Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on November 5, 2007
At first glance, the book is amazing. It is very well written with all sorts of useful advice. It is useful for a beginner, but he never sounds as if he is talking down to anyone. It has plenty of more technical advice for the more advanced, but it never becomes overwhelming. And the photos are simply amazing.

But... I do have one problem with the book, and it is fairly glaring to me. As amazing as the photos are, the author makes little to no attempt to tie them into the text. There is no attempt to use the photos as a way to explain difficult or confusing topics. It is almost like the author wrote the entire book and then simply added a bunch of photos randomly throughout the text. Photographers by nature are visual learners. It would have been much more helpful if the author had use the photos to teach us and let the text add the details instead of relying so heavily on the text itself.

The end result is that many times the beautiful photos seem more of a distraction than helpful examples. This book is very good, but it easily could have been so much better.
22 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2010
Like many photography books, this book really is only somewhat informative, and somewhat helpful.

After a brief overview of gear, the author goes on to describe, (very briefly) exposure, lighting, color, composition, etc...Never really spending any significant amount of time on any one subject, and only providing a few photographic details for each topic covered.

For example, the author spends a page or two describing lighting (backlighting, sidelighting, etc), but fails to show any pictorial examples that would give the reader a visual example.

While this book has many, many great pictures none of the pictures are accompanied by a description of the camera settings. This is the information that would prove most useful to any aspiring photographer.

In the end, this book really did very little to further my photography skills.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2010
Our Conservation District office was hosting a Digital Nature Photography workshop for teachers to coincide with an outdoor classroom project. A local photographer was the speaker and I asked him about using this book as a resource for those who would be attending. He liked it and we bought one for each of the teachers who have given positive feedback about the book---great pictures and useful information. Would look to this author for future resources!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2012
This book was great in helping me go out and experiment with other settings and angles in taking landscape pictures

I gave 4 stars because a beginner will not understand some of the terms used in the book.

I would recommend this book to any photographer who needs to be inspired to try different things when taking landscape pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2015
Ron is a top photog instructional writer. He writes for the novice and semi-pro where all can improve their techniques
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2008
If you are looking for a helpful book on nature photography, keep looking. This book's focus is not on technique (or even nature photography) but mostly on gear and simplistic ABCs.

55% of the book is photos. None of the photos give detail of how it was shot or any twist on a technique used. This drops the page count from 207 pages to 93 functional pages. The first 61 pages offer nothing different than that of a camera's manual on shutter speed, white balance, etc. More wasted space is used on "gear" about tripods and cameras. Doing the math, we are now down to 66 pages. This process continues to where we have just a few pages that may offer some value.

Much of the remaining reduction comes in wasted space on "gear" which Sheppard rehashes multiple times. This book's only purpose would be to get someone not the slightest interested in photography to perhaps spark an interest. For any photographer at any level, the book offers nothing than what you find on camera manufacturer websites and manuals inside camera boxes. It is so basic that even beginners would be hard pressed to learn much. In the end, you are left wondering where the pages are about nature photography. Look elsewhere in Amazon for more suitable photography books.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2008
I enjoyed this book and got a lot of good information out of it. The writing style is good and the photos are very nice.

I would say this makes a nice digital compliment to Shaw's Field Guide and Focus on Nature books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
This was another book they had us buy for our photography class and it was also good but not my favorite of the ones we had to buy but a very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
excellent!!! fast shipping!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
this is a great book for nature photography, and shows many illustrations of how to compose and shoot nature and landscape photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here