Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Mario Kart 7
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEM

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$25.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 5, 2012
Here's another must-own for the 3DS, plus it's my most played on the handheld. Just like how I got Super Mario 3D Land, I got Mario Kart 7 the day it came out. If you love Mario Kart or if you're new to the series, this game is especially a must!

Just like the other Mario Kart games since Mario Kart DS, you can play this game on your own, with nearby people provided that they have 3DS's, or play online. I dig the fact that you can be able to customize your kart, as well as the ability to glide and drive underwater! I would also like to thank Nintendo for getting rid of the thunder cloud that plagued Mario Kart Wii, that thing was just really annoying... you also won't be able to see any fake power-up blocks either, yay! Instead, you'll see new power-ups which are the fire flower, the raccoon tail, and the lucky 7 (I only use that to use the star lol). But still, be prepared to get attacked by those too, that includes blue spiny shells, bullet bills, and bloopers! And each time you get a lot of coins, you'll be able to unlock kart parts. You will also be able to unlock hidden characters, as well as a 3-star rank when you do awesome in the grand prix mode.

The best part of Mario Kart 7 is the game's online mode. You are able to play in worldwide matches much like in Mario Kart Wii, but with an improved VR system that doesn't decrease by a lot for no reason! The only way to lose your VR is when you get last place, and you only lose 3 VR when that happens, which isn't much at all - that is much more fair than Mario Kart Wii's online! You are also able to race in communities and find people/friends you previously raced. There is also the Mario Kart Channel where it updates the time trial ghosts and the community list. The game also keeps track of your wins, losses, coins collected, etc. Plus you'll still be able to unlock remaining kart parts while you collect coins in the online mode too!

The only cons I have are the mii's voices, no actual way to ban whichever items you want while you make a community, not having the ability to create your own messages when you're in a community, and Toadette not being in the roster (I miss her!!!). Overall, the game is definitely chaotic, but you'll keep coming back for more action. Right next to Mario Kart Double Dash, this is my favorite entry in the Mario Kart series. Go get it right now!

Final Score - 9/10 - Awesome
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
I don't know if they'll ever release Mario Kart 8 for the 3DS, but if you are holding back on this then you should definitely add this to your 3DS collection. Even though this was release a few years ago, this game is very enjoyable! I've been playing with the online community and my friends and it's totally worth my time. If you just got a DS lately or if you held back on it for awhile then you should give this a go. Mario Kart 7 is the best racing game on the 3DS.
44 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There is no question that Mario Kart is soon set to celebrate its 20th anniversary as one of the most acclaimed video game series for the Nintendo games. It has just been a non-stop fast & furious ride for Mario, Bowser and his friends from each angle. It has been on every system since the Super NES, and it hasn't seen the plumber and his friends and foes hit the brakes into the warp pipe even once. Still, there have been so many racing games that have tries to copy it and haven't succedded, or those who have been inspired by Mario and his friends race. Well whatever the case, Mario and his friends kept on evolving in the Mairo Kart games and they have never lost their luster. Now with the high-octane and mushroom speed, it is at it again for the Nintendo 3DS, and truthfully it is worth each and every race.

Mario Kart 7 really brings in the big guns for the Nintendo 3DS, where some of the other Nintendo 3DS games, have missed their mark with the launch of the system. Hard to believe it is the 7th racing game for Mario and his friends, and this time around it has continued to evolve well by bringing in a swift mix of the new and the old. Just like Mario Kart DS and MarioKart Wii, gamers will race 32 tracks that are both new and from Mario Kart's past. The game definitely looks amazing with some new wrinkles into the game, as you have new racers and new courses too like racing in the new Music Park, where hopping on each note and insturment will help you cross the finish line, Shy Guy Bazaar, where it is a Middle Eastern flavor available, as you and your fellow racers try and cross the starting gate, while trying to glide from rooftops, and classics as well like Luigi Raceway from Mario Kart 64 and the speed and mall-madness of the Coconut Mall from Mario Kart Wii.

Aside from the mix of old and new tracks as well, there are new racers that are here to challenge Mario, Yoshi and friends including Lakitu the cloud-dwelling and spiny tossing foe, Metal Mario (as a celebration to help celebrate the 15th anniversary of Super Mario 64,) Shy Guy and Wiggler to name a few. They bring a lot of new blood into the game, as well as new elements like customizing your karts with tires and gliders which will make you soar your way back to the asphault.You also can race underwater too, which will help you find shortcuts in the game, especially in redesigned courses like Koopa Trooopa Beach and new Cheep Cheep Lagoon. There are also a few new items in the game too including the fireball power-up, the tanooki tail which will help you swat passing racers, and the new Lucky 7 that is a seven-way mix of weapons like the shells both red and green, a blooper to ink foes, banana peel and and a star for invinciblity.

The graphics in the game look amazing, as you score your way to the finish, as well as collect coins while on course to help yopu unveil extras to help customize your karts. The control is strong as well, in the classic mode, but there is one small hiccup with the new first person perspective. While the concept is good, in that mode you can race with others using the gyro sensor from the 3DS and steer your kart by swaying your racer back and forth, like the Wii Wheel was in Mario Kart Wii. That can take a bit to get used to for new racers, but for veterans they can also choose to play in the classic way as well. The sound is strong as well, by bringing in the classic scores and musical elements of the distinctive classic courses like Mushroom Gorge, but overall it is the gameplay that is fun in both single play and especially multiplayer too. The multiplayer adds extras with the Streetpass, and online gameplay like Mario Kart Wii showed, as you and 7 other racers try to race your way to the finish line.

Overall, despite one small flaw, Mario Kart 7 is definitely a fast and furious game from start to finish, and it still is just as great for many gamers more than meets the eye. If you have enjoyed the chase that Mario Kart has brought before than you'll definitely love this Nintendo 3DS game. I definitely love this thrilling racer and it shows that some game franchises have never gotten old, they just have gotten better with age. It is definitely a must buy for your Nintendo 3DS that is sure to be a treat that many racers haven't been able to show for over 2 decades across the finish line. I absolutely recommend Mario Kart 7 from start to finish.

Graphics: A

Sound: A-

Control: A- for classic gamers; B for Nintendo 3DS gyro sensor

Fun & Enjoyment: A- for solo play: A for multiplayer

Overall: A-
1919 comments| 110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
Great game for both kids and adults. Fun and challenging with high replay value for both single player as well as multiplayer

Online multiplayer works flawlessly. Local multiplayer is fantastic requiring only 1 person own the game which can be shared with other player's 3DS via local wifi.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Out of the way, every single racing game on the Nintendo 3DS, because Mario Kart's come to town! And in style too; the game has brought over a few new and returning elements to the series's traditionally insane kart-racing playing field! Mario and friends now have the ability to race underwater and inexplicably pack in gliders in their karts for when they need to take brief rides in the air. Coins are also making their way onto the tracks for the first time since Mario Kart Super Circuit (excluding the arcade installments). You can even do stunts like in Mario Kart Wii!

And with these features, the people at Nintendo have delivered yet another bunch of exciting new tracks! For example, Bowser now not only has a castle, but also a whole city dedicated to racing on. Wario also makes a contribution with a sunken ship of all things, and even Wuhu Island makes a guest appearance for this game! These new tracks are as fun to play as they always have been in every new Mario Kart, and they complement the newly implemented gliding and underwater driving finely.

That's not to say we should forget about this game's batch of returning tracks from previous installments gone by. In fact, they look downright beautiful this time around. Graphically, I personally believe the Nintendo 64 tracks benefit from the visual upgrade, but each track looks great in its own right. I also love having the opportunity to play a few of the Wii tracks on a handheld system. While this game may not carry over the half-pipe stunts from MKWii, though, the game does inject its new elements into the older courses featured here, allowing them to get a bit more of a fresh feel.

Do I really need to discuss the gameplay at this point? Of course not! It's freaking Mario Kart!! The kart-racing item-throwing gameplay has been as fun and frantic as it's always been! I will say, though, that it becomes all the crazier during online play, which has been thankfully carried over from Mario Kart Wii as well. Back in Mario Kart DS, what was given to you for online play was a limited selection of tracks, and only three other people can race you. Not the case here! You can have a full-on up-to-8-player race in one of all the available tracks of the game! It's madly addictive, and is one of the bigger reasons why I'd come back to playing this again, among others!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Fun, but a little boring. With the MarioKart Wii game, there were motorcycles, and I can see why they removed them as they created an unfair advantage. However, I wish there was a little more to the game than just racing to get the next car unlocked, but I know that's just Mario Kart in general. It's too bad they can't make a free platform racing game with a plot, similar to Diddy Kong Racing via Mario style. When tricks are done, even though the 3Ds has movement sensors, all you can do to pull a trick is press the "r" button. I wish there were more courses, or that they'd change through the 50/100/150 CCs. It must be easier to hack than Wii versions, because anytime I play online, I automatically lose. It's quite unfortunate the kind of online platform MKW had, which kept you competitive with people who had similar "stats" as you (So you didn't always lose or win), wasn't in this game because that was the only thing that kept me playing after unlocking all of the characters and cars. I can say, the difficulty level is MUCH higher in the 150ccs than any mario kart game I've played before, making me want to give up on even trying to beat the karts that for some reason are 5 times as fast as anything else I have. Other than those specs, I really love the color and it's more beautiful and challenging when you play it in 3D. Great courses, very psychedelic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
So i just got my package today an my case wasnt sealed an i got an empy case with no game in it what kind of bull s*** is this?
review image
22 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2015
Mario Kart 7 is a great racing game for the 3DS. The game brings a few new things to the series but keeps most of the classic elements that have made the Mario Kart series so good. The game also features a good variety of multiplayer modes, which are easily the best part of the game.

Mario Kart 7 brings a few new things to the table. First of all, you can now customize your kart. Instead of just picking the car you want to use as you could since the GameCube game, you now pick the base car, the wheels, and a glider. Each part changes the stats of your car in different ways. The glider is another new feature in the game. When you are flying through the air, your kart can glide allowing you to stay in the air for longer and control your landing somewhat. You can also drive underwater in certain tracks, which is a cool part of the game. Thankfully, they've removed the bikes from the Wii game, it's all karts. Another new mechanic is that coins appear on the stage that you can drive over to collect (you can have a max of 10 at once) similar to the GameBoy Advance game. However, unlike that game, the coins simply allow you to get to your maximum speed, you lose coins when you spin out, but not every time someone hits you and you don't spin out if you have no coins, which makes the coin mechanic actually fun, unlike the GameBoy game.

The tracks in Mario Kart 7 are pretty fun to race on. They have the standard 4 new cups and 4 retro cups of 4 tracks each. The new tracks really take advantage of the new features, and some of the retro tracks have slight tweaks to make them better suit the new game (such as the pipe in Koopa Cape from the Wii now being underwater). Most of the items from the Wii game are here, as well as a few new ones like the super leaf, which lets you deflect items for a certain amount of time.

The game has good and fairly simple controls. The control scheme is very similar to the DS game and the GameCube controller scheme from the Wii game. The circle pad helps add some precision in turns that was missing in the DS game. There is also an option for motion controls, though I found them to not be as good (but I also didn't like the Wii Wheel). Also, the motion controls keep you from being able to see the 3D effect (although the new 3DSXL should fix this).

The game modes are pretty much the same as the Wii game. There's Grand Prix for 1-2 players, where you race a cup and get a rating. This is how you beat the game, by clearing all the cups and unlocking everything. Time Trials, for 1 player, lets you race your own time, or other ghosts downloaded through SpotPass and StreetPass. Vs mode, 1-4 players, is the classic multiplayer race. Battle Mode, also 1-4 players, features Balloon Battle and Coin Runners. These modes are similar to the Wii game, and can be played individually or on teams. These take place on special battle stages. There are a few new ones and some classics. I still don't like the new Balloon Battle as much as the classic one where you were out once all balloons popped, but it's still fun. It's worth noting that Mario Kart 8 changes battle mode to be on the race tracks, which makes battle mode very hard to play and not near as fun, so unless Nintendo changes it back in the future, this is the last game with a good battle mode.

Local and Online Multiplayer are available. Local Multiplayer works with Download Play, so others don't have to own the game. However, those who don't own the game are limited to playing as Shy Guy with the standard kart. Online multiplayer is probably the best mode of the game, as it was in the Wii game. You can play vs and battle mode with friends or strangers and get a rating based on how well you do. There are also online groups that you can join that have special rules for games such as only certain items, which provide a nice twist sometimes, though they could have been done a lot better.

Overall, Mario Kart 7 is a great game, and one I would recommend for anyone who owns a 3DS.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2016
Great game and had fun. It reminded me of the Mario Kart from when I had the Nintendo 64 Game System. Mario Kart and Diddy Kong Racing were my favorite games on that system. Unfortunately, I did outgrow video games (for the most part). I bought a Nintendo 3DS largely for the fact that lot of the Nintendo 64 games were coming out on this system. Impressive that these games are now portable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
Literally just like any other mario kart game, the driving mechanics are better though and the flying and underwater parts of the courses are awesome! it's just a mario kart game though, same modes, same races. oh BUT IT ALLOWS FOR 3DS DOWNLOAD PLAY with ALL TRACKS which is awesome because none of my friends bothered to buy the game. (They just can't customize their carts or change characters if I recall)

No automatic mode like the wii too (but who uses that anyway?)

Has gyro control option too, but again who would use that
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 65 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here