Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on January 18, 2013
I already own and use 2 3D printers, but in this rapidly changing field, this guide is still a great help in choosing my next one. Also very informative relative to other aspects of 3D technology, e.g., printing services, 3D image capture (scanning, photograpic model reconstruction and 3D modeling software.

I would have liked to had a large, fold-out table summarizing the objective and subjective properties of all the printers evaluated.

If you are thinking of getting into 3D printing and related technologies, this is a must-read, but it will be obsolete in 12 months.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 5, 2013
Like many tech-minded folks, we have begun to drool and dream over the thought of printing solid objects. For me, the appeal is getting my hands on new hardware and figuring it out. For my spouse, it's about what type of objects can be printed, and how to translate real-world objects like a ballet-dancer statue or a photo of a perfect flower into a 3-D printer model. This guide answered both our needs with reviews of hardware in depth, lots of examples of model-making and descriptions of how this new field is growing.

What it is not: A step-by-step guide to making a 3-D object using a specific printer. But that's OK, because all we wanted at this point was help deciding whether 3-D printing was even something we wanted to try.

The guide is formatted like a magazine (and looks like one, somewhat), but is well-organized to provide the information you're seeking when you are contemplating which 3-D printer to buy, or looking for a printer that supports your desired material.

Did you know, by the way, that there is a 3-D printer for candy? I do, now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2013
Loved this Guide. Great introduction to 3D Printers. Unique in its field (maybe still, although it's been out a while).

But I'm discouraged with the idea of buying a 3D Printer. I've done a lot of research. Read a fair amount. Even went to New York for an expensive symposium. But there are some glaring conclusions I came up with:
1) Most printers do not perform as advertised.
2) There is a lot of tweaking and maintenance required.
3) Although there are a lot of free designs to download and print -- this novelty wears off quickly.
4) You really will not be able to reproduce that broken toy for your kid -- unless you learn at least one of the CAD programs, which will be required to do so.
5) Unfortunately, in this day and age, my life is too full with normal issues to be able to devote full efforts just in keeping one of these printers operational.

Read through the websites and User / Owner Forums BEFORE rushing out to buy one of these. Decide if you really have the time. Cool? Heck, YEAH!! Practical? Uh... not yet.

But THIS is a great Guide to pique your interest!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 20, 2013
This was a good find as that i am just now getting into the world of 3d printing. As such i have been doing as much research as possible. i thought this would be a good insight into the this new world of technology. it explains a good bit of the tools and forms of how a 3d printer works. Some of the information however was almost just the same as one can find on a variety of sites on the subject. i did find the reviews very informative though, and look forward for if they ever do another one like this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 3, 2013
Covers all the basics, though some necessarily in a superficial manner.
Printer comparison most valuable part of the issue...
Note that most highly rated printers are sold through Make's store.
Price of publication with shipping is about the same as at a newsstand.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 9, 2013
Book looks fantastic. Ordered it and a similar title. Got the other, never got this one though. I order hundreds of itmes a year from Amazon, gotta expect an error once in a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 26, 2013
With the advent of affordable 3d Printers I was trying to find a way to compare the available printers without buying one of each. This gave me a good unbiased review of the printers available and made my decision a lot easier. It is my belief that these will be in 30% of all household before the end of the decade.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 8, 2013
3D printing has captivated the imagination. Oh what one can do with these marvelous machines. I must say, however, that this "book" was not worth the price. Amazon has a lot of other good books--like Fabrication--that will give you much more information and stir your imagination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2013
This mag provided a good overview of what is available in the 3d Printer industry. Worth reading for those with an interest in the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 17, 2013
I really like the viewpoint of the "Christmas Morning" test as a review for the printers. I would have liked more information on printing in general and maybe less on the specific printers, but overall this is definitely worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here