Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$11.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 84 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 110 reviews
on May 9, 2011
This is an exceptional album - a great funky soul-drenched set wherein Warren celebrates the music that first turned him on as a young child. Don't expect the monstrous riffs of Gov't Mule (and most Muleheads wouldn't expect them from a solo album of Warren's anyway) but do dig the syncopated licks and fills and call and responses with the horns and keyboards that all coalesce into fantastic songs that pour from the speakers like honey on a hot day.
77 comments| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2011
Warren Haynes performs stunningly on this new CD release, titled 'Man In Motion'. Warren Haynes presents in this CD 10 great compositions, wonderful guitar work & impressive vocals. The overall sound is that of great bluesy-rock sound. The opening track "Man In Motion" : is a solid track/gem/stand-out, a great choice for a title & opening track (gives you the impressive overall feel of this great CD). Other solid tracks/gems/stand-outs include "River Gonna Rise" (sound reminiscent of Kenny Rogers' "Islands In The Stream" sound, very impressive guitar work/sound), "Everyday Will Be Like A Holiday", "Sick Of My Shadow" (wonderful melody), "Your Wildest Dreams" (a slow/ballad track), "A Friend To You" (great sound reminiscent of the band Bad Company's great sound) & "Save Me" (wonderful ballad, great keyboard/guitar combination, great vocals & melody). Great tracks include "On A Real Lonely Night" & "Take A Bullet" (great melody). Okay/good track is "Hattiesburg Hustle" (mid-tempo track). There is no weak track to talk of on this great CD "Man In Motion", 10 great tracks, delivered by a 'man in a serious motion' to dish out great music! On overall, this is a very impressive musical delivery by the talented singer-songwriter/guitarist Warren Haynes, a highly recommended CD listening. A well deserved 5 star perfomance!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2011
The tremendously talented Warren Haynes seems to make a point to highly differentiate this great solo album from the Gov't Mule catalog. This is NOT the hard-edged blues-rock that the Mule is known for. This is smoky, bluesy R&B, and it still has Warren written all over it, with Warren taking on the songwriting, guitar playing and singing, as well as sharing in the producing and mixing duties. He's definitely a guy who can be left and right brained at the same time, getting all the technical aspects of the production in order, and then writing, singing and playing straight from the heart.

Though I'm more of a blues-rock guy than an R&B guy, I still really like this album, and I'm all for ignoring the current terrible music styles and hearkening back to the 70's, style-wise...a great era for music. What blows me away is how Warren just keeps coming up with song after song, really good ones, too...and they're original, they're not a ripoff or too similar to other past hits. The man's a musical genius, no doubt!

The only song I thought was a little bit long and boring is "In Your Wildest Dreams." Just seemed to drag on a bit. Still a good song, but I thought it could have used more of a changeup somewhere.

In addition to his soulful, muscular guitar playing, I've always enjoyed Warren's singing, and while he sounds great belting out the hard rock vocals for the Mule, he also sounds perfect for the smooth R&B material as well...he really knocks it out of the park! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2011
Been a Mule fan for a quite a while... This new album doesn't have the bite that I was originally expecting or anticipating, yet it does not fail to please. The diversity of tracks leaves me acoustically satisfied. When it comes to Warren, the guitar licks never are lacking, so it is the rest of the orchestration that pushes the bar higher. Right from the start with the title track, this album grabs you. Phenomenal sax work on "Sick of My Shadow" complements the great guitar work that I've come to love from Warren. I really enjoyed "Take a Bullet", with the good groove and the horns (always liked seeing Mule live when they had the horn section)! I don't know if you could find a better closer to this album than the thick gospel-soul sound of "Save Me".
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2012
Musical tastes are highly personal, so it's difficult to read reviews without considering most are written by fans, and nearly all will rate an artist's efforts highly. However, in Warren Haynes case, it's a bit different. Here you have a gifted musician, talented song-writer, great voice and superlative live musician all combined in a single package. I don't know if Haynes reads these reviews, but I hope he continues to write his own material, which I think is absolutely tremendous. Yes, I do enjoy his covers, and they are definitely outstanding interpretations that are extremely well played, but Warren's own material is very special indeed, and this album is almost exclusively his work. And I hope Haynes continues to bring his own material to the public, because it best represents who he really is. With a musician of this calibre, we should appreciate who he really is, now and into the future.

I think it's also worth noting the top-drawer recording, mixing and engineering done on this album. I would put it into the top five albums in my collection in terms of recording quality and mixing (and that includes my classical albums). On an audiophile-grade system, the hyper quality effort in this area really shines through. All the instruments are there, all are balanced, all are "just right". Kudos. I sincerely hopes Haynes uses the same crew on future albums, as his work is worthy of the quality the studio engineers put into this effort.

One of Haynes best efforts in an anthology of music that is full of great efforts and great music. A seminal album. If you are curious about who Warren Haynes is and what his music is about, then this is a worthy starting point. Highly recommended.

Thank you Warren. Please keep it coming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2011
Warren has outdone himself this time. The song selection is balanced beautifully. A great blend of fantastic tunes. Warren is a master of his craft! His phrasing and tonality are second to none. On A Real Lonely Night is beautifully arranged with a fantastic horn section. Hattiesburg Hustle is a great story with a score fitting the tune's feel perfectly. The River's Gonna Rise has a drum mix that is almost tribal in feeling and the stops with bass fills are artfully executed. Everyday Will Be Like A Holiday has almost a gospel feel. The vocals are sooooooooo soulful! The keyboards lay down the greatest palate for Warren's artistic fills. There was not one tune on this CD that I didn't like and it would be hard to pick my favorite piece. This CD is definetly in my top 5 of personal favorites. This man was a monster when he came into the scene, but has grown into a deity. Fantastic job, Warren!
- Hal
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
Awesome !!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2011
Warren Haynes has again surrounded himself with excellent musicians and created another masterpiece. I couldn't pick a best song on the album because every song has that moment of magic. Warren delivers some excellent licks and sometime when I anticipate a lead solo by Warren,Ron Holloway plays Tenor sax to die for. As another reviewer wrote, " all the instruments flow beautifully"and weave in and out creating some very enjoyable, soulful music.
This is music you need to hear !
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
Terrible sound quality. I returned this item. Seller was great, but the CD quality was lousy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse