Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Marcel Pérès, Ensemble Organum - Signature (Highlights) Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, June 14, 1994
"Please retry"
$29.92 $3.70

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. The Gradual Of Eleanor Of Brittany: Kyrie Orbis Factor - Gilberte Casabianca
  2. 12th Cent Polyphony in Aquitaine (St. Martial De Limoges) - Dominique Vellard
  3. Chant Of The Church Of Milan: Caticum Ecce Quam Bonum Et Jocundum - Josep Benet/Josep Cabre
  4. Cistercian Chant (12 Cent Monodies): Alleluia Inter Natos Mulierum - Marcel Peres
  5. Josquin Desprez: Hymn Pange Lingua - Marcel Peres/Ens Organum
  6. 18th Cent Plainchant Of Auxerre Cathedral: Alleluia - Josep Benet/Josep Cabre/Malcolm Bothwell
  7. The Chantilly Codex: Adieu Vous Di - Marcel Peres
  8. The Faenza Codex: J'Ay Grant Desepoir - Gerard Lesne
  9. The Faenza Codex: J'Ay Grant Desepoir - Marcel Peres
  10. Notre-Dame School: Mass For Christmas Day. Sanctus - Josep Benet/Josep Cabre/Gerard Lesne
  11. The Play Of The Pilgrims To Emmaus: Antiphon Ego Sum Alpha Et Omega - Marcel Peres/Ens Organum
  12. Carmina Burana, The Great Mystery Of The Passion: Hymn Gloria Laus - Marcel Peres/Ens Organum
  13. The Mass Of Tournai: Agnus Dei - Josep Benet/Josep Cabre/Malcolm Bothwell
  14. Chants Of The Roman Church: Office For Good Friday Improperia - Malcolm Bothwell/Lycourgos Angelopulos

Product Details

  • Performer: Gerard Lesne, Dominique Vellard, Ensemble Clement Janequin
  • Composer: Josquin Desprez
  • Audio CD (June 14, 1994)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Harmonia Mundi Fr.
  • ASIN: B00000074O
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #428,428 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

I think of this disk as a greatest hits CD for Ensemble Organum, and it is a good introduction to this kind of early music for it can lead in so many directions. It starts off with The Gradual of Eleanor of Brittany (13th c.), sung by Marie Keyrouz, which is so beautiful and somber, and the tracks meander through the centuries from there, highlighting pieces from Ensemble Organum's many albums--some plainchant, some polyphony, some instrumental pieces such as one of medieval harp. If you like a particular selection, it's easy to track down which CD it came from and get it on Amazon. While I enjoy sacred music, I find plainchant rather dull at times, but this CD keeps my attention because of the variety of the selections, the skill of the singers, and the high quality of the digital copy. Enjoy!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse