Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

Manhunter
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on May 10, 2016
Classic Michael Mann - if you like the cinematic style of Miami Vice (show or movie) or Heat, with wide, dark-tinted scenescapes, this is your next movie. We meet Hannibal Lektor (spelling in this movie's credits, I believe), and don't let Anthony Hopkins' portrayal bias you! Great acting all around, with a standout performance by William Peterson - makes me wonder why he didn't go on to greater things after this.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 22, 2017
Definitely brings the book to life. In comparison to the other Red Dragon based film, I like Manhunter better. Not enough Lecter imo but aside from that, I really enjoyed the cast and I thought it was a lot more gritty and realistic looking. It didn't have that overly produced feel to it and I think that brings a lot more realism to the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 24, 2017
Back when they gave the detective and killer equal time with Hannibal Lechter. The end result is a story better balanced than Silence of the Lambs (even if it's not quite as well made a movie, or the same level of actor performances). All in all, Silence of the Lambs is still better, but this is still an underappreciated movie. A must see for crime-horror fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2016
I'm a huge fan of Michael Mann.

And for a 1980s film on its own this is actually not bad even considering the cheesy 80s soundtrack. However, if you are a fan of Thomas Harris and the book Red Dragon, for which the film is based then you may have some issues, as it does not totally follow it. It is stringently followed in some areas even to the point of dialogue, but some of the most awesome parts of the story is left out, but it is almost equally entertaining to contrast the differences between this film, and newer version Red Dragon, and the television series Hannibal. Which I noticed took quite a few things from this version of the film.
If you're going in fresh on a weekend watch it's totally worth a look, after all it's Michael Mann... man:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 19, 2016
Simply the best of all Lecter's movies. Michael Mann at his best.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2016
Having just watched the first two seasons of "Hannibal," I was curious as to how an older movie handled the same material (taken from Red Dragon). William Peterson - SO young! Very good as the troubled Will Graham. There wasn't much of Hannibal in the movie except when Will asks the serial killer's advice on the motivations of the killer dubbed the Tooth Fairy (he bites his victims).

You are probably familiar with the plot so I needn't go there. As a free movie on Prime videos, this one is certainly worth watching to compare and contrast, so to speak. I was amused to hear some of the same lines. Good to know that both take offs on the Hannibal tale grabbed some of the best lines in the Red Dragon book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2016
This is one of my all time favorite movies and I love the Blu Ray on it. It's the right mix of new and special features and I love how Shout/Scream Entertainment gives me the open of having the movie's classic artwork on display as well as their new artwork.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 4, 2017
I didn't think it could be possible to top Silence of the Lambs. I rewatched Manhunter last week, and the shots are so fricken simple and brilliant. The soundtrack is 80s snythesis gold. The acting is restrained and perfect. The story is profound. This movie is so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 13, 2011
One of the most indelible images in thriller history is the moment we first see Hannibal Lector in the brilliant and mesmerizing Silence of the Lambs. Yet for me, one of the scariest images in film history is the opening shot in Manhunter, where a woman awakens to a flashlight being shined on her by the Tooth Fairy killer. Later remade into the woeful Red Dragon, this movie proves that yes, Edward Norton maybe a better actor than William Petersen, but he certainly isn't a better Will Graham! Michael Mann is a unique artist whose stylish matter of fact approach creates not only the best in the Lector saga, but the best in the serial killer genre, which includes doozies like the aforementioned Silence as well as Physco and Se7en. Classics all, but Mann does something different. He creates an atmosphere that invades some part of your physce and stays in there forever.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 8, 2017
I remember stumbling upon this movie in Empire Books and Video in the 80s, I have watched it a million times since then. ITS JUST YOU AND ME NOW , SPORT.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse