Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Casual Friday Style nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One GNO for Samsung S9 Only: $44.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon marchmadness marchmadness marchmadness  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment. Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now TG18PP_gno

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
Lucifer Rising : A Book of Sin, Devil Worship and Rock 'n' Roll
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$32.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on June 23, 2014
Gavin Baddeley is a Reverend in the Church of Satan, so he obviously knows what he's writing about and has
done research on the subjects written in the book. I found the book to be very informative, it kept my interest until
I finished reading the book. Most people view Satanists as "Devil" worshippers, that is far from the truth. They don't
worship the Devil, Satan, or God. Satanists view themselves as "God". Satanism is a "selfish" philosophy, it centers
around an individual, yourself. If you want to be the best dog breeder in your neighborhood, do so.
I'll get back to the book. Gavin has done a hell of a job with this book, very well done. But I've found a few errors
that I'll point out to you. On page 126, he lists 3 albums by the Black Metal band Bathory. Raise the Dead, The Return,
and Under The Sign of the Black Mark. Bathory's first album was simply titled "Bathory", not Raise The Dead!
On page 204, there's a picture of an early lineup of Mayhem, the definitive lineup if you will. The members in the
picture are from left to right, Necrobutcher, HellHammer, Dead, and Euronymous. Despite these few errors, the
book is very entertaining and will keep your interest. I suggest reading the Satanic Bible and The Satanic Scriptures
to get a better understanding of Satanism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2013
I purchased this book when I was in middle school and it was one of my favorite books then. Scandalous. I had a few other books by the author and remember really enjoying them; my dad actually purchased a copy of "Goth Chic" to better "understand" me when I was going through that particular phase in my adolescence, so I suppose Baddeley's books appeal to young old and in between. The book is a decent look through occult history and a fun read. You could really finish it in a day because its incredibly accessible writing and there are pictures. Lots of pictures. Who doesn't appreciate a picture book?

I enjoyed this book growing up not because it illuminated much in terms of the occult for me, but because it introduced me to movies and music that I still enjoy today. I went out and got my first Psychic TV album after reading this book. I could see this book as a Dummy's Guide for aspiring occultists, but its more appropriate as a fun factually sound read through pop and counter culture. The layout of each page is nicely organized, with lots of pictures, witty little quips, it is well edited, and overall an enjoyable read. My 12 year-old self enjoyed the hell out of it, and I own it ten years later because it is still just as entertaining.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 20, 2014
wasnt what i thought it would be but i really didnt really dislike it. More of an interview of a rockstar's opinion about worshipping Lucifer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 29, 2001
Not what I expected... Satan seems like a bit of a joke after reading this. If you want to read something evil, go for Lords of Chaos, about the black metal scene in Norway. Now that's a great book about satanism and rock music! It relates a lot of the same information as this book, it just does a better job. Not that this was horrible, it was just kind of mediocre. Buy it and leave it out when your parents are coming to visit! heheheh
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2009
The title is somewhat deceptive because while the "Satanic" influence in music is the bulk of this book, its more like Satanism in pop culture and the author trying to set the record straight on what he considers Satanism to be, which is Laveyism. I hate calling what Laveyites refer to as Satanism because really they are Atheists that don't believe in Satan. The author being a Laveyite overall makes this book better I think, but on some levels hurts it because while he really goes out of his way to discredit and attack Laveys many detractors he doesn't criticize Lavey himself, which its pretty easy to pick holes in Lavey if you really wanted to. In all fairness although Lavey was a poser and a con artist he did write some stuff that is dead on about human nature and Christianity. He also had a sense of humor. Much of what he did was done with a wink and smirk that the sheeple were never quite able to pick up on and in spite of his public persona I don't think Lavey took himself that seriously. Some of this stuff brought back memories of how it was in the 80's with the Satanic hysteria. I remember that Geraldo special being a real hoot. Lavey must have thought that was hilarious. There are also lots of interviews with many "Satanists" and bands that have been deemed "Satanic", some of them were really unintentionally hilarious too. I think the funniest was there was a guy from a black metal band who when asked what he hates he said the Red Cross because they help people. He also said he would like to chop peoples dicks off because it would cause misery for them and if his girlfriend died he wouldn't be sad, he would have sex with the corpse. Ha ha! Overall i thought this was a fun book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 11, 2006
A book that documents the so-called Satanic Culture of the previous century from the middle ages to the present trendy days of the "modern" era, LUCIFER RISING is a title that is hauled from a movie written and directed by famed warlock and Alister Crowley follower Kenneth Anger, who've the reputation as the one commisioned for hollywood's official consultant regarding the occult, and is said to be the very real founder of the group known as the Church of Satan, and that its said founder Anton LaVae is nothing more but a hired hand for Anger to use as his front act spokesperson for the said group.

Written by a journalist who is subscribed to the said organization's ideals, and mainly to its founder Anton LaVae, its author Gavin Baddeley is obviously inclined sympathetically sided under that context, which leaves a half baked picture obviously in the process regarding the subject. But in spite of that, Baddeley have been fair enough to show the results and breakaways that took place upon the group which is propped by LaVae, mainly after the said founder's demise, allegedly on the eve of Halloween 1997- when according to medical records, LaVae passed away not until the second of November, absolutely way past Halloween as reflected from the accounts found in this book regarding greedy rivalries with LaVae's widowed Nth wife and child, along with Lavae's two other daughters, regarding the rights for the said organization he had founded, with accounts ranging from its (nearly whitewashed) history and people/celebrities who have been said to've been involved with the group, from Sammy Davis to Marilyn Manson.

The book also dwelt for quite some deal in its pages about the satanic culture's connection and involvement with Rock music - in particular to the Death/Black Metal genre - in which case, it seems to be that Didrik Soderlind's book LORD'S OF CHAOS: The Bloody Rise Of Satanic Heavy Metal comes as a better equivalent regarding the subject matter (who's author is also featured in this book as well by the way), while this one apparently goes very much confined only with Baddeley's perspective and personal knowledge on its whole.

Howevcr, this work by Baddeley comes as very comprehendsive enough within certain aspects in its account, such as the ones for the satanic sects that came out from the last quarter of the previous century (ie. The Temple of Seth/UK, The Worldwide Satanic Church Liberation (Paul Valentine), Order of Satanic Templars (Raymond Bogart), Kerk Van Satan's Walburga Abbey, The Electric Hell fire Club, The Temple ov Psychic Youth (Genesis P. Orridge), Order of the Left Hand Path, The Luciferian Lightgroup, The Process Church (Robert de Grimstone), the graphic artist Coop, and the group founded by LaVae's daughter Zeena with her husband Nicolas Shreck along with Boyd Rice - The Werewolf Order), and the tragic Charles Manson killings that occured in the late 60's amongst few others.

Filled with some number of black and white pictures all throughout its 18 chapters, LUCIFER RISING may not be that too completely comprehensive regarding the subject matter of cult groups and the culture it purveys within the field of the entertainment industry on music, movie, and literature along with the social influences that it could generate -- but however, it is a fine reader to pass away the time somehow.


only for peeps who're disillusioned themselves maybe, due to some childhood heartache that took place in their childhood years that they got carried on with to their adult life - like due to some divorce of parents, perhaps...
i oughtta hail Yoda, rather.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 28, 2001
I have never been particularly fearful of Satanism, as much of it has always seemed to be a bit on the silly side. Most of the people I have seen in the media who call themselves Satanists (I have never met a real-life Satanist) almost unanimously appear to be either extremely bitter ex-Christians or maladjusted geeks who never outgrew Dungeons and Dragons. However, since there are a lot of people who do fear Satanism and see Satanic world conspiracies everywhere they go, it is a subject most people refuse to view objectively. As a result, most books on the topic invariably tend to be hysterically self-righteous Bible-thumping tomes and/or sensationalistic Geraldo Rivera-esque "exposes" that fail to place Satanism in any kind of social/ historical context. Gavin Baddeley's "Lucifer Rising: Sin, Devil Worship & Rock 'n' Roll" is one of the first books (along with Michael Moynihan and Didrik Soderlind's excellent history of "black metal" music "Lords of Chaos," published in 1998) that offers a serious cultural analysis of Satanism.
While it should be noted that Baddeley is a Satanist and is obviously partial to the lifestyle, he maintains a refreshingly objective tone in "Rising." He does not shy away from depicting the hilariously stupid and less savory, truly dangerous people/elements within the movement, while also showing the complexity of a religion with a history that is as rich and diverse (and screwed-up) as any other established faith. As Baddeley explains in the introduction to "Rising," "Satanism is a 'warts and all' approach to existence, a determination to explore extremes of both light and dark."
"Rising" is a detailed, often humorous social history of Satanism, with a broad overview of films and (primarily) music with a Satanic bent. The book features multiple interviews with leading figures in the Satanic world, from late Church of Satan founder Anton LaVey to Misfits/Danzig lead singer Glenn Danzig to musician/author/cultural provocateur Boyd Rice. Baddeley oftentimes jumps from brief interview to essay to brief interview within the scope of a few pages and his scattershot approach is sometimes wearying, but never boring. While many of the Satanists interviewed for "Rising" come across as stupid and as weak-minded as any Jimmy Swaggart-follower, there are many (especially LaVey) who come across as thoughtful and intelligent.
"Rising" did not convert me to the "dark side," but I did find it immensely entertaining and eye-opening. If you are at all interested in pop culture, subcultural studies and/or religious studies, Rising is a must-read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 17, 2012
Baddeley has provided insider information. Satanic worship means different things to different people. He provides personal interviews with a variety of Satanic groups. The range runs from advocating human sacrifice to denying the existence of a real Satan or God. Anton LaVey the founder of the Church of Satan is far from defining satanism.
Baddeley has sided with the notion that ritual abuse is a "Satanic Panic" witch hunt, perpetrated by Christian fanatics against Satan Worshipers. He assures us that the first ritual abuse memoir, "Michelle Remembers", has been soundly debunked and presents "facts" that, anyone who has read "Michelle Remembers" would know to be lies. If "Michelle Rememebers" is so easily debunked, then why the lies? Baddeley has trusted the debunkers without reading "Michelle Remembers" but his inside information regarding satan worship is extrodinarily valuable.
LaVey has offered information indicating that the truly dangerous cults are generational cults. This is precisely what ritual abuse survivors have indicated. Satanists have been helpful in validating ritual abuse. I am grateful to Baddeley for the information he provides, but I recomend he balance his research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2007
I've been reading Baddeley's reviews for /Terrorizer/ for years now and was excited to read his book. First put off by the fact that he claims he's an occult "specialist" simply because he is a member of the CoS put me off.

I've actually read the book twice in case I missed anything "important" the first time around which I didn't. This book took 8 years to write but I'm not sure I understand why it took so long to write. He's compiled a lot of information on people behind the scene he's writing about which is a nice touch but it doesn't do much for what the book purports itself to be. I liked the inclusion of many interviews and asides from Anton LaVey but having so many asides in the book seemed like a great way to fill pages instead of writing cogent material.

About three chapters in, I got the feeling that Gavin wrote the book to say nothing more than "I hate Christians, they're all stupid sheep" since that's the heavy overtone for the entire book. This is implied overtly and quite plainly in text and extremely implied by the writer's continual defaming tone over the course of the book.

I think Baddeley was more interested in putting names into the book people would recognize than writing source material that's insightful and gives meaning to the modern Satanist movement. Compared to /Lords of Chaos/, this book seems more like a "who's who" that attriute themselves in various ways to Satanism and Baddeley even goes so far as to include derogatory remarks about the previously mentioned book in his, seems like a low blow for a well respected journalist to take.

Having read this book, I ceased to read anything Baddeley has written since because I realize that he half researches many things, loves heresay, and thinks far more of himself than is true.

If you want to know how modern Satanism, read something such as /Hell's Dominion/ and other books written by people in theological circles.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 14, 2001
(I first reviewed this book in late 2001. The following is an updated and remixed version of my review. --WS, September 4, 2008)

Observers of the outer edges of religious and philosophical exploration over the last century may differ in their conclusions or assessments of what they see. But they must surely agree on one thing: the growing and profound dissatisfaction in the Western world with what the purveyors of mainstream religion have to offer. More and more, people simply aren't buying what the preachers are selling anymore.

This dissatisfaction leaves people open and curious as to what their other options might be. For some, "safe" alternatives like Buddhism or Wicca are enough to suffice. For others, mere wandering is not enough, and dissatisfaction becomes full-on rebellion. These are the seeds of the Satanic tradition, and _Lucifer Rising_ by Gavin Baddeley dares to examine the black flowers that bloom from them.

_Lucifer Rising_ is a book about the actual, as opposed to imaginary, Satanic tradition: its history, philosophy, and counter-cultural manifestations from the past to the present. It begins with a brief history of the shadow side of Western culture from its early beginnings to the present day, with particular interest in the Twentieth Century. The forbidden religious movements and magical orders of the early Twentieth Century - and the personalities that drove them - are covered. Satanism's impact on literature, music, cinema, and popular culture in general are examined. The Devil's long association with rock music and heavy metal in particular is given special attention. And significantly, the sensationalist Satanic Panic of the late 1980s and early 1990s - and the "Satanic Ritual Abuse" hoax of that period - are recalled and debunked.

The book aesthetically does not disappoint. From cover to cover you will find illustrations, woodcuts, photographs, and rare artwork that perfectly compliment the text. This is not to say everything you will see here is pretty or pleasant. But, as the text states clearly, that is not the point.

Throughout the book there are interviews with numerous Satanists, occultists, musicians and counter-culture figures in some way or other associated - some more so than others - with what is commonly considered contemporary Satanism. Collectively, these varying and often opposing voices give a sense of the various sub-currents flowing within this culture of spiritual dissent.

Unlike alarmist They're-Out-For-Your-Kids religious books, or dry academic examinations of medieval folklore, _Lucifer Rising_ is written unapologetically from a Satanic perspective, and Gavin Baddeley is quite unambiguous about this from the very beginning. His bias also leans in favor of Anton LaVey, the founder of the Church of Satan in 1966 (and a whole separate topic of controversy in himself). In this updated review I considered downgrading my rating to four stars for this reason.

Then I thought, "Nah." In today's culture, where the average person's idea of Satanism is still based on third-rate horror movies and tabloid-grade propaganda, the record still needs to be set straight in certain quarters. _Lucifer Rising_ accomplishes this in a way the mainstream media would consider unthinkable. However, it is anything but a proselytization tract or "conversion" attempt; from the author's introduction: " just doesn't work that way."

The ongoing value of this book is that it is filled with information that to this day simply cannot be found elsewhere, at least not all in one place. It may also be a good gift for someone who still believes the decline of Western monotheism began in the 1960s. I consider this book the definitive reference to the contemporary Satanic landscape, at least from a popular culture perspective. For a more "serious" academic examination of the ongoing philosophical refinements within the stream of spiritual dissent, I recommend this book in combination with _Lords of the Left-Hand Path_ by Stephen E. Flowers, Ph.D.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse