Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Lucy Pearl
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$11.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 14, 2001
Well what can I say, if you put a woman with a wonderful voice and two guys who were at their best in the group Tony Toni Tone, you get a great combination. I find this group wonderful with great soul and hiphop in it, but was pretty suprised when I heared Hollywood. I was very disapointed in that song and a few others but besides that this album is the bomb !!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2000
I must admit that I bought this CD only to listen to #15 because I am a student at AAMU. However, when I decided to listen to the whole cd, I thouroghly enjoyed it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
Great disk - great band - great price, Nuff said!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2016
I played a few selective tracks from this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2015
How I wish they lasted longer. Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2000
I think the album is off the hook!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2000
First, Dawn Robinson formerly of En Vogue should go back to her former music heritage....and listen to "Masterpiece Theatre" and see what she has missed.
Lucy Pearl has promise, but this CD just fails to deliver...there are some nice touches like "Dance Tonight" and "Lala", but the album just fades into slow beats that repeat in each song....the album gets very repetitive after the 3rd song, before you know it the album is over and you think you have listened to the same song throughout the album.
The vocals are wonderful and the production is great, but Lucy Pearl needs to step it up a little and make the songs sound more diverse.
A fair effort at best, I only recommend it for diehard Dawn Robinson fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2016
Soulful sounds for the nastalgic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2015
Great album...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2006
While the power trio format's been pervasive in rock for a long time (think the Jimi Hendrix Experience or Cream), Lucy Pearl is probably the closest thing to an R&B version. All three members bring impressive pedigrees to the project: Raphael Saadiq pioneered funky pop-soul as part of Tony Toni Toné, Dawn Robinson brought back the all-girl group as one of the New Jack divas of En Vogue and Ali Shaheed Muhammed helped revolutionize hip-hop with the jazz-rap sound of A Tribe Called Quest. After such groundbreaking work, you'd think the three together would somehow not live up to expectations.

To their credit, while the trio's sound oftentimes recalls their old outfits (Robinson and Saddiq particularly), they're not resting on their laurels. Lucy Pearl builds upon their previous musical forays. "Ask of You" has Tony Toni Toni's unmistakable stamp on it overlayed, however, with slinky, sinewy, sexy harmonies. "Don't Mess With My Man" could've been an En Vogue hit with Robinson's powerful vocals, but it's got a funkier, Chic-esque danceable groove. There's not much ATCQ here, but the funky-pop "You" (which features guest vocals by Q-Tip and Snoop Dog) very nicely bridges the gap between R&B and hip-hop, though there's not much hip-hop on the album at all. Rather, it's more of a catchy old-school jam, and the single "Dance Tonight," with it's mellow, classic 1970s soul groove, is a perfect example.

There's quite a bit of that `70s sound on the album, recalling Sly and the Family Stone, Chic, and even a nod to Rick James ("LaLa") and Prince ("Good Love"). But where Lucy Pearl falls flat is in its too blatant imitations such as "Remember the Times," which comes across as an Everlast carbon-copy. And whereas most of the tracks are successful when they keep to the soul-funk grooves, their experiment with rock-funk in "Hollywood" completely fails. Also, it would've been nice to see a bit more on the production side from Muhammed (this album comes across as all-Saddiq) and more of ATCQ's jazzy-rap flavor.

If you're looking for groundbreaking, genre-defying sounds, you won't find that here -- Lucy Pearl isn't pushing any creative envelopes. But they skillfully work with what they've got, blending pre-existing genres to produce stylish music that fuses funk and urban soul with a splash of hip-hop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here