Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Josh Ritter Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 155 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 163 reviews
on January 16, 2014
This is basically the 2012 "Forever Marilyn Blu-ray Collection" of seven movies (still available for $37.75), repackaged and with "Bus Stop" and "Niagara" added. Both of the added movies are available separately for $18.96 each. This nine movie set is a great deal if you want "Bus Stop" and "Niagara," even if you already have the seven movie collection, because for only $2 more than the cost of the two separate movies you get the other seven in individual Blu-ray packaging. If you don't care about "Bus Stop" and "Niagara," or the individual Blu-ray packaging, the seven movie collection is the better deal.

By the way, the actual run time is far from the 122 minutes shown by Amazon, it is as follows:

Bus Stop 105 minutes
Niagara 89 minutes
Gentlemen Prefer Blondes 91 minutes
How to Marry a Millionaire 96 minutes
River of No Return 91 minutes
There's no Business Like Show Business 117 minutes
The Seven Year Itch 104 minutes
Some Like it Hot 121 minutes
The Misfits 125 minutes

Total Run Time 939 minutes
1414 comments| 159 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
I always check with amazon before I shop with any other web store. It arrived 9 individual blu-ray movies all individually shrink wrapped. The movies are in both color and black in white depending on the film. The picture quality varies but most all are excellent transfers. Even if you don't like Marilyn Monroe the films themselves are excellent with great lead and supporting actors. I personally like Joesph Cotton. I won't individually review each movie since you find those reviews throughout Amazon. Thanks Amazon for making this affordable.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
You can find reviews of the quality of each movie transfer in the sites that specialize in that sort of thing. It's worth checking up on, because the quality varies. If you do a little research, there should be no surprises there. The main thing that surprised me about this "collection" is that there isn't a box, or any special packaging. It just seems to be an ad-hoc shrink-wrapped group. The is price is good enough that absence of a box doesn't matter that much to me.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Impressive collection of nine classic Marilyn Monroe films that have been bundled together -- they are individual Blu-ray releases that are wrapped together in clear plastic and are not part of a formal "collection" release. These Blu-rays are all currently releases and the set is an excellent value. Highly recommended!

The films in this set are:

Bus Stop
Niagara
Gentlemen Prefer Blondes
How to Marry a Millionaire
River of No Return
There's No Business Like Show Business
The Seven Year Itch
Some Like it Hot
The Misfits
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2014
This was, I think, a really good deal on some really great films -- almost all of the essential Marilyn. It includes NIAGARA (some collections don't) which is one of her best performances, and a terrific film. The prints are terrific, and each disk has whatever extras are on the separate disks (ie they are all the standard commercial disks). This is not a boxed set, but rather all nine movies as stand-alone blu-rays. I only wish the collection had added a few more -- maybe 12 would have been perfect. No love lost with THE PRINCE AND THE SHOWGIRL -- I can easily do without that clunker. But one of my personal favorites is DON'T BOTHER TO KNOCK (which is not included here) -- if you're an MM fan and you've never seen it, watch it. One of her outstanding dramatic performances. I also miss LET'S MAKE LOVE, which is just an enjoyable romp between MM and her then off-screen lover, Yves Montand. These can be bought separately however, and if it's going to be 9 films, they picked a good 9, and the price is right. I'm happy I bought these, and then just supplemented them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2015
I got these movies for less than $30.00 during an Amazon Deal of the Day sale. I'm really happy to have these 9 classic Marilyn Monroe movies. You can read more details about each movie at their individual listings or other online review sites. I will tell you these are among Ms. Monroe's best cinematic features. I really enjoyed watching these movies again, especially since it's been a long time since I've seen most of them so, it was like watching these movies for the first time.

These are a good array of drama, mystery and comedy movies with many talented stars complementing Marilyn Monroe. I think this is a great set of movies to have in my DVD collection.

Having purchased this set in bluray format, the picture quality is a very good transfer from the original films with enhanced sound quality too. Really, this is a great set of Marilyn Monroe movies to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2015
Great for a Marilyn fest. --- Nice to see Niagra ( neo film noir in color ) for the first time --- Yeah I know like "Leave her to heaven" (also in color) they defy the labeling of Noir which means black in French. ---- Anyway you probably already know about all the individual films. This collection is just all the individual films bundled together.
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
As a life long Monroe fan, I've had these films on tape and dvd. What I really love about this blu ray collection is that it doesn't come in "special packaging" i.e. a bulky box with cardboard sleeves or the films stacked so that you have to remove a disc to get to the one behind (the pettily named Rooney/Garland collection comes to mind). These are in individual standard size blu ray cases that look nice.

There could be more extras. But, there are no fewer extras on the discs that were on the dvd releases. I'd love these films to get the full "Criterion treatment" they deserve, and when and if they ever do, I'll purchase them again.

Hopefully, Ladies of the Chorus, a Warner film, will finally be available on a region 1 disc as it has been in all other regions or better yet blu ray. Why Warner has prevented fans in North America from viewing Ladies of the Chorus is is beyond reason.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2015
When this is on sale, this is almost a MUST BUY. 9 films, many of them great. Terrific Blu-Ray transfers of most of the films. As all the films are simply a grouped package of the individual Blu-Ray release, special features can be seen on those individual pages.

These films are largely scant on special features, but a great way to build up a collection, or upgrade batch of your Marilyn films in one quick movement.

Quick comment about the wrapping: These are each individually shrink-wrapped Blu-Rays, that are then sealed together in a brick with clear tape. The brick itself is then shrink-wrapped as well. It took a bit of time to unwrap the full kit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2015
What can I say about Marilyn? It is a shame that we lost her so early. I especially love her comedies, especially "Some Like it Hot".

I also particularly enjoyed, "There's No Business like Show Business."

I don't need to go into detail because if you love Marilyn, you already know as much as you need to know. I love the fact that I was able to get all nine movies at a good price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse