Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Gifts for Dad Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews(1 star, Verified Purchases). See all 582 reviews
on January 21, 2012
I ordered this Kindle edition, because the description clearly said that 4 stories were included -- one of which was The Maltese Falcon, the story I actually wanted. After download, it turns out I got a TOTALLY different book, full of a slew of short stories, but NOT the ones in the description, and NOT the Maltese Falcon. So how the heck do I get the kindle book I actually wanted?? Buyer beware on this one, folks!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2014
One star purely because this Kindle version is riddled with typos. It was clearly scanned in and not proofed by a human. Or a computer equipped with a spellcheck. Such a shame because the book is otherwise a gem. OK, so the finer plot points of the story were as easy to follow as a swarm of gnats, Hammett's tendency to describe every facial move was verging on the comical and you could get high on the fumes from all the tobacco and alcohol wafting from every page. But what did you expect from an archetype? It's easy to smell the tropes and see the faults now, but this was 1935 and Hammett and Chandler were defining a genre. Who better than Sam Spade to show you the ropes?

But please, someone fix the presentation so I can give this the 5 stars Hammett deserves.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
The book itself is marvellous, a classic of American hard-boiled fiction. Do read it, it is worth many a star. This review is a one-star because this particular edition is filled with typos and formatting errors which ruin the experience. It breaks the flow of the book when you need to decipher whether a word is a smooth piece of 30's slang or merely a typo, so spring for a proofread version.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
I realize that I do not like the dramatization or the abridged edition. I thought that I had ordered unabridged. Probably my error.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2011
The Maltese Falcon (Audio dramatization)
This is with regard to the audiobook only: This is not an unabridged recording of the book. Despite the word "unabridged" appearing several times in the Amazon description, this is, in fact, a condensed dramatization of the book. Nothing wrong with that, if that's what you're looking for, but if you want to hear the text as Hammett wrote it, this isn't for you. The way this item is listed on Amazon is extremely misleading.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2015
The characters were shallow, it was hard to follow because there wasn't any honest dialog. The author didn't reveal anyone's private thoughts. I don't know why this is considered classic
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
I gave up reading it about a quarter of the way through. The amount of typos in the Kindle version is quite remarkable and it makes for a very jarring reading experience. I was looking forward to reading it - a lot. Poor Dashiel Hammett, his work treated this way.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2009
"The Maltese Falcon" is a fine detective yarn but you should avoid buying this audio dramatization. I've got no problem with the idea of casting actors to read the various characters in the book, but whoever produced this version is a moron. The different actors take turns reading not only their dialogue but also the words of the narrator. So the voice of the narrator switches in mid-paragraph, sometimes even in the middle of a sentence! Even more ridiculously, the actors reading the narration stay in character, so you will sometimes have the third-person narrative portions in the voice of hard-boiled detective Sam Spade, then a second later in the voice of femme fatale Brigid O'Shaugnessy, villain Joel Cairo, etc. It is confusing, distracting, and makes absolutely no sense. I think I am stating the obvious in pointing out that the narrator of this novel is a single voice, a voice carefully crafted by the author Dashiell Hammett. I'd recommend skipping this adaptation, and probably anything else produced by "Hollywood Theater of the Ear."
33 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
too slow moving no motive ending very weak
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2013
I bought this having viewed the movie many times. It a good yarn. However the people who typed the digital copy are totally Incompetent and I will seek a refund. I won't be buying any more Kindle copies soon.
44 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse