Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 3,256 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,830 reviews
on November 18, 2016
If you're in pain, read this book. If you're scared, read this book. If you are lost, read this book. If you are happy, read this book. If you have time, read this book. If you don't have time, read this book. Read this book, read this book.

"We who lived in the concentration camps can remember the men who walked through the huts comforting others, giving away their last piece of bread. They may have been few in number, but they offer sufficient proof that everything can be taken from a man but one thing: the last of the human freedoms--to choose one's attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one's own way."
11 comment| 218 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2016
I read this in college and ordered again to read some 40 years later. Frankl relates the severe conditions in the concentration camp. Those without any purpose seemed to perish. Those that had developed purpose and meaning to the harsh conditions got out of bed every morning to face another unbearable day. this book is a classic. anything less than 5 stars would be a reflection on me.
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2016
The book came in new Condition and in the time stated. I've already finished the book and WOW so powerful! The Author Viktor Frankl is absolutely amazing as he describes in graphic details his horrific experiences, making you feel like you were right there with him... Suffering and fighting through the physical and worse psychological pain with one goal... Getting out of the "camp" and hopefully reuniting with his wife with his mind in tact. A must read!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2016
The experiences in concentration camps in WWII are both interesting and educational. The further writings on logotherapy are insightful and useful in looking at life situations. A recommended read for anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2017
Powerful behind the scenes coverage of WW2 POWs, and thoroughly interesting from a psychology perspective. I lost interest a little bit when he transitioned into explaining logotherapy at the end, but that's only because I was solely interested in the real-life story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2016
This story was so good. I liked the fact that the story was well written, it had deeper meaning to all of the facts brought out by World War Ii. One thing that I did not like about this book was the fact that the information provided at the end of the story was so packed in to the last several pages of this book. I suppose that the reason for this was so that that short, to the point, and ready to read at any given time. I do recommend this book to any person who really enjoys reading and finding out more about what happends during the second World War. The back story of this great Psychology character. I gave this book this rating, because of the way in which it was written and the thoughts used throughout this story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2015
Like so many others, I thoroughly enjoyed Doctor Frankl's probing account of concentration camp life. His addition of "Logotherapy In a Nutshell is of great worth in and of itself. Frankl's analysis of his camp world is a fascinating one. How any of the common inmates survived is somewhat beyond comprehension. Although man's survival instinct is innate and powerful, I feel that most twenty-first century people would be dead, dead, dead in a relatively short time. Also, if you aren't an adherent of Existentialism you may well change that view point after reading this book. All in all, Doctor Frankl's account is one of being in the clinging darkness of despair while searching for that pin-hole of light and hope. The Doctor's experience never comes off as a whiny-baby narrative of the poor, poor Jews, but is a "this is the way it was, plain and simple" approach. You may very well wish that you could have known this man after reading his book. Straight forward and intelligent, this is a must read for any who haven't forgotten how to think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
“He who has a Why to live for can bear almost any How.” – Nietzsche

“Ultimately, man should not ask what the meaning of his life is, but rather he must recognize that it is he who is asked. In a word, each man is questioned by life; and he can only answer to life by answering for his own life; to life he can only respond by being responsible.” pp. 109

If all I got out of this book were the above two quotes, it would have been well worth the read. Fortunately, there are many, many more fascinating reflections and anecdotes Viktor Frankl shares in this brief, yet profound, work. A book about the meaning of life bears the risk of waxing overly sentimental, but Frankl, a survivor of the Nazi death camps, has the personal and professional experience to write about meaning in a way that is utterly genuine.

This is a text I foresee myself returning to again and again; for if Frankl was able to derive profound meaning from the nightmare that was Auschwitz, what is stopping us from attaining meaning in our day to day lives? I agree with Frankl that our primary drive in life is not the impulse to pleasure or the will to power, but, rather, the search for meaning. Frankl’s thesis is corroborated, at least anecdotally, by the book’s universal popularity since its publication in English in 1959 – 100+ printings, 24+ languages, 12,000,000+ copies sold. As he relates, “[The book’s popularity is] an expression of the misery of our time: if hundreds of thousands of people reach out for a book whose very title promises to deal with the question of a meaning to life, it must be a question that burns under their fingernails.” Fortunately, what Frankl provides the reader is not gimmicky or pretentious, but rather a profound explication on how we might find meaning within ourselves, no matter our circumstances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
I had heard of this book a few times before purchasing it. I'm interested in history and thought that reading Frankl's experience as a POW camp would fit right along those interests.

The book goes into a bit of the actual experience that he had as a POW but the content is so much more than that. It's an excellent depiction of how we act in various circumstances. Frankl relates these stories with such clarity and purpose that the book sucks you right in!

I'd HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone who is looking for ways to view the world differently -- to view themselves and their circumstances differently. Such a great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2014
During World War II, the experiences that Austrian psychiatrist Viktor Frankl went through in concentration camps convinced him that above all else man needs a sense of purpose and meaning. He watched as the responses that different people had to the same conditions led some to survive and others to die.

In "Man's Search for Meaning," Frankl recalls his experiences in the camps and sets forth his theory of logotherapy, which states that what man most yearns for is not power or pleasure, but meaning. Frankl believed that a good percentage of those who live in modern, industrialized societies live in an "existential vacuum," and for people in that situation prescribes a goal-oriented outlook that asks not what we can get from life but what life expects from us.

Frankl also discusses the meaning of suffering and asserts that what matters most is not what happens to us but our response to it. The book also has other great insights into the human condition and the meaning of suffering as well as tips to combat anxiety and find meaning in life.

"Man's Search for Meaning" has long been considered a classic, and if you have heard of it and meant for a long time to read it you will certainly not regret finally doing so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse