Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Only $29.99 for a limited time Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

A Love Supreme [Vinyl]
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:$22.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on August 21, 2013
A very weak transfer. Best to keep looking out for the original orange and black Impulse lp, or, if you can afford it/find it, the 45 rpm reissue I believe was AS-77. This was thoroughly disappointing, Jones, Tyner and Garrison are reduced to sounding like a polite backing band on this transfer some unknown reason. This is one recording where the cd is still superior to the commonly available vinyl. Hopefully someone will get this right AND make it easily available to the public. Someday.
33 comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 28, 2016
The record sounds great and it's Coltrane, so the music is great. That said, I'm not thrilled with this pressing's attention to detail. The center hole in mine was drilled too small. I had to force it on the platter. And the entire LP is off-center by a couple of millimeters. Not enough to effect sound, but enough to have to watch your TT arm wiggle back and forth for the duration. For the price, I can't complain too much but it's a bummer seeing modern vinyl with these sloppy pressings.

UPDATE: After pulling this out for a second listen, I realized there there's a pit in the record. I thought it was just some paper sleeve stuck to the LP but it's actually a worn pit. As such, I have to say this is the worst quality "new" record I've yet to have purchased. Really disappointed in this. At least it was only 11 bucks, I guess.
33 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 4, 2016
Its amazing that a recording from 1964 can sound so good on vinyl. This vinyl is 180 gms and a good pressing with no ambient noise. If you are a Coltrane fan, this is a must have vinyl - great value for money!
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 17, 2017
my review of this incredible cd, is based on the sound quality. there is nothing i can add about the music that has not been said. I ordered the SACD recording and it is just decent sound. There is some muddiness in the sound particularly with the piano. Something I do not understand is why on this album, and My Favorite things, John Coltrane is not front and center. He is hard left on this album and that would be fine if he were a sideman, but as it is his masterpiece, you would think the engineers would have put him front and center. It is worse on MFT as there is no one in the center. two men are hard left and two are hard right, and there is this big hole in the middle of the sound stage. Miles is always front and center on his albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 22, 2017
This is about SACD-only remaster by Impulse, offered at Amazon for $12.99. Unlistenable. In the Psalm track - loud, bright sound of saxophone in the left channel, and everything else muffled. No bass whatsoever.Love Supreme
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 20, 2017
One of the most masterful and finely-honed LP's ever. Meditative, lively, and certainly distinct.
This song-cycle expresses much... it's a spiritual quest, jubilant, and a bit wistful.

Ongoing thanks to Sir Coltrane for this multi-layered work.
Also grateful to his esteemed band: Garrison, Jones, and Tyner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 2, 2016
Sounds crisp, clean, and perfect. John Coltrane's best album sounds AMAZING on this Vinyl record. John Coltrane sounds beautiful. Excellent sound quality and a joy to listen to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2017
It just doesn't get much better than this album. I can't get enough of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 7, 2015
The music is fine, but side 2 has many pops and clicks, even after a few cleanings. I returned it once and the second album has rhe same issue as the first. I would expect the 180 gram version to be silent. Don't think I will go for a third try.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 13, 2017
Warped vinyl record. The resulting sound is pretty awful. I just don't have the energy to get started with the return process as the product cost only around 10 bucks. Disappointed...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse