Pre-order Price: $4.99
Buy Now Price: $1.99
Kindle First members

save $3.00 (60%)

Learn more

Kindle First is a program that offers customers early access to new Kindle books across popular genres from Amazon Publishing.
  • Every month customers may choose one of the books selected by our editors for $1.99.
  • Joining is free with no purchase obligation. By joining, you receive a monthly e-mail announcing new Kindle First picks. You can unsubscribe from the monthly e-mail at any time by visiting Amazon Local and Amazon Delivers E-mail Subscriptions in Your Account.

Please also note:
  • Kindle First is available to US customers only.
  • Kindle Unlimited subscribers can borrow Kindle First books for free when they are released. Learn more about Kindle Unlimited

See all picks from Kindle First

Buy Now for $1.99 and join Kindle First for free.

You will receive a monthly e-mail announcing Kindle First picks.

This title will be auto-delivered to your Kindle on November 1, 2017.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Mark of Fire (The Endarian Prophecy Book 1) by [Phillips, Richard]
Audible Sample
Kindle App Ad

Mark of Fire (The Endarian Prophecy Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 113 customer reviews
Book 1 of 3 in The Endarian Prophecy (3 Book Series)

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from

Length: 304 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $1.99 when you buy the Kindle book.

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

From the Editor

The first book in this epic and totally immersive fantasy series introduces Lorness Carol—who aspires to wield magic in the expansive kingdom of her warlord father—and the age-old prophecy in which she does not realize she is destined to play the starring role. This sense of felt but unknown fate hooked me from the opening pages, but that only begins the list of inviting charms that this book shares with Richard Phillips’s earlier books, and which prompted no less a luminary than Orson Scott Card—author of the classic Ender’s Game—to call Phillips’s work “as good as any…being written today.”

Layer in the lushly imagined world of the Endarian Continent. Add the story of Blade, the king’s assassin, who embarks on a parallel quest that will eventually bring him and Lorness Carol together in ways they never expected. Apply a roiling blend of menace, magic, monsters, political intrigue, and even moments of surprising humor, and you start to get a sense of the enveloping allure of this story.

We’ve all dealt with the tension between what’s expected of us and what we envision for ourselves, and as Lorness Carol navigates the dangerous crossroads of her duty, her desires, and her fate, I felt a visceral sense of many competing forces at work, and often at odds, whether she and the other characters realize it or not (more often the latter).

The resulting sense of discovery and wonder left me more excited than has any epic fantasy I’ve read in the last few years, and I sincerely hope you’ll join me in escaping, even getting lost, in the world of the Endarian Prophecy.

- Jason Kirk, Editor

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Richard Phillips was born in Roswell, New Mexico, in 1956. He graduated from the United States Military Academy at West Point in 1979 and qualified as an Army Ranger, going on to serve as an officer in the US Army. He earned a master’s degree in physics from the Naval Postgraduate School in 1989, completing his thesis work at Los Alamos National Laboratory. After working as a research associate at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, he returned to the army to complete his tour of duty. Today he lives with his wife, Carol, in Phoenix, where he writes science fiction thrillers—including The Rho Agenda series (The Second Ship, Immune, and Wormhole), The Rho Agenda Inception series (Once Dead, Dead Wrong, and Dead Shift), and The Rho Agenda Assimilation series (The Kasari Nexus, The Altreian Enigma, and The Meridian Ascent)—and the epic Endarian Prophecy fantasy novels.

Product details

  • File Size: 4001 KB
  • Print Length: 304 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1542046866
  • Publisher: 47North (November 1, 2017)
  • Publication Date: November 1, 2017
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06ZYW8B2D
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #43 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Fantasy Books
3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars
Sports Books
3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 stars
Science Fiction Books
3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on October 3, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews