Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 710 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 987 reviews
on July 24, 2017
It hasn't aged very well. This pre-9/11, pre-Trump joke about humans playing right into the hands of aliens is supposed to be a dark comedy but now it feels a little too close to Steve Bannon's fantasy of how our current civilization should be destroyed. Again Tim Burton tries to poke fun at the establishment, squares, and everyone who thinks they should run the world. You have greedy Vegas tycoons, New Age pacifists, gun happy trailer trash, and a President worried about appearances. (I don't really see him as a parody of Bill Clinton. I suppose he's an amalgam of Reagan, Bush, and Clinton?) It's still not as dull as Independence Day, but Burton's cartoon sensibilities worked better in Beetlejuice. The Nineties references are just looking more and more dated. The President's final line "Can't we all just get along" is a paraphrase of Rodney King's plea to people after the L.A. riots of 1992 (remember those?). In the end the martians are cruel pranksters who can't be reasoned with and it's just dumb luck that we find a way of making their brains explode. Life goes on...but after seeing most of humanity fall for the gag the movie doesn't make you feel good about it, that's for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2017
oh tim burton how you are a mystery. why he decided to do this sci fy comedy is beyond me. but hey its funny. i loved how it did call backs to classic 50's sci fy and the aliens were amazing. sure CGI is outdated but i love their design their behavior and i love how they decided to make them sound like ducks. along with a A-list class, over the top acting, dorky aliens, and cheesy story and effects comes a comedy that is so crazy that its a joy to watch and a great homage to 50's and 60's sci fy movies.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2017
Got the movie quickly however there are no words to the movie. It plays the music, however, when the characters talk it is silent. By far the worst movie I have ever ordered off of someone. Oh I got a exchange in the mail after paying to ship the old one back and got another one the exact same way I'm so mad right now! And now I have to pay to ship another one back cuz the envelopes aren't free here at my post office... are these dvds freaking pirated or something????????? Horrible lips move no words just stupid loud music
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2012
What do you expect from a sci-fi movie with the word "Attacts" in the title? It's another Martian bashing. This time it's got Tim Burton's imprint. With eight other planets in our solar system I often wonder why Hollywood loves to pick on a planet named after the Roman god of war. An all star cast led by Jack Nicholson, playing two roles, makes this rather campy movie worth watching. It may seem that the likes of Pierce Brosnan, Sarah Jessica Parker, Glenn Close and Annette Benning must have agreed to a pay cut just to act absolutely silly in this flick. The Martians appear invincible as they romp, stomp and pillage with abandon. Even the entire legislative branch of the U.S. government is obliterated. Nothing is sacred to these oversized megabrained invaders. Not even the White House presidential bedroom. As the POTUS, Jack Nicholson at times transforms himself into a Nixon like figure in speech and mannerisms. He has to be nearly comatose to agree to using nuclear weapons against the Martians. As a Las Vegas hotel tycoon wannabe, Nicholson morphs into a Burt Reynolds character complete with dark glasses, mustache and cowboy hat. How many times must the earthlings get fooled into believing the Martians are sincere and friendly? And while these aliens are not cannibals, their experimentation with selected humans go to outrageous lengths. Watch what happens to Pierce Brosnan and Sarah Jessica Parker. And what about that Martian dialect? Their verbal communication sounds so much like a convention of AFLAC ducks. In the end it was a high decibel broadcast of a a song popularized by Nelson Eddy and Jeanette MacDonald - "Indian Love Call" that wipes them out like a 16th century bubonic plague. Now, if you really want to see a movie that digs deep into the Martian psyche, what they are like and what they really think of earth people, it pays to check out Ray Bradbury's "The Martian Chronicles". It's nearly 5 hours long but still worth watching.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2017
We were not sure what to expect with this magnificent cast but fanciful subject matter. But we found it delightfully entertaining and full of unexpected twists. Of course it helps to be a fan of Jack Nicholson and Glenn Close, but the plot could be entertaining even for a younger audience. Approach this movie as pure entertainment with some food for thought. We were pleasantly surprised!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
The movie is hilarious. The video was fine but the audio was nearly unbearable. I had to turn the volume on my television to maximum level to hear the dialog. What was worse, other parts of the movie would then be blasted at full volume deafening us. I had to constantly monitor the volume on the remote. I wouldn't rent this until that is fixed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2016
One of my favorite movies, guess you could call it a guilt pleasure, sure it's goofy and just wild, but it's great fun.
Lots of big time stars in here, at least big stars for their day. I watched this with my 14 year old son and he really didn't recognize the majority of them and it made me feel old.... Anyway, it's an excellent and just fun movie really.
I would rate this movie 5 stars but I had to take off a star for the big gash in the case, see attached picture, not sure what happened there as I didn't do it. The cut was actually under the clear shrink wrapping over the whole blu-ray and they had a blank white rectangular sticker over top of it on the wrapping. It didn't cut through the case thankfully, but it did cut the insert and regular plastic cover and it just looks unsightly.
review image
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2011
This powerfully comic Sci-Fi DVD is rated PG-13, but I'll warn you it isn't necessarily for the faint of heart. With a dynamic A-list cast that includes Jack Nicholson, Glenn Close, Annette Bening, Pierce Brosnan, Danny DeVito, Martin Short, Sarah Jessica Parker, Michael J. Fox, Rod Steiger, Tom Jones, Jim Brown Natalie Portman, Pam Grier, Lisa Marie, Lukas Haas, Jack Black, Christina Applegate, Joe Don Baker, and the comedy relief of Sylvia Sidney (along with several others you probably also know), this hour and forty-six minutes, 1996 film is worth your time; trust me. ROFLMAO is one acronym I'd use to describe the experience. The story of course (obviously) is that Mars invades Earth, and although the Martians do some gruesome stuff (great FX here), this movie will have you cackling if you have any funny bone at all. Tim Burton directed this masterpiece, on a 80 million dollar budget, filmed in Buenos Aires, Argentina; Burns, Kansas; Dolan Springs, Arizona; Kingman, Arizona; Las Vegas, Nevada; Lawrence, Kansas; Washington D.C.; and Wichita, Kansas. This is noir humor, surreal humor and political satire; becoming a parody of several B-movie Sci-Fi / Fantasy films. A special note is that the language this film uses for the Martians is the sound of ducks - reversed. Strap in tight, as the invaders from Mars destroy (utterly decimate) Big Ben, the Eiffel Tower, the Taj Mahal, the Washington Monument, one of the Great Pyramids, Hawaii, and other famous places, as well as re-construct Mount Rushmore to resemble their own likeness. It's a spoof people, relax - all those antiquities are not really destroyed. The resolution for defending Earth is absolutely hilarious, although parts of this film are violent enough that Paul Newman dropped out from an early cast offer. Yes to the connoisseurs of famous places, the hotel destroyed as part of this film is actually the true-to-life demolition of "The Landmark Hotel and Casino," which Tim Burton personally chose to include. Again, this is not the serious genre of "Independence Day," but instead is a spoof meant to entertain you enough to make you slap both thighs several times as you watch "Mars Attacks." I recommend small sips of beverages, and small amounts of snacks - you might end up having to clean that up when you burst out laughing. See if you can guess if I like this movie or not.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2017
Highly recommended by my brother and though it was very silly--and I try to be selective-- it was worth it for the ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2017
I laugh so much every time I watch this. I sold my copy on eBay to upgrade to blue ray. Great movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse