Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 109 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 212 reviews
on June 2, 2017
I bought this several years ago for my husband, who is fascinated by maps. After a while he admitted that he didn't care for it. It was a bit sophomoric, he said.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2017
Bought it for a child who loves maps. It is definitely not a book for children. Brilliant ideas, but for adults.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
The information provided in this book is interesting, but it's ruined by Ken Jennings constantly trying to make terrible puns throughout the book. I found myself sighing or rolling my eyes more often than I should have for a book like this
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
This was a great little book. I even ordered a copy for my son who has even worse wanderlust than I do. It was interesting to learn all the minutia of geography that I never knew. Not a history book nor a travelogue, it is a peek into the world of geography geeks. Written by Ken Jennings, one of the top winners ever on Jeopardy, Maphead is an easy read that you can pick up and put down and browse. Each chapter is self contained so you can read at leisure. Jennings included his own personal anecdotes in the narrative. As a historian, I am not used to reading so much personal point of view in the story. Most of them were funny and I had to empathize with his wife. I can navigate my way through Manhattan with ease but need exit signs to be able to find my way out of a parking garage. Lots of great info on atlases, geography competitions, geocaching, the history of map making, and lots of other trivia. If you love maps or geography or have a serious case of wanderlust, this is the book for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2017
This was a fun and interesting read. It never felt dull - you can really feel his passion for maps.
Certainly something I have shared in my lifetime.
Several times during my read I stopped to look something up on the internet to learn more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2017
This book was fascinating. I liked the style and the content. It is trivia. But the story of how Maps have started Wars, saved lives, and delighted people over the centuries was thought provoking. ...........oh and I am a maphead
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
I haven't finished it yet but find it ever so interesting, even funny at times. If you know nothing about geography, and many/most of us don't, this is a great place to spend some time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2016
Well written book. I have always been interested in maps but I learned so much in this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2016
9328rwd 0wa9sdu dxc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2016
Very pleased. Just as I expected.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse