Buy New
Free Shipping for Prime Members
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 business-day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99. (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25—or get FREE Two-Day Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by
The Loveliest Song: Selec... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Loveliest Song: Selected Gospel Songs

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, December 17, 2012
Note: This product is manufactured on demand when ordered from [Learn more]

Editorial Reviews

The Grandeur of God (4:07)
Little Black Train (4:14)
Out on the Rolling Sea (3:39)
The Young Man Without Sense (4:20)
What is the Soul of a Man? (3:03)
Where the Soul of Man Never Dies (3:54)
Praise God I’m Satisfied (2:59)
The Lost Soul (3:58)
Oh Death (4:32)
Samanthra (3:24)
Calvary (4:16)
Eternal Light (3:10)
The Loveliest Song (3:34)
Total running time, 49:12

This is a collection of 13 of my gospel songs. This collection includes three of my original adaptations of religious lyrics. “The Grandeur of God” is a 1918 poem by Gerard Manley Hopkins. “The Young Man Without Sense” is my musical rendering of Proverbs 7:7. And “The Loveliest Song” is my adaptation of the Song of Solomon.

Several of the songs are bluegrass gospel. “Little Black Train” originates with the Carter Family. “Where the Soul of Man Never Dies” is traditional bluegrass gospel. “Oh Death,” also known as “Conversation with Death,” is a traditional Appalachian dirge. I learned “The Lost Soul” from the early recordings of the Watson family. I learned “Calvary” from the playing and singing of Dock Boggs.

Two of the songs are blues gospel. “What is the Soul of a Man?” and “Praise God I’m Satisfied” derive from the work of blue artist Blind Willie Johnson.

I learned “Out on the Rolling Sea” from the work of Bahaman folksinger Joseph Spence. “Eternal Light” is one of my songs.

Dean Rathje: voices, guitars, dobro, banjo, mandolin, piano, bass.

When sold by, this product will be manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media.'s standard return policy will apply.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. The Grandeur of God
  2. Little Black Train
  3. Out on the Rolling Sea
  4. The Young Man Without Sense
  5. What Is the Soul of a Man?
  6. Where the Soul of Man Never Dies
  7. Praise God I'm Satisfied
  8. The Lost Soul
  9. Oh Death
  10. Samanthra
  11. Calvary
  12. Eternal Light
  13. The Loveliest Song

Product details

  • Audio CD (December 17, 2012)
  • Original Release Date: November 28, 2012
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: New Leaf Music
  • Run Time: 49 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Loveliest Song: Selected Gospel Songs
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Loveliest Song: Selected Gospel Songs