Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on May 9, 2016
I bought this specifically for a photo shoot at a university function where I would be roaming around hallways, classrooms and an auditorium so I had varied and mixed lighting conditions, some florescents, some with natural light from windows, some darker hallways, mercury vapor, etc., and this 80-20 gave me very consistent results. Compact, versatile and easy to use at an excellent price. The UltraStrap was actually included which was an unexpected but happy surprise so you're not forced to use the adhesive Velcro on your Speed-lite which I would never do. VERY happy with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2009
The 80-20 setup alone is great. It does a fine job of allowing a lot of bounce flash from the ceiling and a small amount of light shot forward that nicely wraps around subjects and lightens the shadows. The surface area is reasonably large.

This does not waste the light going upward which will be diffused from the ceiling - unlike the STOFEN plastic cap which is supposed to be pointed straight up in the typical usage. The STOFEN does a good job, but the 80-20 here does it even better, IMO. The main tradeoff is that this will look a little dorky compared with the STOFEN cap. You see STOFENs on press photograhers' cameras because, I think, it is unobtrusive and simple whereas this is a bit more elaborate and would be more annoying if all photographers used it at a press conference.

So this does a better job than the STOFEN but looks dorkier. How knows? - it might scare small kids. (And no where near as dorky as the Fong Dong.)

The other pieces of the "system" are handy - can set it so that the light does not shoot upwards (high ceilings or not white) and can be further diffused with a soft plastic cover on the front. Because of the wider surface area in that case, should do a better job. Also has plain white, sparkly silver and sparkly gold to push all the reflected light forward.

I did an acid test with this: took the 80-20 mounted into a dark bathroom, stood right in front of the mirror, focused and the Canon 430EX figured the exposure using infrared, and took a shot pointing at the mirror directly. Know what? It did a great job. The bathroom is nicely lit up with no hotspots, and I am not washed out at all in the photo. The reflector of the 80-20 is showing bright white of the flash but is not glaring.

Oh, and when you point it at someone's face who is close, they don't get washed out at all and the background is nicely lit and no red eye.

Buy the cinch strap that Lumiquest offers so you don't have to attach those sticky-backed velcro fastener pads to your flash unit.

Note: when shooting portrait-mode, this system will not bounce off the ceiling unless you reattach the 80-20 piece in a way that isn't the best. The Fong Lightsphere and STOFEN diffusers don't have this problem.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
Nice combination product. I almost knocked off a star for weight, which is primarily the soft case. The deflector works well and while it's a bit fiddly to add the insert and diffuser, it clearly works, and works very well. The only downside to this product is that it only mounts on the long side of the speed light, so doesn't really work if you flip the camera to portrait mode. Note that this package includes the Lumiquest strap! No need to purchase a separate one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
Awesome! Exactly what I was looking for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2011
I will just say that I second the higher rated reviews with the exception of one thing about the system I received. The diffusion screen has the hook part of the velcro built onto tabs. The top tab of my diffussion screen simply will not connect. It is as thought the hooks are defective. Only one end of it comes close to locking in but it pops off. The other three tabs connect although you can tell they do not grab well. The small circular hook patches on the other inserts actually hold better than the entire hook surface on the large tabs of the diffussion screen.

I would have liked to have seen the diffussion screen be made of fabric rather than plastic with better velcro hook surface.

Other than that I love the system. I will keep it and probably try to make my own fabric diffusser.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2007
This works great. I use this and a Sto-Fen. Sto-Fen is better in some instances, especially if speed is needed or switching from plain flash and diffused flash is needed quickly.

But if you plan to keep a bounce / diffuser on through out shoot, then this does the job.

As far as the velcro tabs go on Flash, don't do it.

Get the Velcro strap for it, or

I think a Sto-Fen (do an amazon search for it) that you trim the top off and stick Velcro stickers to the Sto-Fen would work better than strap.

It would be more stable and less prone to slipping.

Also in those times that you need to prep everything and start shooting quickly. You could get the mod'd Sto-Fen on faster than the strap and get shooting in half the time. Yes we are talking seconds faster but that could mean the difference of a great shot or no shot.
22 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2009
I've been using this thing for about 3 months now, and it has really gone a long way toward making my photos look much better when using my flash. With using a straight bounce flash, the shadows can look a little off. When using a straight bounce card, there sometimes is no difference over pointing the head directly at the subject. This is a nifty little outfit because it comes with the diffuser, as well as the white, silver, and gold reflectors to focus more light forward if there is no ceiling to bounce off. I really like using the gold for portraits taken against a sunset, it really balances the skin tones and matches with the warmth of the sunset. Maybe a bit on the pricey side, but still a must have in my opinion.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2014
This really is one of the best speedlight modifiers out there. Easy to use, easy to fold up and pop into a pocket when not in use and provides great light!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2008
Good product reasonably priced. Takes a bit of getting used to for figuring out how to handle the flash exposure. I increased about 1/2 stop and does well on most subjects but distance is critical. If you are taking pic's on the fly, plan on bracketing or else fixing the exposure in your software later. I like this product and once I got the additional strap for fixing it on the flash it is easy to use.

I found that I had to adjust the angle a bit by experimenting with the position of the side flaps to get the optimum flash bounce. I would recommend taking quite a few pics in various light ranges to figure before you go into a serious shooting.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2013
This bouncer's included inserts make it extremely versatile. It does a great job of spreading and softening the light to help eliminate harsh shadows. It folds flat making it easy to pack into a small carrying case or bag. Be sure to buy the stretchy velcro UltraStrap LQ-126 to keep it firmly attached to your speedlight. Don't even bother using the included self-stick velcro tape, it will leave a sticky residue on your speedlight!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here