Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 134 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 152 reviews
on December 13, 2006
If anybody from Warner Home Video is reading this, have you thought about the implications of releasing a 13-season DVD series at the rate of two seasons per year? This puts Season 13 being released in August of 2010! All of us Dallas fans would like to get the whole collection while the world is still using the current DVD format! Who's to say what the fast-moving rate of technology will have moved us all on to by then. If you're a fan and feel the same way, I ask you second the sentiment and lend your vote by finding this review helpful.
88 comments| 168 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2007
It's been great watching Dallas again after all these years, but just like back in the 70s/80s, the quality of the writing took a nosedive after Jim Davis' death altered the existing dynamic of the series.

With Jock Ewing gone and Bobby and J.R. fighting for control of Ewing Oil most scenes are as boring as sitting in an actual board meeting (read that as BORED meeting), though, of course, the business in the series is incredibly dumbed down for non-business viewers from anything that goes on in real life.

Even worse, Audrey Landers never could sing, and apparently it was in her contract that she could sing every few episodes she appeared in. More dead air.

I believe in later seasons Dallas gets back on track somewhat, but never again will it match the quality of seasons 1-5.

The sets are also INCREDIBLY cheap looking (and were even back then), and the women's costumes and hairstyles haven't held up as well as they have on rival series Dynasty and Falcon Crest. (The Mercedes and Porsche cars used on the series, however, are just as nice looking today as they were then, and better looking than a lot of the "aerodynamic" design cars manufactured today.)

Overall this is a season only the Dallas completist need bother with. It's a chore to watch much of the time rather than a pleasure, and breaking up Bobby and Pam was a huge mistake that went on for years to follow. It's also hard to watch Susan Howard as Donna Krebs knowing today she's affiliated with the NRA and the Republican party. Lois Chiles as Holly Harwood, on the other hand, is a real treat -- especially in the scene where she pulls the gun on J.R. in bed.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2017
Ok, my husband and I live 6 months out of the year without cable TV or wifi. We have started watching Dallas from the beginning and are hooked. We just finished this season, and although we remember watching it, we forgot a lot of the plot twists and terrific acting and writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon October 31, 2013
If you're a Dallas fanatic, you've already purchased the other seasons so why wouldn't you add this to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2008
"Dallas", in my opinion is the best television show of all time, and this season illustrates why it is so. The stories revolve around universal and timeless themes such as the love-hate relationships among family members; the internal and external battle over the use of power for good or evil; the struggle to restore trust to tattered relationships; coming to terms with the death of a loved-one; and the hurt, fear and healing subsequent to sexual abuse. "Dallas" was never better than it was this season, aside from season 10 (which I hope will soon be released) this was the last truly great season. There has never been, and there never will be a show as thoroughly entertaining as "Dallas". Much of the success of this season can be attributed to the performances of the cast. Was there ever any other performer who possessed a character the way Larry Hagman did J.R.? Was there ever a character you loved to hate as much as you did J.R. (and at times still found yourself rooting for him)? How Larry Hagman never won an Emmy is simply beyond comprehension. Linda Gray as Sue Ellen Ewing was nothing short of brilliant, and Barbara Bel Geddes (the only cast member to win an Emmy for her work on the show) repeatedly gave reserved, but incredibly powerful performances. Great stories and exceptional performances make "Dallas" as entertaining today as it was twenty-five years ago.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2017
All Dallas Seasons 1-12 are worth watching. 13 and 14 though are pretty tough to watch. The Movie DVD set is also worth having for the prequel and JR Returns. War of the Ewings though is rough.

Season 6 for me is most notable for the underrated John Beck as Mark Graison debut. I always liked his character, and I hate to say it, I feel he and Pam had better chemistry than Bobby and Pam. I also felt Priscilla Presley's Jenna Wade had better chemistry with Bobby "Go Figure".

I have watched these seasons 1-12 at least 20 times, not including when they ran it on the Soap Channel, I did not watch during the original run, but I do remember Who Shot JR vividly, the incredible media hype, I was only 8 years old so did not pay attention to the show when Mom was watching. Typically I just watch these sets beginning to end. I do own 13 and 14, but I usually bail out early into season 13... No way to sugar coat it, terrible TV, they just ran out of ideas. With Pam and Sue Ellen both Gone, the new blood was frankly boring.

I did like Sheri J. Wilson as April Stevens, once they Kill her off, other than JR and Bobby it's pretty sad.

I even watched every episode of the TNT series. While not perfect, it was exactly what I hoped for, though they could have focused more on original cast once it was clear new audience wasn't being created.

Just get everything if your a die hard Dallas fan, you'll get addicted to the show all over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2007
From memory this was the last great series of "Dallas" Season 7 started to slip down hill and get repetitious, Barbara Bel Geddes did a lot less and the storylines became more irrational. So fans should enjoy this series, which really was the top of the mountain . I do feel, however, that it is dfisappointing that after the first two box sets there have been no interviews with the actors or (better still) commentaries. The early commentaries were a hoot, where have they gone? Or did the actors feel there was nothing else to say? I would love to hear what Steve Kanaly or Charlene Tilton had to say about Timothy Patrick Murphy, the highly promising young actor who played Mickey in this series, but tragically had his life and career cut short only five years later by dying of AIDS.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2011
Dallas is a great serie, but beware in this season (number 6) because some dvd are not well, you can not see some chapters because the dvd can not read them, the image froze and still that way forever. and another thing this season is NOT CC in english only in portuguese.
thank you.
raul rodriguez abud
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
I received my order quickly than expected and in good condition except 2 episodes did not play well at first.

This season was heart breaking because of Pam and Bobby splitting up and the toll the fight for Ewing oil takes on their marriage and Miss Ellie. Also did not like the way Pam was so easily taken with Mark Graison (hated this character) so quickly it is like she did not value her marriage or really love Bobby when she almost sleeps with Mark and continues to go out with him. It seems to me that Bobby was more faithful in and to his marriage than Pam was. Bobby stayed true to Pam when Holly try to seduce him and he never strayed in their marriage except for that 1 time he almost did in Season 3 with Jenna Wade. It seemed like Pam was ready to give up on her marriage so quickly(did not like her this season at all) Also poor Sue Ellen who was fooled and betrayed again by JR and driven back to the bottle and the tragedy of what happen to Mickey Trotter and the death of Rebecca Wentworth. This season so sad. We get to see again Katherine who reappears due her mother's death and her plot which she begins with JR to destroy Cliff and Pam and Bobby marriage. Katherine is not so sweet after all but a devious and calculating witch!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2014
Don't buy this DVD. Five episodes (10, 11 and 12) are not on one side of a disk. Instead, there are two DVDs with the same episodes copied. So we had to purchase those three episodes separately from Amazon. Then, when we began watching Season 7, we were confused by the first episode. That's because the last two episodes from Season 6 were not only not included in this set, but aren't even listed on the table of contents in the season. So you are paying for a season that isn't a complete season. It hasn't happened in previous Dallas seasons distributed by Warner Bros. and I hope it doesn't happen again. Very disapppointing.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse