BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Women's Coat Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now FFII_gno



on July 7, 2013
I am a high school physics teacher and I always put on a science magic show toward the end of the year. This book is a well written collection of science magic stunts, all based on some principles of physics or chemistry. As such, I have found it to be a tremendous resource in finding new fun stunts, tricks or demos to perform for the students which will grab their attention, excite their curiosity, and teach them basic principles of physics or chemistry. It is a valuable asset for any physical science, chemistry or physics teacher, and I highly recommend it as a great resource to help make science fun and motivate the students to learn. It can be used for a science magic show or for daily demos to introduce each class. You will also learn from many of these clever science magic stunts.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2016
There are interesting things here, and the book didn't cost too much, so I'm not unhappy.
But there's very little usable material for actual magic tricks. Most of what's here demonstrates some principle or other, and once you see it happen, you know exactly how and why. So this might be useful for a science club or something, but not so much for a magic act.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2013
Many simple scientific principles can be taught best in the form of amazing demonstrations...and combining Science and Magic accomplishes this easily...imagine making your own TV 3-D Glasses...that make ANY TV a 3D TV!

Martin Gardner's book is full of great tricks and will make a great gift to the budding scientist OR budding magician of any age.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2013
I am over 13 years old, however, I loved doing magic as a young boy and this is just the sort of beginners magic book I would have liked. The tricks and demonstrations use common household items and apparatus easily constructed. The explanations are easy to understand and most use scientific thinking; a great way to get youngsters interested in their world.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2017
some of the tricks are very simplistic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2016
Great science demonstration book. My 4 year old and I do a couple every so often. One evening she specifically asked me to get the "experience" book : ) All the apparatus are household items.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
This is OK if you are enticing young students to have an interest in science. It did not give me many jump off points to expand into science fair ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
Terrific, fun, easy experiments that double as magic tricks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2015
Great deal for the price, actually worth a little more. Easy quick reading, great for a bathroom book, and then to keep around for the kids to have fun quick projects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2014
Great for school class Science projects. It helps make science magical again, then introduces children(and grownups) to the concepts behind the results. Worth more than its cost to those who love to have fun with science.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse