Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 47 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 82 reviews
on April 20, 2017
A very good read. I enjoyed reading Loving Lies by Lora Leigh. An erotic romance story filled with Love, lies and longing. Slade and Jessie have been in love for the longest time, when they are finally able to be together things fall apart.
I loved the way the Author portrayed the characters and her erotic scenes in this book. They were scorching hot and tastefully written.
Slade, Jazz, and Zack are like brothers and would do anything for each other including protecting Jessie. This is the first book of The Boys of Summer Series and I'm looking forward to continuing with book 2.

I give Loving Lies 4 stars for its steamy read.
I would recommend this book to Adults.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon August 30, 2015
FINAL DECISION: This book was a disappointment because of the unrealistic reason for the hero deserting the heroine and then his continuing to keep secrets after his return. On the plus side, the story is hot, the characters are well drawn and at times there is deep compelling emotion.

THE STORY: Jessie Benton has loved Slade Colter forever. He had been putting her off until she grows up. Finally, when Jessie is twenty-one, they have a weekend exploring and satisfying their sexual fantasies. AT the end of the weekend, however, Slade walks away and marries another woman. Five years later, Slate returns intending to reclaim Jessie.

OPINION: I was disappointed in this book. I really liked the characters and the story was at times very sad and paintful in its powerful emotions. The best part of the book was the heartbreaking scenes when Slade and Jessie had to be parted. If the entire book had been that powerful, this would have been a great book.

Unfortunately, the story turns on a stupid plot device. The reason that Slade left Jessie is never strong enough to justify the pain he put her through. Then he returns and instead of groveling and explaining himself, he is arrogant and continues to keep secrets. Jessie should have slapped the guy and found someone else. Most of the time I can suspend disbelief even with outrageous storylines, but this one just didn't feel well done to me.

The story is also really hot and the focus is definitely on the sexual relationship with the exception of the parting and the end of the book where I really felt that these characters loved one another.

WORTH MENTIONING: The ending of the book hints at the romance in the second book.

CONNECTED BOOKS: LOVING LIES is the first book in The Men of Summer series.

STAR RATING: I give this book 2.75 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2010
It amazes me when an author takes a character that has been 100% in the wrong and manipulates the situation to have the other characters in the story as the wrong doers. I have always seen this as an authors' inability to resolve the conflict successfully and therefore they must manipulate the story and turn 180 degrees to finish it. Quite frankly, I don't know if that was the case with this story or if this author just has a misogynistic streak to her. I was absolutely baffled when the h of the story shows up to the H house to apologize to him after he has 1) dumped her after spending a weekend having sex with her 2) married his ex-girlfriend a few weeks later 3) comes back to her life without an apology (the entire book mind you) with the first words he says to her "your mine" 4) has a child with the wife and does not tell the h. I'm sorry why did she apologize? Oh, that's right because she slept with his friend. I wish the girl would have slept with the entire town just to forget the guy! Ok then, so let's just ignore all that humiliation, but when he is trying to "win her over" he still treats her awful, acting as though there was no question that he owned her.

I should have known that I was not going to like this book because the h was undeveloped and weak. A weak h is the kiss of death to any book for me and they really do not get any weaker than this lady. Too many examples come to mind to list them all here but suffice to say that the author wrote it best when she describes her as a "fool, a willing pathetic victim." I could not agree more.

After reading this book, I discovered that I liked the authors' premises yet have a really hard time with her characters. Her H are not the warm fuzzy alphas that take charge yet love their women passionately, they are psycho jerks. Especially this H, not only did I not like him, I found him to be repulsive. This is my second book from this author and found the same dislike of the H (although not as severe) in her other story, I'll probably pass on another one of her books.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
I was disappointed in this book. Jess was an idiot who pulled her brains out her head and let what was between her legs do her thinking. Slade i thought was an a hole to treat Jess like he did.She was a peace of a$$ to him that was all. I did not feel the love between these two. Slade making damn sure he did not get Jess pregnant the women he was suppose to be in love with but he can have a baby with money hungry b word like Amy. Jazz was an a hole as well keeping Jess from moving on she should of just left town and found someone who acttully wanted her. Not as a play toy for Slade and Jazz.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
If I could give it no stars I would!! The hero was the biggest, most self-centered, degrading, abusive male I have ever read about. I like Alpha males in my books, but this guy, Slade, was just downright abusive; physicaly, mentally and emotionally. The heroine, Jessie, made me want throw my kindle across the room in frustration. More than once I thought that she needed to grow a spine and get a gun. What woman in her right mind allows a man to treat her the way she allows him to. The sex has dubious concent most of the time. The interactions just made me mad and I cannot believe the whole "5 years gone on a stake out" bit. TO top it off, he "allowed" his friends to "take care" of her while he was gone. Meaning that it ended up being ok that they have sex with her as long as she loves him. I really wanted to puke! In the end all I can say about this book is that it is more a bad plot for BDSM porn than an erotic book. Buyer beware!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
With the start of this book being so all-fired steamy I was happily surprised to find there actually IS a story to it! I should have known - Lora Leigh has always been a writer who could reel me in but deliver sexual scenes as well. But really, there's a story behind all the sex that shows how two people dedicated to love one another through time can do it. Believable? Who cares? (Although five years is a terribly long time!) However, these people use language that curls the ears, threaten loved ones with "beating", "killing", etc., which I find hard to match with good feelings. But that's me .........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
Great first book for this series! Gotta love Slade. Wow is all I can say. I laughed, I cried and everything in between with this book. I almost didn't read it as the reviews were horrible, but I absolutely LOVED it! Can't read her books fast enough. If you like this, you should read Marly's Choice!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
So far I have yet to read a book by Lora Leigh that I didn't love or one that didn't leave me panting. Now if only one of her Hero' s really did desist, sighing !! This is a short review because I'm itching to get on w/the next Boys of Summer book, just read this book you will be glad you did, I promise!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
I love Lora Leigh. I don't love continuously sobbing heroines who remain one dimensional until the last chapters. Coupled by one sorry "hero" whose character range Is limited to several oft repeated non-sequiturs and sex. Add a tenuous National Security sub plot for "continuity" and you've got a fat mess !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse