Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Marcelle Meyer Plays Scarlatti: The 1947 Sonata Recordings

Audio CD

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, July 24, 2001
"Please retry"

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Editorial Reviews


Marcelle Meyer was one of France's leading pianists, renowned for her interpretations of Baroque keyboard works and championship of contemporary composers like Poulenc and Stravinsky, both of whom dedicated pieces to her. These 1947 recordings of 27 sonatas tell us why Meyer's Scarlatti performances were legendary. Chopin justified assigning Scarlatti sonatas to his pupils, writing: "in his music there are exercises in plenty for the fingers and a good deal of lofty spiritual food." In Meyer's superb performances, we hear those technical excellences amid a spiritual feast. She brings gentle radiance to the E Major Sonata, K. 380, and remarkably even runs to the A Major, K. 114. Her fingerwork is spectacular in virtually all these marvelous works, which require that a keyboardist perform difficult technical feats while making everything sound relaxed and easy. The Bach Toccata is done with similar panache. The time restraints of 78 rpm result in repeats missing from most of the sonatas, making these short gems even more concentrated. Seth Winner's transfers are remarkably good, although a few items are plagued by faulty originals. Overall, this is a disc of endless delights. --Dan Davis

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Son in d, K.32 (L.423)
  2. Son in a, K.175 (L.429)
  3. Son in b, K.27 (L.449)
  4. Son in G, K.125 (L.487)
  5. Son in g, K.30 (L.499)
  6. Son in b, K.87 (L.33)
  7. Son in E, K.380 (L.23)
  8. Son in D, K.430 (L.463)
  9. Son in A, K.114 (L.344)
  10. Son in d, K.64 (L.58)
  11. Son in A, K.279 (L.468)
  12. Son in B flat, K.202 (L.498)
  13. Son in f, K.519 (L.475)
  14. Son in d, K.9 (L.413)
  15. Son in D, K.119 (L.415)
  16. Son in G, K.432 (L.288)
  17. Son in G, K.427 (L.286)
  18. Son in E flat, K.474 (L.203)
  19. Son in b, K.377 (L.263)
  20. Son in D, K.96 (L.465)
  21. Son in f, K.69 (L.382)
  22. Son in F, K.17 (L.384)
  23. Son in g, K.8 (L.488)
  24. Son in G, K.13 (L.486)
  25. Son in g, K.450 (L.338)
  26. Son in B, K.245 (L.50)
  27. Son in D, K.478 (L.512)
  28. Toccata in c, BWV 911

Product details

  • Performer: Marcelle Meyer
  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Domenico Scarlatti
  • Audio CD (July 24, 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Pearl
  • ASIN: B00005EBU3
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #983,366 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all verified purchase reviews

Top customer reviews

on December 12, 2005
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2011
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Look for similar items by category