Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Vitasana
Condition: Used: Very Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Love Is The Sweetest Thing: 36 Original Recordings 1931-1946

4.5 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, November 29, 2011
"Please retry"
$75.99 $12.11

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Editorial Reviews

(2-CD set) Ray Noble was born in Brighton, England in 1903. He learned to play piano as a child and during his teens was given lessons in orchestration. Noble's skill for arranging impressed Jack Payne, bandleader for the BBC, who hired Noble as his arranger. Noble began recording on the HMV label as the director on the Mayfair Orchestra and was soon given label credit under his own name. From 1929 to 1934 Noble made over 500 records for HMV, also released in the U.S.A. on Victor. Noble wrote many hit songs, four of which are provided here. His classic Goodnight Sweetheart completes this album. In late 1934, Noble, his wife Gladys, his manager and Al Bowlly, Noble's long time vocalist, came to the States, and started arranging for Paramount Studios. In early 1935 he formed a new band with several respected jazz musicians such as Charlie Spivak, Glenn Miller, Will Bradley, Bud Freeman and Claude Thornhill. In 1935 the band had its first recording session cutting 7 songs including Soon. During 1935-36, Noble made many others including Top Hat.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Love Is the Sweetest Thing [From Say It with Music]
  2. Let's Face the Music and Dance [From Follow the Fleet]
  3. Dinner for One, Please, James
  4. Big Chief de Sota
  5. Soon [From Mississippi]
  6. Top Hat [From Top Hat]
  7. Why Dream? [From the Big Broadcast of 1936]
  8. Double Trouble [From the Big Broadcast of 1936]
  9. The Piccolino
  10. Yours Truly Is Truly Yours
  11. After All, You're All I'm After [From She Loves Me Not]
  12. I Wished on the Moon [From the Big Broadcast of 1936]
  13. One, Two, Button Your Shoe [From Pennies from Heaven]
  14. Where Am I? (Am I in Heaven?) [From Stars Over Broadway]
  15. Little Old Lady [From the Show Is on]
  16. Let's Swing It
  17. If You Love Me
  18. The Touch of Your Lips

Disc: 2

  1. The Very Thought of You
  2. Dinah
  3. Easy to Love [From Born To Dance]
  4. Little Dutch Mill
  5. There's Something in the Air [From Banjo on My Knee]
  6. Slumming on Park Avenue [From On the Avenue]
  7. Let Yourself Go [From Follow the Fleet]
  8. Now
  9. I've Got You Under My Skin [From Born To Dance]
  10. I Hadn't Anyone Till You
  11. St. Louis Blues
  12. I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm [From On the Avenue]
  13. You're So Desirable
  14. She Loves Me Not [From She Loves Me Not]
  15. I'll Never Smile Again
  16. Sleepy Time Gal
  17. Linda
  18. Goodnight, Sweetheart

Product details

  • Audio CD (November 29, 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Take Two
  • ASIN: B000BQR1IW
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #278,672 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Ray Noble Store

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on September 7, 2013
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2010
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse