Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Macbeth with Ethan Hawke
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 9, 2013
This extremely well conceived series is not only rich in information, but extremely entertaining. Hosted by actors who have played the lead roles in the plays which they explore seem to be an a journey of discovery along with us. They take us to the new Globe Theatre in London as well as to some of the historical locations in the plays. Not only are the works and their sources uncovered, but Shakespeare the man and his times as well. Inspiring!
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2013
The concept and execution of this project is laudable. How fine it is to have Derek Jacobi, one of his generation's best actors, taking us through the political battles of Richard II. Jeremy Irons is equally adept at narrating the Henriad. But what were the producers thinking when they tapped Ethan Hawke to guide us through one of the Bard's greatest, darkest, most sublime plays is beyond me. He comes across as knowledgeable as that fine critic Opie Taylor - the only thing lacking is a "Gee Whillikers Pa". He asks a fellow expert what "Murther" could mean. When he is told the answer his eyes bug out "Really? Murder?" Was neither IanMcKellen or Patrick Stewart available? What about Rowan Atkinson? Another low point is when Jacobi stuffs his inane theory that Shakespeare did not author the plays down our throats. The Earl of Southampton did indeed write poetry under his own name and it is worse than mediocre - are we to believe he only wrote well when using Shakespeare as a front? Absurd. It has no business in this program, but one guesses Jacobi demanded to be able to make his wild speculations or he would not participate. I am second to none in my admiration for the man's acting prowess, but the cockamamie theory he advocates makes me wonder about his native intelligence. It is always wonderful to have Trevor Nunn as a guide through anything Shakespearean and he does a yeoman like job with "The Tempest". The program is good, but uneven.
2828 comments| 207 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2013
These examinations of Shakespeare's plays are utterly fascinating, well-researched and moving. They include analysis of the works themselves, the historic context in which they were written, as well as examples of theatrical interpretations of the works. It is touching to hear and see the admiration that these actors, directors, scholars and others have for these plays. This set adds more credence to our reverence for this greatest of playwrights.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2013
This series covers some of the most important works of Shakespeare and you could see the research that went into the production. The presenters are familiar with the works and they brought unique and interesting perspectives to these works. It is great to have someone who understand Shakespeare to talk about Shakespeare instead of just some scratches on the surface. Would recommend this to anyone who want to have a closer look to Shakespeare's work.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
I caught 4 of these episodes on PBS when they aired and I enjoyed them all immensely. This is such a fun and in depth look at a few of the Bard's plays, including some really great behind the scenes info about recent productions of them. It's such a blast to see glimpses of so many different versions of each play as the host interviews scholars, actors, and directors about the text, the plot, and the meaning behind it all. Definitely worth your time, even if you're a only hobbyist (like me!).
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
"Shakespeare Uncovered" should be utilized in high school and college English classes. It is that marvelous! Where else can you find out that Sir Derek Jacobi is one of the few actors to have actually taken a side in the authorship controversy (he favors Edward DeVere, seventeenth Earl of Oxford)? It was moving to hear Joely Richardson tell how playing Rosalind in "As You Like It" on BBC television made a bankable star out of her mother Vanessa Redgrave. To witness David Tenant and Jude Law compare experiences of playing Hamlet is glorious. I better utilize, according to Arthur Conan Doyle, the artist's supreme gift of knowing when to stop or I will go forever praising this series. I hope a season two is in the works!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
Absolutely wonderful program. My only wish is that they made more episodes and covered more of Shakespeare's plays. A must see for anyone even remotely interested in Shakespeare.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
I have only watched 3 out of the six so far & am throughly impressed.
Intelligent, articulate with wonderful presentation. Can't wait to watch the rest
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2015
Watching the various actors explain their take on the characters they played made me want to watch the actual plays. In fact, I watched the Tempest and Macbeth after listening to this video and I also plan to watch Hamlet. Each presenter speaks with various historians who help the viewer understand the historical context in which the play was written. Very informative. Especially to a newbie like me who managed to avoid Shakespeare in high school! If you plan to see one of the plays described in this video, watch this first. It will really help make the play come alive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
The hosts are charming, the locales are beautiful, and there was plenty for even an expert in the plays to enjoy, e.g., learning more about actors who have played various characters.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse