Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
53
Platform: Sony PSP|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:$77.99 - $129.99

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 53 reviews
on October 4, 2016
Got it because nostalgia. This was popular in my group of friends when I was in middle school, and I absolutely adored it. It played a good role in inspiring my art at the time. This remastered version is, frankly, better. I still have the PS1 game for comparison. The voice acting is better, Ghaleon doesn't speak through his nose and now sounds like a respectable character, the music is gorgeous, and the entire sprite cast and backgrounds were 100% remade. The battle animations are fun, and in general things just make more sense and are nicer to listen to and look at.

And as with any JRPG, the monster battles get kind of annoying and overly repetitive, and after a point are no longer worth the time. At least you get a couple mages that let you nuke your way through dungeons, and give you just enough MP so that you get close to running out right when you reach the next town. As long as you're not fleeing battles, you'll level up enough for the ending. I didn't feel like I had to revisit dungeons to grind a few levels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon November 30, 2014
The only real drag is the mind-numbing load times for dungeon transitions... for XP grinding, this really is kind of a major bleah. Everything else, however, stands up well - and if you aren't much of a "seek and destroy... again, and again, and..." kind of player, then the wait between going back and forth to the same dungeon scene to kill the baddies is rather a sideline issue.

All in all, however, a "must buy" if you are still holding onto your PSP 3000 for real J/RPG title play, like I am, and see a price drop. I have had this for a few years now, and as a twilight handheld console game, I say grab LUNAR when you see a good price (I think I bought my copy at the 10 dollar mark as well).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2012
I was pretty excited to find out about this new update to one of my favorite Role Playing Games. Though I never did get to play the game when it was first released on the Sega Saturn, I did get to experience to Playstation version which I adored. So, how does this game compare to that re-issue?

To start with, the most obvious difference between this one and the PSone version is the graphics. Due to the power of the PSP, this game is given a pretty overhaul and the game has never looked better. The environments and the characters are more vivid and detailed than before. Also, the effects of the magic and skills are are beautiful to witness.

To me, the single most important part of any Role Playing Game is the story followed by the characters. I've played role playing games that may not have had the most original story, but what they had was told well and the characters made an average story a better one. Lunar is one of those games. This version offers a bit more insight into the story of the four hero's and how their final battle which does add more context to the main story. The only gripe I have with the story is that the dialogue has been altered a bit. It seems they took some of the more risque comments out and some of the language has been removed as well. This may not bother some folks, but I don't like censorship and would have preferred them leaving well enough alone. This is one of the few games where it is enjoyable to talk to NPC's because after events happen, they usually have a comment about it.

Fortunately, the characters are just as great as ever (with the exception of Alex, who was always just a dull lead). Everyone is just as you will remember them and if this will be your first time, you are bound to find at least one person to like.

My single biggest complaint with this game is the remastered music. I want to believe they really tried to improve on the amazing music from the PSone version, but a vast portion of the tracks just sound flat or the off. I would have been perfectly happy if they had just imported the music from the PSone version. Another note about the sound is that the voices are different. A few are better than before (Nall's new voice in particular, and I do like Luna's more "sassy" voice) same are about the same and some I think are worse (Royce's voice is TERRIBLE. She sounds like she should be at a peep rally, not trying to take over the world). It would have been nice if they had arranged it so the characters spoke more often.

Overall, this is a solid re-re-issue of a classic game. While the music is not as good as it was before, the updated visuals, new story elements and great
dialogue (even if some of it has been toned down) and fun characters make Lunar Silver Star Harmony a journey worth taking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
Lunar: Silver Star Harmony is a well polished old school gaming experience. It is an Anime styled JRPG(Complete with turn based combat) and plays in a similar style to other classic old school JRPG games like Dragon Warrior/Quest, Final Fantasy, Breath of Fire and so fourth.

It's an epic story the has everything! Friendships forged in battle, twists and turns, and even betrayal! Not to mention comedy relief!

The game does have it's boring parts though, like all old school JRPG games, a good portion of the game is spent walking around in circles killing monsters that randomly jump you, so that you can get that next level, to see if you are now powerful enough to beat that monster that keeps wiping the floor with your face.

On top of all that, this is the better version of the game, and the most easiest to obtain. If you haven't had the chance to try out this game, then THIS is your chance! If you are a long time fan of the game, then you need to check it out to marvel at all the enhancements and improvements made to this beloved classic. Basically? You REALLY need to try this game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2014
Lunar is an RPG of the old day variety, meaning that it is one of those games you can hold into comparison with ones like chrono trigger and many of the early final fantasies. The dialogue is awesome, with many character lines being quite funny. The combat is something great, with options of manually entering commands, or choosing to have an AI take over the action. This game is a bit on the easy side, but this doesn't knock at the amount of fun you will have playing this. My only real complaint that holds this back from a 5 star review is the load times. At some points, I would go to the next screen and occasionally have to wait approximately 45 seconds for the transition. Apart from that, I would highly recommend this to anyone who has a love for a good classic jrpg
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2010
When I had first heard that Lunar: Silver Star Story was being remade again in the form of a PSP video game, I was so excited to finally be able to experience the story that I have heard and read from so many people of being one of the best RPG stories ever told in a video game. While I have not completed the game to date, I have put in over 10 hours and have enjoyed every minute of it thus far.

Lunar Silver Star Harmony is a great looking game on the PSP. The work that went into redoing all the sprites and animations is a marvel to look at even after 10 hours. Each of the characters is expressed very well through drawn portraits while text dialog will accompany the portrait. Shock, surprise, anger, doubt can all be clearly seen in the faces of the characters which allows the player to relate to the characters.

While not as detailed as the portraits, character sprites, animations, and world environments are well done by their own right. There is enough eye candy to look at as you go through the game, but much can be missed without a second thought. It's not a bad thing, mind you, but if you do have an eye for detail there are several things over the course of playing here and there that you can notice and enjoy.

Regarding actual gameplay, there really isn't all that much to tell. To be honest, this is a very basic game in terms of controls. You use the analog nub to move with the right shoulder button to sprint. X is also used to talk to other characters that can reveal important information regarding the plot or remind the player of where to go or what to do.

Battle is also straightforward thanks to a turn based system. Since it is an RPG, stats are important for all the characters as stats determine how effective they are in battle. For example, a high agility stat allows the character to make his/her move quicker than other characters. The player issues commands to all party members in the battle, and the battle will commence with each character's move. Here is where the quality of animation is really seen and makes battles a joy to not only play through but to watch. My only complaint is that battles seem too easy. It's almost where you could put the game on auto-pilot and it wouldn't make a difference.

The music in lunar is a great standout among other RPGs I have played. I have already found several tunes that have quickly become my favorites. While not all are hits, the tracks add their own character to locations and events in the game.

To quickly sum up everything, Lunar:SSH is a great PSP game to play and to own. It certainly lives up to the Lunar brand, and I would recommend it to any customer and at the current reduced price, I think it's a winner.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2011
I'll confess, my views may be a bit skewed as I still prefer the Sega CD version.

I was interested in this as it expands a bit on the story at the very beginning, and the idea of seeing Lunar redone graphically sounded great. What I did not expect was the source material to be completely hacked to bits. Everything is a dungeon, selected from a map screen. There is no overworld. (I haven't yet made it to the end, but I can't imagine how they handle certain story events without the overworld.) Enemies are visible on-screen, battles take longer, and Alex has magic/skills right from the start. A lot of spells and abilities have been changed as well. It's just a very odd direction for a game that was already so great. Towns and even dungeons are shrunk way, way down. But fitting, as Alex and company move quite slowly.

I'll still see it through to the end, and the story is still intact, I'm just not seeing the point of nearly all the changes.

Still, XSeed did an amazing job localizing it for us. Nice, full color inside case insert, full color manual, great translation. These guys rock at what they do.

Four stars because the game is still very worthwhile playing if you've never played it before. But I'll never understand why the developers butchered the source material so bad.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2010
If anyone has ever played Lunar before then this version is no different. The characters are the same, the gameplay is the same, and the story hasn't changed. So what makes this version a worth while game? Well the simple answer would be that it is Lunar.

For those new to the series, Lunar is a turn based rpg. Players control a total of five characters with their own strengths and weaknesses. Fighters for example have high defense and attack while mages have low defense and high magic. Battles takes place turn by turn and this is traditional rpg at its best.

The game takes place in the fictional world of Lunar governed by the benevolent goddess Althena. The adventure starts when young adolescent Alex decides to pursue the career of being a dragon master, a warrior who guards the goddess residing within the goddess tower.

What's great about this new remake is the over haul in the graphics, animation, and to an extent script. Players are able to play a new prologue explaining about the previous six heroes, new dialogue from npcs giving insight on the world, and a new script modified to modern times. The two songs within the game are given new lyrics, and though the most controversial part of the game, fits with the theme of the new remake. Character voices are also new with the exception of Luna. Oh and for fans out there, GHALEON's voice is much much improved. No more lipsy "Oh it's not bother" liner!

The one complaint with the game is its loading. The UMD version has a slight pause when players enter towns and houses. These pauses could get infuriating at times and distract from the overall flow of the game. Of course I am playing this game on an original PSP-1000, so the loading pause could be missing from past iterations of PSPs such as the 2000 and 3000 models with the extra memory allowing for faster loading times. What is for certain is if you decide to purchase the digital download version, the game is much better and load times is almost non existence.

This is a new version for the psp and it's a welcome improvement for both old and new audiences to the series.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
Well this is not exactly like the original release of Lunar Silver Star Story, but if you don't want to pay collector prices for the Sega CD or PSX version of Lunar SSS, then this version is acceptable. Unfortunately the humor and touch of Working Designs is missing, which makes this classic RPG seem a little more plain. It's a very linear RPG and may seem kind of outdated now, but when it came out it was really amazing, mainly for the storyline and the anime sequences. It's still worthy of play, and the PSP version is far better than the Nintendo GBA version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
I saw this game and read the reviews for it and thought it sounded like a game I'd like, and it really was. I couldn't stop playing it for days until I beat it. The graphics were really great and I wanted the story line to just keep going. They actually could have done even more with the game and made it longer because I did not want to put it down. My only annoyance with this game was the voice acting. The voices of the characters were really childish. I would have preferred the speaking to have been in subtitles because the voices were just a bit cheesy. The game was phenomenal though so in the end I really didn't mind that much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here