Buying Options

Kindle Price: $11.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
I Love You Like a Tomato: A Novel by [Marie Giordano]

I Love You Like a Tomato: A Novel Kindle Edition

3.3 out of 5 stars 23 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$11.99

Nolyn: The Rise and Fall, Book 1
In the depths of an unforgiving jungle, a legend is about to be born. Listen now
Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now

Editorial Reviews

Review


“Sweet and sad, poignant and hilarious... A coming-of-age novel that stands full and alive and well worth the read.” –Bret Lott, New York Times bestselling author of Jewel

I Love You Like a Tomato is by turns sweet and sad, poignant and hilarious—in short, the perfect blend one looks for in a good book. Combine this fact with ChiChi's wonderfully true voice, and we end up with a coming-of-age novel that stands full and alive and well worth the read. Three cheers!”—Bret Lott, New York Times bestselling author of the Oprah Book Club pick Jewel

I Love You Like a Tomato is a brilliant book about the immigrant experience, but it is far more than that. Marie Giordano has a special gift for the first person voice, giving her narrator, ChiChi, a ravishingly eloquent sensual consciousness and the best sort of wit, based on fresh and true observation of how we all live our lives. As a result, we deeply and personally share this family's experiences. In short, I Love You Like a Tomato is both a delightful read and a true work of art.”--Robert Olen Butler; author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain

“An original voice, an incredible talent. Every word shines like a polished tomato. Giordano stirs her unique words and phrases without once letting a pot burn dry.... Her use of language is in the tradition of Annie Proulx, Arundhati Roy, and Toni Morrison. I loved this book!”—David C. Fickett, author of Nectar

“Marie Giordano has written a wondrous book heaped high with joy and sorrow, warm and spicy as a bowl of meatball zuppa. I’ve long since closed the book, but the characters have been walking around with me ever since.”—Greg Garrett, author of Free Bird

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author


Marie Giordano has authored more than thirty works of nonfiction, children's books, and poetry under the names Marie Chapian and Marie Jordan. Her most recent book of poetry, Slow Dance on Stilts, won the Award of Excellence from the San Diego Book Awards Association in 2001. I Love You Like a Tomato is her first novel. She currently lives in southern California, where she teaches creative writing and poetry at Mira Costa College.

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B00BIV1MC0
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Forge Books (April 19, 2004)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ April 19, 2004
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 548 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 477 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.3 out of 5 stars 23 ratings

Customer reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
3.3 out of 5
23 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on April 10, 2005
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on February 24, 2010
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 12, 2014
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on July 14, 2007
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on August 5, 2004
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 31, 2004
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse