Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 110 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 123 reviews
on June 22, 2014
This is a beautiful primer for those who want to make modern and traditional, professional pies and tarts, both sweet and savory. There are a great variety of recipes, and the instructions are clear. I especially like the illustrations that accompany the instructions for making dough in a food processor. The instructions show what the dough should look like at every stage of the process. This book is well worth the price, and then some.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2011
Martha Stewart's Pies and Tarts book is filled with modern and classic pies and tarts. Whether you're a novice or experienced baker, there is something for everyone to try out.

Separated into sections which include 'classic', 'sleek' and 'dreamy'; it covers the ones that everyone knows - Pumpkin Pie, Tarte Tatin to the lesser known Creme Brulee Tartlets and Apple-Brandy Pie. The book also covers the basics - such as equipment and how to make pate brisee. It also has a holiday section including desserts for 4th July or Passover.

This would make an excellent gift for any occasion too - a wedding, new home or even just because.

It certainly makes your mouth water as you peruse it...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2011
For those of you who like big bold beautiful pictures and amazing tasting pies, this is a must. Others have already described the book in detail, so i'll say make the Sour Cherry pie... I haven't had one in so long and this one comes out looking beautiful and tasting delicious. Homemade is always best. The Cherry almond galette is really nice also and the chocolate espresso tart is for those with a little extra cash and a more sophisticated palate. The Frangipane Apricot tart is also a must. Instead of vanilla I used almond extract and it made this dessert extra extrodinary. It is creamy, delicate and very flavorful. Martha says to serve it right away, but I refrigerated it over night and the flavors came together even more so. The blueberry pie and apricot hand pies are also really nice. And for the Pate Brisee and Pate Sucree in this book, you can not go wrong. The brisee is really flakey when done right. Took me several trys but i've got it.

There's something for everyone (time to get more pie plates) :D. And the ingredients are so easy to combine. So far these are what i've tried and my family has enjoyed them, highly. This book is not the same as her first pie book. There is more of a variety of filling, unlike her first which is mostly fruit.. A great book from a great teacher. I'm ready to bake more pies...

Note: The instructions for the Frangipane Apricot Tart are not totally complete and the cooking time is a bit off. When you get to the cream part, the instructions are: beat the confect. sugar and vanilla til soft peaks form. They forgot to mention the heavy cream. Add it and all will be well, I promise. Then fold in the creme fraiche or sour cream, which worked wonderfully for me. And the tart needed more time to bake and set. You will love this tart.

ENJOY!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2013
After recreating one of Martha's pie crusts from an episode we saw on TV, I decided to get this cookbook to complete my wife's collection of her dessert and cupcake books. Like her or not, these cookbooks are great, and surprisingly aren't too horribly priced. Her directions are easy to handle, and the pictures are beautiful. If you want to get into baking, this is a nice place to start.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
I'm always looking for different kinds of pies and learn how to make Tarts. I always watching Marha Stewart's Baking on PBS. These book are awesome because what she is teaching on her show are in these books. Pies & Tarts, Cakes, & Cookies. There AWESOME!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
Awesome cookbook! Warning! You WILL gain weight because it's impossible to resist "making just one extra pie," so you can have a little bit. Of course, a little bit turns into eating the whole pie - thought not all at once.

In almost 50 years of baking I have never before been satisfied with my pie crusts. I followed Martha's directions, and VOILA, perfection!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
Excellant recipes, easy to follow. Ingredients every day supplies, you normally have in our pantry. The recipes have all worked fantastic that Ive tried.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2017
Very nice book.... Arrived in great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
I looked at many pie books before purchasing this one. Martha's book is nicely done, with beautiful pictures for every recipe. I like that her crust recipes are made with butter and not shortening. Also, the recipes are easy to follow and there is a useful guide in the back with tips ranging from what to buy, how to decorate pie crust edges, and several different crust recipes. This is a keeper book and one I will use often.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2017
I can't wait to try some of these wonderful creations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse