Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 177 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 386 reviews
on October 20, 2015
There's a good reason this little book has stayed in print since the end of WWII. It's a gem once you get past the dire observations in the concentration camp . I skipped the whole concentration camp section the first time and went back to read a few pages at a sitting until I could detach from the horrors and appreciate Frankl's uncanny ability to endure such atrocities and use them in the e to render his insights utterly profound. Doesn't get any better than this IMHO. A good way to spend a quiet week end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2015
Viktor Frankl's book essentially includes two works: his story from Nazi concentration camp and his philosophy he dubbed "Logotherapy". His story of life in concentration camp speaks for itself. Logotherapy, on the other hand, is an interesting school of thought. Logotherapy in this book is not deeply investigated but if you want more you can try Frankl's other book 'The Will to Meaning'. In a nutshell, Frankl said that it is our duty to find meaning in life. The meaning can change from moment to moment so it need not necessarily be a grand or life-long meaning. Just right now, what can do you? He encourages others to identify things they can do, such as create something (produce something that was not present before you made it), take something (absorb something from others), and finally adjust your attitude. The adjustment of your attitude is the last thing you have control over once everything else has been taken from you, according to Frankl.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2017
Having a tough day? Poor thing. Tsk, tsk, tsk. You must read this book and it will definitely "notch-up" your gratitude. Thank you Viktor Frankl for all you have done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2015
Not quite finished reading this book but find it immensely interesting.

"Then I grasped the meaning of the greatest secret that human poetry and human thought and belief have to impart: The salvation of man is through love and in love." While I hear Frankl speaking to the romantic love shared with his wife, does this not hold true for every relation of the human?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
LOVE THE BOOK, THIS COPY THE PRINT IS TO SMALL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2017
nice condition. thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2017
Started reading, very enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 31, 2005
First of all, this book is definitely worth reading, the first part where the author talks about his experience in the concentration camps - how any of our small issues are nothing compared to what has already happened in this world and how mankind has been able to overcome it all.

The second part where he talks about logotherapy - gets our brains to work. The idea behind this book is that, when man has lost everything, there is still something they can pursue in their mind, there is still something which he they can look forward to.

Coming from his own experience in the concentration camps, there was something he was looking for, even when he had lost everything in life and there was nothing else to look forward other than to be gassed. He also motivated his comrades to look for something - to search for a meaning in life and to isolate their minds from the external happenings.

As a general read, it is worth reading, it gets us thinking in new lines.

But is it applicable to give new hope to people ? Can it motivate a terminally ill cancer patient to look for something ?

What would have Lance Armstrong have to say about logotherapy ? I think Lance would have acknowledged it - having recovered from cancer to become a champion again. Again it is all about finding new meaning/new hopes to continue and sustain life, even in the brink of hopelessness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2014
The book came on time and in great condition, so the service was wonderful. Furthermore, the book itself is wonderful. If ever you find yourself in need of comfort, I highly encourage reading this. Viktor Frankl knows how to write so that even the darkest of events can create an awareness of the light things in humanity. I'm very grateful to have had an opportunity to become aware of his perspective on the events that happened in his life and on human suffering and humanity in general, and his words will never leave me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse