Kellso on trumpet, Jim Whitney on bass, and Quincy Davis on drums (from Tom Harrell's quintet). All are reliably crisp jazz players, but the emphasis here is on the art of the three- or four-minute song.


New York-based Matt Munisteri debuts his curiously named band, Brock Mumford, with Love Story. This quintet straddles several genres with honesty and conviction; jazz, swing, and cabaret are found embedded in the songs themselves, as well as in the playing and arrangements. Munisteri's warm and flexible voice, combined with his considerable guitar prowess, is sympathetically matched with the other members’ keyboards, bass, drums, and trumpet. The set's 14 songs are primarily Munisteri originals, and some were clearly written with his band in mind ("Sign Me Up," "Picciaridu"), while others could easily switch gears and head in one of several different directions. The set ends with a pair of covers. First is Dylan's "Don't Think Twice, It's All Right" which pays homage to Bob Dorough's jazz reading of this song recorded three decades ago. Closing the disc is the gorgeously evocative and subtly complex Van Dyke Parks jewel, "Orange Crate Art." Munisteri's guitar adaptation of this originally piano-based piece is perfectly rendered, with Will Holshouser's accordion stepping in for orchestral color and expanse. --David Greenberger

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Lonely Acres In The West
  2. Let's Do Something Bad
  3. Sign Me Up
  4. Johnny
  5. Cry Cry Cry
  6. Mysterieuse
  7. Lazy Bones
  8. The Signifying Rag
  9. Lucky Ole Tramp
  10. Picciaridu
  11. Sparkle
  12. Sidestep (Hideaway)
  13. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  14. Orange Crate Art

Product details

  • Audio CD (February 25, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Old Cow Music
  • ASIN: B000089CSU
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #20,846 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 5 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

January 25, 2010
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
December 11, 2012
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
July 15, 2004
Format: Audio CD
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
December 4, 2004
Format: Audio CD
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
November 12, 2003
Format: Audio CD
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse