Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Item is in Good condition: Item shows minor signs of wear and / or use but is completely intact and usable as intended. Please email us with any condition questions
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Man from Elysian Fields (Score) Soundtrack

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Soundtrack, October 29, 2002
"Please retry"
$12.99 $2.24

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Editorial Reviews

A compelling throwback to an era when "style" and "substance" were not mutually exclusive in Hollywood fare, director George Hickenlooper's intimate-scaled portrait of a failed novelist surviving by making a deal with the devil--becoming an escort for wealthy women--features rich performances from its cast (Andy Garcia, Mick Jagger, Julianna Margulies, James Coburn) and a gently sophisticated score from Anthony Marinelli. The composer's work here revolves around warm pastoral orchestrations punctuated with spare piano and acoustic guitar flourishes and passages of spare, horn-driven jazz stylings that suggest maturity bordering on world-weariness. Even when Marinelli's adventurous tack inspires him to throw some sax and even sitar into the mix, his masterful sense of nuance and color insures it's a seamless, compelling fusion that helps make this score an intimate, understated gem. --Jerry McCulley

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Like Your Defects
  2. End Credits
  3. Make It To Nathaniel
  4. Alcott's Integrity
  5. Into The Car
  6. Face To Face
  7. Going Home Alone
  8. When Do We?/Betrayed
  9. Luther Rejected
  10. Shattered Marriage
  11. I'm Doing It For You
  12. Byron's First Date
  13. Book Of The Month
  14. Byron Destroys
  15. Make It To Nathaniel Intro
  16. Byron Sees Dena
  17. I Gotta Go
  18. In Bed
  19. Waiting
  20. Byron With Dena
  21. Inner Sanctum
  22. Alcott Dead
  23. Main Title

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 29, 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Soundtrack
  • Label: Varese Sarabande
  • Run Time: 106 minutes
  • ASIN: B00006WL48
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #573,247 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Anthony Marinelli Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I quite agree with the reviewer for Amazon. This is a beautiful lush composition, and deserves a lot more attention. The orchestrations are full and symphonic on some tracks, with a change to world music. The heavily indian music inspired tracks blend seamlessly with the classical motifs of the occident.
The jazz sax completes the triage blend of sounds, which never seem out of place. I must admit that I am quite new to Anthony Marinelli's work. However, the music in the movie captivated me more than the movie itself (a good effort). It made me seek out tis gem and his other works. This album is a definate must for soundtrack enthusiasts, especially those who enjoy a worldly mix to the music.
I feel that some of the score is missing from this album, as heard in the film. Also its a little short. However it is rather good on its own. The vocals harmonies are excellent.
It is not Gabriel's "Passion" or Portman's litling music, or Horner-esque or a jazz inspired in its entirety, but an interesting mosaic.
My favourite tracks are "End Titles" "Main Title" "Inner Sanctum" "Byrons First Date" and the finest "I Gotta go".
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Even if you haven't seen this classy & underrated movie and are just looking for something to drift and dream by or ponder and reflect if you will, just put this cd on shuffle & repeat and you will have a wonderful time.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse