Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 115 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 147 reviews
on December 14, 2014
This book will challenge you to look at watercolor painting in a more holistic manner, so that you can become more expressive and less formulaic in your work. The author makes you think about color and composition and how important they are in creating paintings that make the most of the medium. Most helpful to me were the importance of neutral colors/grays, effective use of complementary colors, and the use of bold and expressive shapes instead of distracting details.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2014
This book teaches "the old basics" of watercolor painting in a new and exciting way. I especially love the chapters on glazing technique, complete with step-by-step instructions. The paintings are inspiring.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2017
A lovely insightful look at colors from a fabulous water-colorist. It is a permanent book in my library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2017
bad title - the paintings' colors were dull and uninspiring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
Beautiful and helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2015
What a beautiful book this is! I return to it often because I haven't yet mastered the great volume of information Ms. Dobie includes. For example, the talks of mouse power (luminous grays), octanic color, the many possible greens to be made, push-pull (and turn) effect when working with warm and cool colors, dark glows, singing color, white glows (the many shades of white), glazes -- the art of not mixing -- and multilayered creativity, color bridges, quieting with color, weaving color through space, abstract patterns, limiting the composition to a limited number of shapes, negative painting, values, the impact of white...and more. It's a wonderful book to study and enjoy (the beauty!) and work with.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2017
Nice book very helpful for helping you to understand watercolors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2016
Excellent book. Recommended by several artist friends. A must really for watercolor.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2016
One of the best Watercolor books on colors, making greens, comparing colors and so much more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2015
I'm so pleased with this book!I have many books by many artists and find they all have some good information. However, I find that the way MS Dobie has explained color theory so easy to grasp and retain the information. I'm looking forward to reading it again and will certainly refer to it repeatedly. I highly recommend Making Color Sing , especially for new artists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse