Oil month Automotive World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now SWMTVT18_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9


on March 1, 2009
"Made In Germany" (1975) by Amon Duul 2 is a glorious chapter in the history of "Krautrock". This rock opera ROCKS, with great melodies, guitars, keyboards and vocals. Sole female member Renate Knaup sings most of the best songs and is fantastic. Others are sung by Robby Heibl and Chris Karrer.

Karrer's "Mr. Kraut's Jinx" lifts from Lou Reed's "Berlin" period, revs up with Bowie's "Suffragette City" riff, and concludes in punk style with the shouted refrain "future ain't tomorrow, future is today" (shades of the Ramones' "today your love, tomorrow the world"). And that's just one song! All are sung in English with charming, clipped German accents. The lyrics are included in the glossy booklet, along with all the original artwork.

Some of the songs reference German historical figures and events, while others are about being a rock band. Most fascinating are the two songs about 19th century King Ludwig of Bavaria, who was obsessed with building elaborate castles (one of which became the proto-type for Disneyland's Magic Kingdom). His drowning the day after being hounded out of the monarchy by his enemies is still an unsolved mystery. Other songs mention Kaiser Wilhelm, "Metropolis", the "loosey girls" of the Weimar Republic, etc.

The extensive liner notes include a "plot" synopsis, but the so-called plot they put forward is really only evident on two of the tracks. The whole affair is more impressionistic and poetic than it is coherent.

This was a 20-track, 2-record set when issued on vinyl in Germany, but was whittled down to 12 tracks for the U.S. market (and the songs were in a different order). Please note that only ten of the tracks feature vocals - the other ten are rock instrumentals, brief musical interludes, a comical faux-interview with Hitler, and even a majestic overture. Only 2 of the 9 instrumental tracks (and no interview) made it onto the U.S. release, which also had a different cover - with Knaup posed as Dietrich in "The Blue Angel".

Re-issued in its complete form several years ago by Repertoire, it is newly available in this beautifully remastered package by the Revisited label. The restored tracks add a lot - it's all much more "grand". Amon Duul 2 would crash and burn after this, then resurrect themselves in less heralded groupings in the years that followed. Renate Knaup left to join Popol Vuh. But at least they left us with a masterpiece.

Of the many rock operas I've bought, this is one of the best and most interesting (and fun). Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 26, 2010
I was recently introduced to Amon Duul II by a couple of friends. I bought this album and--oh my God, it's incredible! I'll be buying more by this band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 13, 2017
duul rocks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 30, 2018
Their best album in my opinion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 6, 2014
Excellent mid-period Amon Duul II.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 13, 2010
I guess I'm not into rock operas. Kept thinking it might get off the ground but alas it never did...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon January 29, 2005
Nice 2004 reissue. Originally released in 1975, I've always thought this lp / CD to be a compilation effort. Turns out it's actually meant to be sort of a rock opera. 'Made In Germany' does have the band stepping in a somewhat different direction. Sort of like 'theatrical kraut', if you would. As for the tunes, I liked the rocking "Wir Wollen", the acidic guitar on "SM II Peng" and "Elevators Meet Whispering", "King's Chocolate Waltz", "Mr. Kraut Jinx",the trippin' "Three Eyed Overture" and the somewhat Dylan-like "Emigrant Song". Thought that a couple of the tracks here managed to capture the early classic AD II sound, vibe and spirit, like "Loosely Girls" with a good sax solo, "Top Of The Mud" and "Gala Gnome" (stunning guitar work). Renate Knaup's hot female vocals shine on "Metropolis"," Blue Grotto" and "Wide Angle". Two versions of 'Made In Germany' is out and in circulation. This disc, is of course the one with twenty songs with a duration of 69:51. The other I believe has twelve. Comes with a lavish 28-page booklet with song lyrics and some beautiful Amon Duul II artwork. Recommended.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2010
Very different indeed. Apparently this is Amon Duul's example of a rock opera, which is *definitely* not anything like the Who's/Pete Townshend's version of the same idea.

This is more like... highly energetic pop/rock tunes with frantic guitar soloing (among other musical instruments) making frequent appearances.

Not that this is a BAD thing or anything- it's a *great* thing, in fact. You just can't help but wonder if Amon Duul II knew their moment in the spotlight was running out by this point, which would certainly explain the sudden and drastic change in sound and style.

I can't believe this is the same band that created Yeti and Wolf City. It certainly doesn't SOUND like them. Made in Germany actually sounds like the glam rockers Sweet and Slade, and the guitar solos remind me of either Jefferson Airplane or Tommy Bolin (from Deep Purple and the James Gang).

"Wilhelm Wilhelm" has REALLY good Jefferson Airplane-like guitar soloing taking place over... a really weird (and possibly German) vocal melody, haha. It's different (and fascinating) let's put it that way. The entire first half of "La Krautoma" is basically a guitar riff repeating the same melody. After that, the song turns into a noisy and messy jam-fest. The first half is easily better!

"Loosey Girls" has saxophone playing that seriously reminds me of Supertramp's more commercial years, but contains a really good vocal melody as well. The near-brilliant guitar playing makes a splendid appearance, and floors me once again. THAT guitar style is exactly what made the 70's so darn good.

"Blue Grotto" is a Maria Muldaur impression, haha. Probably not, but it sure sounds like her. Decent enough.

The album turns goofy in a mid 70's Kinks kind of way (for example, something from the Kinks Soap Opera album) when a song like "Ludwig" comes into play.

A really good album, but to be totally honest it sure doesn't sound like a rock opera to me. Plus I wouldn't compare this album to other Amon Duul II albums or you might not like it then.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 14, 2000
Like it or not, Amon Düül II's 1975 German Rock Opera-esque album draws a resemblance to Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon (In my case, I like it). With interludes about every song or two sythesizers loop strange sounds simlilar to what Pink Floyd did in their 1973 release. Drawing on Germany's history, AD2 jam out some decent heavy guitar-riffs and surprising melodic & often harmonic vocal lines. Two songs in particular, 'Ludwig' and 'Blue Grotto' deal with the insane Bavarian King, Ludwig and how one of the band's singers, Renate Knaup, is fascinated by his going. If I might add here, madness is a the basic theme in PF's Dark Side of the Moon. Despite themes of insanity, war and decadence, this album is anything but depressing. On the contrary, the band, when dealing with the Fascist era of German history, takes a somewhat humorous approach to Adolf Hitler in a mock interview in which a radio disk jockey interviews the infamous dictator and pokes fun at him. Of the 19-or-so tunes on this album (both lyrical and instrumental), the two most memorable pieces would probably be 'La Krautoma', a 6+ minute, rocked-up, instrumental version of folk song, 'La Paloma', and 'Loosey Girls', a song about the decadent era of the 1930's which sounds like Barry Manilow meets Pink Floyd's 1971 album, Meddle. If you like the Pink Floyd of the early '70's, Made In Germany is certainly worth the while.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here