Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Big & Rich GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

  • March
  • Customer reviews

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 303 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 514 reviews
on September 13, 2017
Fascinating story of the father of Louisa Alcott' s Little Women kept me interested the entire time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2017
A very new perspective on the civil war and the effect it had on families and individuals. I like everything Ms. Brooks writes and found this was up to her usual well researched historically accurate interesting books. It deals with Mr March the father of the writer of Little Women and that alone makes it interesting.
The ideas put forward made me think about some things in a new and different way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2017
Geraldine Brooks again writes a successful novel. Makes the reader view the March family from a different angle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2017
I love Geraldine Page and her amazing research capabilities. This book started a little slow, probably because it was a lot about the civil war battle field, which I don't like to hear. However, once it turned to the life of the father of the "Little Women," it has become a page turner. Love that! And it's not very long. I'm reading it for my book club.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2017
It was a good historical representation of one mans experience fighting for his moral beliefs. There was little to bring this book together with Little Women except to refer to short letters written back and forth during his years away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2017
An excellent read. The characters were well developed and their personalities and their circumstances were interesting throughout the novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2017
Very well researched. Fascinating characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2017
A very interesting tale, but it has colored my view of Mr. March considerably from when I was a teen reading and re-reading Little Women.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2017
excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2017
This older book by Geraldine Brooks has stood up well to time with it's fresh look at the civil war through the eyes of a Union soldier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse