Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Acoutsic Christmas PCB for Musical Instruments Limited time offer Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop now HTL17_gno



on January 13, 2016
I thought this was a well balanced account of Martin Luther's life, theology and his imperfections. Although written by a Lutheran, I feel that he was willing to report on the different aspects of Luther; the good, the bad and the ugly. All in all, a pretty good read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 26, 2017
This is a valuable book, but I had the advantage of already having a lot of background information on Martin Luther. It is very detailed with good analysis, but although short, is a slow read. (I kept thinking that pages were being added mysteriously.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 2, 2015
I Liked it, but felt it was weighed in his favor. My understanding was that Martin Luther simply was no saint himself, particularly toward the end of his life where he became very difficult to everyone. He was certainly one of the most influential sources in our cultural society, almost all for the benefit of mankind. I would have liked to have seen more detail concerning the times in which he lived, 40 or so years after the ending of the hundred years wars, the war of the roses, danger of recurrences of the plague and the rudiments of his affect on European society, particularly the "normal" population. I felt the book had a religious agenda, I was looking for something more historical in nature. Here was a man who had a tremendous influence on societies the world over all the way to the present. I would have liked to see him get credit for that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 14, 2011
This brief biography of Luther, by Martin Marty, does capture the essence of the importance, for Christian Life, of this man and, it also captures beautifully the context (i.e. , the point in history and the setting)in which the whole thing unfolded.

Luther was a man of Faith and learning who pulled no punches and took, bravely, on one of the most powerful systems in existance since recorded history began. Luther helped, unwittingly, to usher in a much needed reform within the Catholic Church (which became known as the Counter Reformation) and, at the same time,rekindled Christemdon in general by spawning a whole new Christian outlook and many a new Christian denomination. He was a prolific author and shied away from no controversy. He castigated not only the Catholic Church, mainly by thrashing the institution of the Papacy, but also Islam and the Jews. Always controversial but never dull. A great book to read and hold on to as a quick reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 26, 2015
This book offers a lot of insight into the times in which Martin Luther lived and cuts thru the romanticism of Reformation to see exactly how it evolved and persisted. The book was recommended for our church's college campus ministry group traveling to Germany this Spring to visit the Luther sites on a first-hand basis.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 4, 2017
Excellent starter if you want a quick read into the life of Martin Luther. I would commend this to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 17, 2017
Easy to read about a complicated life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2017
An excellent short biography, that treats Luther realistically.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 20, 2016
One of the best books on Martin Luther I have read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2016
Very satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse