Buy New
Free Shipping for Prime Members
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 business-day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99. (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25—or get FREE Two-Day Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
The Man in the Wood has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Man in the Wood

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, July 2, 2010
Note: This product is manufactured on demand when ordered from [Learn more]

Editorial Reviews

"Man in the Wood" combines fine old poetry with blues, Americana, humor, and creativity. Rathje adapts Andrew Marvell's great rambling seduction poem from the 1600s "To His Coy Mistress." He also renders two old songs, "The Man in the Wood" and "The Bachelor's Lay." From the blues tradition come Elmore James' "Musta Done Somebody Wrong" and Leadbelly's "Goodnight Irene."

Rathje's original works on this CD include blues tunes "Bread for You" and "Cold, Lonely Crossroads." "Something's Fishy" is a sea shanty, and "Something Even Fishier" is a bluesy number about seafood and sex.

Dean Rathje: voices, guitars, harmonica, bodhran, mandolin, piano, bass

1. To His Coy Mistress (Marvell/Rathje) 5:59
2. Bread for You (Rathje) 2:59
3. The Man in the Wood (trad. arr. Rathje) 2:36
4. Cold, Lonely Crossroads (Rathje) 3:10
5. Hard, Ain't It Hard (trad. arr. Rathje) 3:29
6. The Bachelor's Lay (trad. arr. Rathje) 3:55
7. Something's Fishy (Rathje) 1:56
8. Musta Done Somebody Wrong (James arr. Rathje) 2:18
9. Something Even Fishier (Rathje) 3:31
10. Goodnight Irene (Leadbelly arr. Rathje) 3:04

Total running time, 32:58

When sold by, this product will be manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media.'s standard return policy will apply.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. To His Coy Mistress
  2. Bread for You
  3. The Man in the Wood
  4. Cold, Lonely Crossroads
  5. Hard, Ain't It Hard
  6. The Bachelor's Lay
  7. Something's Fishy
  8. Musta Done Somebody Wrong
  9. Something Even Fishier
  10. Goodnight Irene

Product details

  • Audio CD (July 2, 2010)
  • Label: New Leaf Interactive Media, Inc.
  • Run Time: 33 minutes
  • ASIN: B003UNKEN2
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Man in the Wood
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Man in the Wood