Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Big & Rich Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 42 reviews
TOP 100 REVIEWERon June 22, 2013
I wasn't very impressed by this Man of Steel art book. It's not bad but it's not that good either.

There aren't many character designs. Strangely, Zod's the only character with art featuring various designs. The rest of the characters, including Superman, are just shown with one or two illustrations or photos. The designs are the finalised ones. There's nothing on Superman's new suit besides the brief mention by director Zack Synder that underwear outside is no longer cool nowadays. The cover does have a nice embossed S with repeating patterns from the fabric of Superman's suit.

The concept art are generally nice but there aren't any mind blowing pieces in particular. There are some beautiful detailed pieces but also pretty rough ones. The overall tone is quite dark with a sense of grim throughout. There's a preference for the strong use of shadows, either to obscure detail or to suggest I'm not too sure, but I feel it's for the former because the detail I want to see usually fades into the shadow.

The art feels quite static. Environment art are meant to be static but I mean those scene paintings with characters. There are many pieces with characters just standing on location. Superman usually stands alone staring into space. Comics usually have their characters in dynamic poses. Not so here. And there aren't any storyboards. You won't get the idea that this is an action film from the art.

There aren't any set photography on the props and locations. Most of the photos included are film stills, mostly portraits, but they look great.

The commentary is quite insightful and focuses on the design and direction of the film. It talks mainly about the interpretation of the characters and stories for the audience that are so used to superhero movies nowadays. There's not much on the actual production shoot and stories behind the scenes.

Those who have watched the film would probably enjoy this book more but that would also depend on what you're expecting.

I recommend flipping through the book before you buy.

3.5 out of 5 stars.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
33 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon November 7, 2014
Fans of "Man of Steel" should enjoy this book. It primarily focuses on the visual aspects of the film -- director Zack Snyder and his design team really do a great job of creating a unique-looking movie, so it's nice to have a book on the subject.

It's worth noting that around 75% of the book is designated to all things Krypton (even though only 20-30 min of the movie are spent there). To be fair, the Krypton portion of the film is perhaps the most creative and certainly worthy of inclusion here. The book goes in-depth on Krypton environments, technology, costumes, and creatures. Many of the concept art is really great (and printed full-page). Also included are samples of the written language and symbols used on Krypton - it's fascinating to see how much detail went into portraying a realistic civilization.

But this leaves only 25% of the book focused on the rest of the movie and Earth. Overall, the book does leave something to be desired. In particular, I would have liked to have more insight into the design and creation of the Superman costume (it only gets about 2-3 pages).

It's definitely worth buying this book if you can find it for a reasonable price.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
From my much longer review, originally published on EntertaintmentTell:

Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman tries its best to strike a balance between "art of" and "making of," but at a scant 184 pages (and it honestly doesn't even seem that long), it doesn't really have room to be either of those things to a satisfying degree. As a "making of," it does touch on some really interesting points in the text--especially when it comes to the filmmakers' collaboration with the U.S. Department of Defense to create an accurate portrayal of the military in the film, as well as many of the thoughts that went into the design of Krypton--and there is a positively fascinating page on the development of the Kryptonian language developed for the film. But much of what is delivered in the book in that regard just leaves me hungry for more. If anything, it's an intriguing tease.

As an "art of," though, the book is an all-around disappointment. There are so many elements of the text that could have been given so much more weight with the right images: the discussion of the design of the S-emblem comes to mind, as well as the design of the suit as a whole. But alas, we don't get a single solitary image of any of the iterations that the S-glyph must have certainly gone through. And any paintings of the Big Blue suit pretty much mirror the final design in the film to a tee.

Perhaps the most frustrating thing about Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman, though, is that if you're a fan of the film hungry for a deeper look, the book is kind of essential. Not very satisfying, mind you, but there are several really neat tidbits and insights here that I'll admit make it worth owning. If, and only if, you're a hardcore fan. (Although, let's face it: if you're a hardcore fan you probably pre-ordered the book long before I ever thought about writing this review.)

It's just a shame that there isn't a proper Art of Man of Steel book in the works, nor a truly in-depth Making of. Because I would happily pay good money for both of those books (preferably the former). The only real hope at this point for those of us who geek out on pre-production artwork is that the Blu-ray release might include so many of the early and unused concepts that this book unfortunately, for the most part, ignores
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
Has a pretty decent amount of concept art and set design but if you looking for the same kind of awesome you get out of say, Art of Iron Man, you're not gonna find it here. Severely lacks photos of sets, props, and the artwork is just not as good. I got it because I absolutely loved Man of Steel and this book does have some pretty cool info about the production on the movie and the book quality is nice. Just not quite 'super'
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2016
I'm a fan of the Man of Steel movie. First time a i watched in theater I had a little problem with editing and how much action was packed in 3rd act of the film. However, now that I have watch the move over a half a dozen time those issues are invisible to me. Everything appears to develop and flow naturally. Man of Steel is the best cinematic version of the superman origin story and of the best super hero films available.
The books goes into great detail on the design and care that went into all the sets, characters designs, and scenes. If you are fan of Superman, the Movie Man of Steel, director Zack Snyder, or movie making in general, consider to give this book a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
Whether you liked the movie or not, making the alien (Krypton) culture seem modern and believable was undeniably a difficult design challenge - especially because it comes from such an archetypal comic book aesthetic. This book is a detailed showcase of the thought process and art direction that went into the ornate, baroque, yet ultimately organic flavor of the final design for the film. Definitely worth having in the collection for fans of concept art.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
This book is very greaT even The fronT cover is very deTailed covers everything from behind the scenes exclusive looks at the world of Superman it covers all the family crest on Krypton and so much more highly recommended to fans of Man of Steel
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2013
I've been spoiled by the behind the scenes books for Star Wars and Grindhouse which are exhaustive in their coverage from script to screen. This is a thick, very well made book but lacking in substance. For such a huge character and reboot I was expecting a lot more. You get brief character bios and some filming stories but I'd say at least 75% of this book is just film art which is cool but not why I wanted this book. Seriously, when you first open this and see the books impressive cover you think you're in for a treat. Would recommend for the hardcore Superman fans. It is nice but just not very deep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2016
I Absolutely, love this book. With photography by the wonderful Clay Enos, it is sensational and wondrous to gaze upon. A must have for any diehard Superman Man of Steel fan. These art books are EVERYTHING for the diehard comic book movie fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman is a good making of book on the film. This book goes into detail of how Man of Steel was made and has lots of concept artwork , and behind the scenes information and photos from the making of Man of Steel. If your a fan of Superman and of making of movie books in general this book is a good read for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse