Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Marilyn Monroe: Classic 9 Film Collection [Blu-Ray]
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now STEM

Price:$81.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 16, 2014
This is basically the 2012 "Forever Marilyn Blu-ray Collection" of seven movies (still available for $37.75), repackaged and with "Bus Stop" and "Niagara" added. Both of the added movies are available separately for $18.96 each. This nine movie set is a great deal if you want "Bus Stop" and "Niagara," even if you already have the seven movie collection, because for only $2 more than the cost of the two separate movies you get the other seven in individual Blu-ray packaging. If you don't care about "Bus Stop" and "Niagara," or the individual Blu-ray packaging, the seven movie collection is the better deal.

By the way, the actual run time is far from the 122 minutes shown by Amazon, it is as follows:

Bus Stop 105 minutes
Niagara 89 minutes
Gentlemen Prefer Blondes 91 minutes
How to Marry a Millionaire 96 minutes
River of No Return 91 minutes
There's no Business Like Show Business 117 minutes
The Seven Year Itch 104 minutes
Some Like it Hot 121 minutes
The Misfits 125 minutes

Total Run Time 939 minutes
1616 comments| 155 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
I always check with amazon before I shop with any other web store. It arrived 9 individual blu-ray movies all individually shrink wrapped. The movies are in both color and black in white depending on the film. The picture quality varies but most all are excellent transfers. Even if you don't like Marilyn Monroe the films themselves are excellent with great lead and supporting actors. I personally like Joesph Cotton. I won't individually review each movie since you find those reviews throughout Amazon. Thanks Amazon for making this affordable.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
All movies (except Seven Year Itch) have Dutch subtitles and are region free, picture quality is great on all movies.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
For the Amazon special price plus free shipping plus all these movies in high def and several with extras, this is an incredibly great set of Monroe movies. I had most on reg DVD but these on Blu Ray really add a lot to already classically good movies.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
Who could ask for more the woman was so good & was a flawless beauty. Hoping Fox & Warner Brothers step on it & get more of her films out for people to enjoy in HD. I love these films & had most of them on just dvd till now. If your a true fan you should just go for it & buy these they are worth every penny.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
If you love Marilyn Monroe movies, this is the ultimate classic collection set to have and enjoy for many years to come.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
Received this in the mail today, packing was secure and all disks were new and intact. I almost bought the Forever Marilyn box set last month but I'm glad I waited. It's nice to have all of the movies in their own boxes, plus the 2 extras (Bus Stop and Niagara) that were not included in that set.

The disks themselves have very limited special features, some only have the theatrical trailer. For the price paid ($39.99) I'm willing to overlook Fox not including anything extra. This is great for any Marilyn lover who may have not bought many of the films on Blu-ray as well as someone who is just now seeing these films for the first time. You just can't go wrong with the price.

Now I just have to decide on what to watch first!!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
You can find reviews of the quality of each movie transfer in the sites that specialize in that sort of thing. It's worth checking up on, because the quality varies. If you do a little research, there should be no surprises there. The main thing that surprised me about this "collection" is that there isn't a box, or any special packaging. It just seems to be an ad-hoc shrink-wrapped group. The is price is good enough that absence of a box doesn't matter that much to me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
I bought these at 75% discounted price. I've only ever seen "Some Like It Hot" & "The Misfists", but now I can watch all the best movies of Marilyn Monroe on Blu-Ray no less.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2015
Great for a Marilyn fest. --- Nice to see Niagra ( neo film noir in color ) for the first time --- Yeah I know like "Leave her to heaven" (also in color) they defy the labeling of Noir which means black in French. ---- Anyway you probably already know about all the individual films. This collection is just all the individual films bundled together.
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse